We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic thai food without jet-lag”
Review of Thai Cottage

Thai Cottage
Ranked #2,160 of 22,509 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$13
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Soho
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic thai food without jet-lag”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We've been visiting this corner of Thailand in London a number of times for the last year. Homemade thai food without the awkwardness of sitting at some else's living room.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OLCADE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    95
    23
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Do not expect any refinement - this place is 100% substance”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Grab a good, flavoured and authentic bite in this small Thai restaurant. Service is efficient and quick without any special refinement, portions are just right and taste fantastic.

Do not expect other refinements than those of what you have in your plate. Setting is basic on the kitschy side, but food is good and this is what you ought to go there for.

Recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JP_Marylebone_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thailand in Piccadilly”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

All I can l say is the food was authentic and the service was like amongst the best you would get anywhere in Thailand. Recommend! Recommend!Recommend!!!!!

Ps.ask Ang about the famous China Dolls Thai song for banana fritter :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Ranjani A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food very disappointing - new chef?”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Having read all of the positive reviews on here we were really looking forward to trying this restaurant. However we were really disappointed by the food. Our starters - were unbelievably spicy so much so that you couldn't enjoy them. Now I love spice but this was extreme (Thai chicken and beef salads). Drank litres of water to compensate! The main courses by contrast were incredibly bland in their flavour. When we complained we were told they had a new chef. Might help explain the contrast in the reviews.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Broon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hemel
Level Contributor
1,152 reviews
786 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“SUPERB”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Found this family run Thai restaurant by chance
A sumptuous meal of real quality
It is a small establishment so be prepared for a wait or better still reserve a table
The price is also very reasonable
Highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank davethedrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Cottage also viewed

 

Been to Thai Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing