We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Ranked #437 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a budget hotel by london standards and prices. Check in fast and welcoming . Room small but very clean and suitable for our purpose. Close to eye s,bank etc. lots of pubs restaurant close by. Would stay here again . Only used the hotel as a base so cannot review food and bar. Tip rooms may be stuffy in summer ,we stayed in May v warm weekend and room was very warm

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank alfie002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,903 - 1,909 of 2,707 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

I am frequent user of budget hotels and average quality hotels and this is the worst I have stayed in . The hotel atmosphere was like a rail station at 2 in the morning! Staff questioned the validity of my booking in terms of dinner and drinks allowances to the extent that it felt like I was at School
Will not be frequenting Travelodges again .So much for the sign that said welcome to the all new beds and comfort

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PH196153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review PH196153. We are truly sorry to learn that your stay was marred by the attitude of our staff members. We would expect our staff members to be polite, maintain a high level of professionalism at all times, and be welcoming to all our guests. We would like to provide a resolution for the issues you have raised. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel was very clean. Room was very clean. Great beds. Hotel newly refurbished like new, and the staff were excellent. Easy access to Waterloo station. Breakfast was very good. Very good value for money. Good location to amenities.
























  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Nevslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The location of this hotel can't be faulted - a few minutes away from Waterloo station and close to the Old Vic, London Eye and Southbank as well as the nightlife in this area.

The staff were very friendly, especially the receptionist who checked us in and the man on the bar during England's first World Cup's game. (We wanted a late night drink, rather than the football and despite being very busy he was very friendly.)

The downside to this hotel was that there was no fan in the bathroom, so it was very humid after a shower and we had to let the steam into the room. Also, there is no luggage storage facility, which was a disappointment.

As has been previously mentioned, there is no air con in the rooms but we asked for a fan and got one. The window only opened a tiny crack and was quite small, so we really did need that fan!

The room looked nice and modern, very clean. The bed was very comfy and we had a good night's sleep (this was possibly alcohol induced!)

Breakfast had a good choice - bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, tomatoes and beans. There was bread and spreads as well as cereal. Staff in the mornings were friendly and efficient in replacing food,cleaning up etc.

Would I stay here again? probably, if they had a good offer on.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank socksandsandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

WORST stay ever on a summer day! Do not go here if more than 15 degrees outside. You are better off sleeping in the park. There was a tiny fan, window opened only 3 inches, and unbearably hot! Maybe a bigger fan or allowing windows to open all the way would help.

I would recommend looking for a hotel with air conditioning on last minute.com or similar websites for the summer months.

During cooler months of the year it has been ok, but can be noisy on weekends. Bring earplugs.


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Frankly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A really great location, very close to one of my favourite parts of London that's not a tourist spot. Sadly, the rooms and the overall experience don't live up to the efforts of the staff which is a pity.

I stayed two nights, and was very pleased with the efforts of the staff, but the room was really hot, no security for laptops etc, and the bathroom was like something from a leisure centre....

I won't be hurrying back, despite the great service.....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 night on a business trip. Didn't spend much time in the room but it was clean, comfortable and as you'd expect a Travelodge to be.

I found it to be well located - just a 10 min walk to the London Eye, and plenty of pubs and restaurants in the local area. Also, about a third cheaper than Travelodge's right in the centre of London.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSmith1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#457 of 1,077 in London
2,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#267 of 1,077 in London
3,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel

Address: 195-203 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #437 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £68 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing