We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC STAY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Ranked #439 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC STAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Absolutely fantastic stay, the staff were so pleasant, they made you feel welcome and at home. The eating area downstairs was quiet and relaxed, never ever felt stressed or pushed to do anything. The location is fantastic, just a 5 minute walk (at a snail's pace!!) from Waterloo Tube Station, couldn't be closer to the heart of London. With the refurb, this Travelodge was excellent and with the price, I don't think we would have got much better - even at the Ritz! Would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone, every single aspect is marvellous.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    915
    449
    175
    133
See reviews for
408
1,007
143
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I was a bit concerned about Travelodge because I had read contrasting reviews about this chain.
I choose the Waterloo branch because it had the best reviews and for its location.
I spend 5 nights at this hotel over Xmas.
The location is great, within walking distance to the main attraction and the city centre.
Wateloo tube is just 3mins walk from the hotel.
The room is plain but clean, with a king size bed, great mattress and pillow, a desk with coffee and tea facilities, flat screen TV.
The bathroom with shower was a bit small but clean, the hotel doesn't supply shampoo and shower gel so remember to pack them. There are plenty of towels and they are changed every day if you want.
We also paid for a buffet breakfast which was really good and filling. There was a lot to choose from, from different kinds of cereals and musli, all varieties of herbal teas, bread, jams and jogurt.
They also have a great cooked breakfast section with bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, beans, tomatoes and mushroom.
It's really good, especially given the prices if you book in advance or when they have a special offer going.
Considering its location and price/ quality ratio it's the best hotel I've ever been in London.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donatella t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Ideally placed into London, quiet and confortable. We had a pleasant stay. The room is really simple, but clean and functional. I cannot evaluate the stay during the day because we always leave early and came in late.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Christophe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We took my sister who had not visited London for a number of years, The hotel is well located with good access to central london, The hotel is clean and tidy with a good breakfast that sets you up for the day and the staff are very friendly.
We did have a problem with noise from the floor over ours and we had one day with no hot water,
There are plenty of places to eat close by and the pub just round the corner "The Stage Door" is good for a drink. The chip shop next to the hotel does a good fish and chips its well used.
We went to eat at Strad by Tower Bridge had a good night with great views, also try Zedel's by Piccadilly Circus exit 1 a great experiance. All in the hotel is good value and well situated for a short trip to london

Room Tip: You take your chance you dont know who will be over head, top floor would be best lifts are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Room was small but ok, apart from it was far too hot. On returning the room after a day out, the cleaners had left the heater on! Had to jam the door open, open window and switch off fan to cool it down. It was like an oven!! On second evening on returning to the hotel, wanted a drink in bar, but no staff. Asked at reception and a surly man told me that some one would be there shortly. Waited a couple more minutes then gave up and went to bed. Oh dear, unhappy customer and loss of revenue.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

While this is not an expensive hotel, I felt taken care of every step of the way. The building and rooms are clean. There are no frills, but all the basics are in place. Breakfast is solid British fare. The staff are all friendly and helpful. Cengiz was especially helpful at the front desk. It is very easy to get to the center of London. I'm planning to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a big window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

so stayed here a couple of tims in the past. Nothing Spectatular just a standard room in a busy london town. but i tell what i did find good about this travelodge.. is the staff. well most ofthem. i stayed the week that there was a charity cake and book sale for a cancer charity. i think is so brilliant how the younger generation off today want to give back, when all you see in the news latley is bad press aginst them. i spoke with this polite young lady dressed in Pajammas who was selling the cakes. she explained to me what they are doing and why. she even made these cup cakes in her own time, which i think is just fabolous. there was also another blonde lady helping dressed as a dog i think. they were so happy to show all the customers that walked through the doors what they were seeing in aid of a good cause!! not all the staff were dressed up which i thort was a shame it sort of spoiled what the rest of the team was trying to achieve. i think if your gonna do something do it 100% either all do it or no one does. anyway this review was more about the staff then the hotel. well done team you deserve a pat on the back from me!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#414 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel

Property: Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Address: 195-203 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #439 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing