We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room, nice bed, close to a lot, pleasant but somewhat inexperienced staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
Ranked #77 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great room, nice bed, close to a lot, pleasant but somewhat inexperienced staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

Arrived way too early to check in, so front desk staff pleasantly offered to hold our bags until we could get into our room after 3:00. We wandered down to the Tower Bridge and Tower of London, just a few blocks away, and came back to check in around 4:00. Room still wasn't ready, but we had complimentary drinks in the bar while we waited. Loved the room - clean, very comfortable bed and pillows, free wi-fi, i-pod dock and radio, great bed-side reading lamps, Aveda products in bath - it was a great retreat at the end of the day. We were on the second floor - so some street noise and late-night revelry from the pub on the corner was very noticeable. Also - big windows in the bathroom (nice) with blinds that didn't close all the way (not so nice) - felt like we were visible from the street or from the adjacent buildings however we adjusted them!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLP_MPLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM18, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
Great feedback!
I would have to concede that not having your room ready by 15:00 as promised is not part of our usual inspired service brief - far from it . I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our hospitality.
I would like to personally thank you for your detailed & accurate feedback regarding street noise. There has been some talk of recent on these pages about noise effecting guest experience in a couple of our 6th floor rooms. In your case, the noise came from the pub nearby, late at night, in your 2nd floor corner room, something that is obviously beyond our control. We listened to your comments and looked seriously into what we could do to ensure that all our guests get the best night's sleep in London when booking Hotel Indigo London - Tower Hill. I would like to announce from this forum that we will be installing high spec secondary glazing to all our rooms over the forthcoming weeks.

We love to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    871
    331
    47
    12
    4
See reviews for
95
673
74
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

small well appointed hotel,excellent room, 5 mins to tower of london.
stay upset by weekend underground line closures to the two nearest tube stations.
English Breakfast not cheap at £15 ea - but excellent quality.
Avoid the 6th floor as it seems the aircon units are located on roof overhead and rumble all night.
Upgraded to suite on 6th floor - really high quality 5star room - two plasma tvs, leather seats, modern bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM18, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you have enjoyed both our breakfast offering and our suite.
I would like to personally thank all of you who highlighted the noise issue effecting a couple rooms on the 6th floor (one of them being our Tower Bridge Suite).
It has been quite a trying time for us here at Hotel Indigo Tower Hill, as we have battled to find out what causes this sporadic noise which evidently is more prevalent during the night. I am relieved to announce that we have identified the cause and that we are just a few days away from a permanent rectification.
All of us here at Hotel Indigo London – Tower Hill hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

Stayed here for one night in October. Booked a suite, which was large and spacious, set over 3 rooms - bedroom, toilet and small lounge. Reception told us they had upgraded us, but it was exactly what we booked!

Bedroom had a nice 4 poster bed which was very comfortable; a mini bar which only holds soft drinks - but these are all free; a large wide screen TV; and tea coffee making facilities. 

Lounge has a large wide screen TV, nice modern leather sofa and a Bose IPod system. 

Dinner/ breakfast is available next door in the restaurant, though during our stay we didn't bother. 

Position of the hotel is central to the City of London - so great for business, but also close to some London attractions - Tower of London etc. 

During the middle of the night we were woken by loud clattering noises. My guess was this came from the air conditioning units on the roof (we were top floor). Reception were unable to do anything about this. But beware, if you are a light sleeper do not stay on sixth floor. 

In conclusion a nice boutique hotel. But at £180 a night, I have stayed in far superior hotels. Also would have expected some concern from reception about the noise complaint. They seemed unbothered to say the least!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magb1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM18, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you have enjoyed the creature comforts of our suite. We have taken on board your comments and we are obviously very concerned about the sporadic mechanical noise issues you experienced on the 6th floor during the night.
Despite our best endeavours, we have obviously failed to provide you with our customary standard of hospitality and for this please accept my sincere apologies.

Following a detailed investigation, I can now share with you that the offending machinery, AC unit on the roof, has been identified and we are in the process of rectifying this noise issue once and for all.

We trust that this unfortunate experience does not mar your faith in us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enschede
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

The Indigo Hotel Tower Hill is very pleasant hotel to stay. We had a large comfortable room and a very nice bathroom with extra large and extra soft towels, free soft drinks and snacks in minibar; an extremely comfortable bed with high grade linens, pillows and duvet. Above all things the hotel has a restaurant, the square mile, with great food and wines. One evening we had the best lasagne we ever tasted followed bij a tiramisu that puts you in heaven. The cooke must be an artist. Last but not least the staff was very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annelie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM18, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, 30 November 2010
Many thanks for your lovely comments.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Indigo London - Tower Hill.
Our Square Mile restaurant has indeed carved it's self a loyal following. Your experience, a combination of surprise and delight is typical of it's patrons.
We love to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

Terrible stay at Hotel Indigo - Tower Hill, From check in to check out. The rooms are pretty and spacious, however the very basics are lacking - we could not get a decent night sleep.
I had written to the hotel before my arrival, asking them for restaurant suggestions etc. Upon check in, the staff appearantly didnt remember any of this (mistakenly told me that I had been "upgraded" to the executive room that I had already paid for, could not confirm that I had pre-paid for breakfast, did not mention any of my prior email requests).
The hotels rooms are not well soundproof - AT ALL. We could hear every noise on the street even though we were on the 4th floor, as well as the very noisy guests 3 rooms down the hall. We had to call front desk several times throughout the night to complain about the loud partying/music, which did not stop until 4am. I complained about this again at checkout in the morning, but the staff simply said that they would "look into it": The hotel was a ripoff, truly disappointing. And skip the hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dasword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM18, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, 30 November 2010
Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We are truly sorry to hear of your unfortunate experience during your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for failing to ensure you had a peaceful night.
I wish to reassure you of our commitment to delivering inspired service and the importance we place on receiving feedback.
We are currently addressing the service issues you have raised and are looking into available options to rectify the building related noise issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Laurent de Ceris
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

Large comfortable room with 4-poster; a bathroom almost as big as the bedroom; extra large and extra soft towels, free soft drinks and snacks in the minibar; an extremely comfortable bed with high grade linens, pillows and duvet. The most memorable part of the visit was the outstanding staff at the reception desk. Our first evening there, one of the young women left the hotel to walk down the street with us (in pouring rain) to introduce us to the staff at a nearby restaurant. There were many other kind gestures, too many to mention.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilthornburrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM18, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, 19 November 2010
Many thanks for your kind comments.
We indeed blessed with staff that are the epitome of one of the most important of our core values, that of delivering inspired service.
We love hearing that you have enjoyed our hotel and all of us here at Hotel Indigo London - Tower Hill are looking forward to welcoming back soon; you must also try our modern Italian offerings at our Square Mile restaurant. You will not be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

Arriving with low expectations, I found myself very pleasantly surprised by this little gem boutique hotel in the heart of London's financial district. I found it to be an excellent choice for a short business trip to the City and really an excellent value proposition. In addition to an ideal location near Tube/light rail from LCY, the rooms are spacious for an urban hotel, and include great free wi-fi service, free hot/cold beverages, Aveda toiletires, a bose sound dock, and plush sheets / towels. Everything was in great working order and the overall decor was interesting without being excessively artsy-fartsy. I arrived from a long overnight flight and was unable to check-in straight away. However the front desk was welcoming and helpful, pointing me to the men's room in the basement where I could freshen up and change for business meetings that day. They also arranged for a speedy check-in later that night upon my return. I slept great and had breakfast in the room next morning which was lovely and fairly quick. Sipped my tea overlooking the tower as the sun came up - fabulous! As a PC Plat member I received a nice room on a high floor with a view of the tower and a voucher for a desert at the hotel restaurant, which was quite empty but overall unobjectionable and with prompt yet unofficious service. For eating out, try the Leadenhall market's Italian Restaurant, a short walk away, another great value for authentic regional cuisine and very welcoming, unpretentious service. Left for a Eurostar early after two nights. Hotel had pre-booked taxi at 5.45am which was indeed waiting, and I experienced an efficient check-out to enable me to make my early train with ease and no stress.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cajmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM18, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, 18 November 2010
Thank you for your great comments.
Hotel Indigo London - Tower Hill is often described by our guests as a "hidden gem" . Our Square Mile restaurant serving nodern Italian cuisine, is developing a following among our guests and locals alike. This is something worth discovering!
We are all thrilled hearing that you have enjoyed both our hotel and our hospitality during your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#79 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,574 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#121 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#53 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,274 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill

Property: Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
Address: 142 Minories, London EC3N 1LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located near Tower Bridge and the Tower of London, Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill is just a stone's throw away from all of London's transportation links and so eminently suitable to both leisure visitors and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing