We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Ranked #431 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 25 November 2013

stayed at waterloo travel lodge and would like to say it was value for money and would def stay there again. very close to train station about 5 minute walk, the room was ideal for the 2 of us with a comfortable double bed


  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,217 - 2,223 of 2,761 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Booked a double room for two people and on arrival we were ONLY given one set of towels to share between us! The room was roasting hot even without the heating on, works were being carried out near the hotel which made it unbearable to sleep through! Lift was dirty, small and dingy! Overall, not impressed with my stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank El G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your review El G. Our housekeeping staff are expected to set up a room correctly before a guest arrives with the correct amount of linen and towels so we are truly sorry that this did not happen on this occasion. As well as our rooms we expect all our public areas and lifts to be clean and tidy and up to a great standard so it is regrettable to learn you found the lift of our hotel to be dirty. Due to the location external noise may be heard which can be beyond our control, however in an attempt to reduce noise we do provide insulated windows and double glazing. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

As a regular visitor to this most choice of Travelodges in London, it was a real pleasure to find the newly decorated rooms with the wonderful new King size and Comfort beds.
The whole package at this hotel is good and the rooms are now enhanced to upgrade my rating to 'very good'. As always, the convenience of many bus routes nearby, to West End, Theatreland and City makes this a good choice for short trips to London.

Room Tip: Higher floors and odd numbers would always be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Poor standard of cleanliness (stray hairs on previous guests in the bathroom, stains on pillows), poor customer service

On a positive close to the London eye but the website does not state this

I would not recommend this hotel and would not return

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

We are very sorry to learn that your room was not up to our expected high standards of cleanliness on this occasion Rebecca N, our housekeeping staff are trained to thoroughly clean a room and to ensure all items are in a suitable condition for our guests. We would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Being a regular traveller to London, we know what we want from a stay, we like to arrive early in London to enjoy a full day and get the last train home at the end of the weekend to get a full second day. the reason for our visit to London this time was to meet friends and see their stage show which was on at the Broadway in Catford, So we needed to be based in waterloo. So we settled on the Travel Lodge in Waterloo, reviews seemed ok, price was ok including breakfast, a mayor chain, so we booked with confidence, from arrival despite the room being clean to an descent standard (please remember window frames and corners in shower). We arrived about 10,30 to drop off our bags and come back later to check in, But NO, despite waiting for nearly 20 minutes at reception, along with several other couples trying to check in or out, finally a lady arrived, said we had a booking, was told in not uncertain manner that we could not check in until 3pm, unless we wanted to pay an extra £10 to check in at, we said no that fine as we are fully aware of the 3pm check in, but could we drop off out bags and come back later to check in, NO WE DO NOT HAVE A BAG ROOM, you are a hotel, people travel with bags and dont want to drag them round all day. I was amazed, She must be wrong, but no. Then she advised us that our room was ready, great. as when we have a arrived at other hotels early and our room has been ready they have been more than happy to just check us in. So our room is ready, sitting empty, you already have our booking details up, but yes you still want your extra £10 of course. we had not choice but to pay as the alternative was not even worth considering. We were also advised that we could pay an another extra £10 and have late check out at 3pm so we could leave our bags, but what is the point, it is the middle of the day, then you are still stuck with your bags. We got to our room, very very basic. Not even basic, No shower gel or anything. Don't even think about wanting to make yourself more than one hot drink in your room, as they really don't want you to, by supplying you as little as possible. We slept well, but I suspect that that is just as much to a long day, late night and a couple of sherbets, Breakfast was again, but now not to our surprise, OK, The coffee was not great neither was the quality of the food. Everything about the hotel is done on the cheap, no attention to detail and even though we throught we found a deal, by the time we added all the extras and paid to leave our bags at euston, turned out to be an expensive hotel, We appreciate you are a budget chain, but standards, are below average and very disappointing, Not even the basics. WE CERTAINLY WONT STOP IN A TRAVEL LODGE EVERY AGAIN

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samanthapanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thanks for your review samanthapanton. Our check in time is 3pm across all of our hotels however we do give our customers the option to purchase an early check in service. Regrettably we do not have storage rooms in our hotel and are unable to offer a left luggage service, this is the brand standard across Travelodge hotels and we’d like to apologise for any inconvenience caused on this occasion. Unfortunately we do not provide toiletries in our hotels however we often find that customers prefer to bring their own. Any forgotten items can be purchased from the vending machines at reception. We do expect our customers to receive a warm, friendly and efficient welcome so we are sorry to learn of the delay you experienced at the reception desk. All customer feedback is provided to the hotel directly which helps improve the service they offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Easy to find with a bright clean and airy reception/welcome area which incorporates a small bar and cafe leading through into a larger restaurant area behind, Located virtually opposite Waterloo Rail Stn & Ambulance Stn it is remarkably quiet although we were on the 8th floor. (our choice)
Staff very friendly helpfull and efficient. Our room clean, functional and with normal Travelodge accessorys complete with big new very comfy bed.
15 - 20 mins walk takes you over Waterloo bridge & you,re into central London. Attractions such as the Eye London Dungeon Westminister the Strand & a number of theatres all close at hand from this travelodge
Regular bus service passing all the time
From our experience would recommend

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank 919BerLin44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I needed a last minute place to stay, whilst my mother was in St Thomas's. This was by far the best deal that I could get, for a room for my dad and me. Large room with a large, comfortable double bed and a sofa bed. Good welcome. We were tempted to get a drink at the bar. Bathroom a little shabby. Wasn't as close as we thought to the hospital, but was nice to have a walk. No complaints at all for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UckfieldSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#444 of 1,077 in London
2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bridge Hotel
#640 of 1,077 in London
606 reviews
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel

Address: 195-203 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #431 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £45 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing