We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There Are No Rats At This Hostel”
Review of West Two London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Two London
Ranked #649 of 928 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 26 March 2013

There are a great many things to be said about this hostel's shortcomings (I would refer you to the other reviews for an accurate and nearly complete description), but I'd like to take this opportunity to focus on the positives. I've stayed in a number of hostels throughout the UK and the rest of Europe, but certainly not all of them were free of rats. Sure, most other hostels have working showers, doors that actually lock, complementary breakfast buffets, beds that don't feel like concrete slabs - indeed, some even have friendly staff. But you see, West Two Hostel can actually boast a complete absence of rats from its premises. Isn't that worth something? Surely, when the majority of reviewers refer to a place as 'the worst hostel in the world', one would expect rats in abundance.

As for the staff, I've seen too many people complain. I feel that's rather harsh; in fact, I think it's your own fault if you think the staff should be friendly to you. You've seen the place, it's only slightly more expensive (and slightly less comfortable) than sleeping on the street - and there's no way the staff don't know that. And there's nothing they can do about it. To me, the fact that the chap at check-out didn't bother to ask me whether I enjoyed my stay said enough. Not that I would have complained to him if he had, obviously - I would simply have pointed out that I was happy at not finding rats under the concrete slab that posed as my bed.

All in all, I was moderately satisfied at the absence of rats, despite the fact that I neither slept nor washed myself for three days. Avoiding this hostel comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patrizioaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

We staid in a room for two. Clean enough, basin in the room is a positive point. Tiolets not so bad, they cleaned it several times a day, breakfast good enough if you can do with toast, butter, peanut butter, jam, cereals. Kitchen big, clean but not enough dishes - take yours and you will be happy. Nice personnel at the reception. If you "succeed" in having noisy neighbours, you will not sleep for sure and will know about each step they do.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

AVOID THIS PLACE - Honestly I haven’t met anyone happy staying there in this hostel. It’s a filthy place to be around. STUFF – especially at the reception – worst customer services I’ve ever received. Manager it would be better for him to be a security officer instead, very unfriendly blonde gnome. This company is bunch of liars, and its DEFINETELY not worthy money they charge for it.

Room Tip: There are some good hostels in Baswater area which I would recommend it's Smart Hyde Park Inn. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

On certain hostel websites, West Two gets less than desirable reviews. People complain about the bed linens, the lack of meals served, the noise. I'm a pretty finicky, girly traveller, and this hostel is actually great.

Firstly, the location in Hyde Park is superb. You're just about a ten minute walk from two Tube station stops, a 2 minute walk from one of London's many bike rental locations, and right in the middle of lots of restaurants, cafes, and shops, some open very late - i.e., Subway, Burger King, Tinseltown Cafe. It just doesn't get much more central at an affordable price than this.

The hostel itself is, well, a hostel people. I've travelled all over the US, Latin America, and Canada, and have stayed in hostels in each of these places. Sure enough, some are better than others, but basically hostels are supposed to be no frills to cater to the budget-savvy traveller. West Two is a basic hostel. The room my partner and I stayed in had pergo floors, a set of twin bunk beds, a sink/mirror, some hooks on the walls to hang up your coats, two shelves, one electrical outlet, and a rubbish can which doubled to hold open the aging window. Perfect. Yes, the mattresses are cheap and if you've got back problems (like me) it's not be best, but it works.

There is a vending machine that sells a few basic snacks (candy bars, crisps, gum, soda), but they do not serve meals here.

There are lots of bathrooms/showers. I was a late riser (10 or 11 am, and most everyone else was too, so I did have to wait about 10 minutes one morning to get a turn in the shower) The water was HOT and I took at least 10 minutes in there, so no issues there.

The staff at the front desk were very friendly. Some reviews have said they're not very personable, but this was not my experience at all. I met and spoke with about three of their staff and all were very pleasant and friendly.

Cleanliness at West Two was fine, for a hostel, in my opinion. There are many people who have reviewed West Two as being dirty, but I really think that because cleanliness is such a subjective perception, it's safe to say that these reviews can be taken with a grain of salt. The bathrooms were clean enough, meaning that no they were not sparkling like you'd find at the Ritz, but they were not stinking, mold-ridden, or covered in human waste either. Bring a pair of rubber sandals for the shower to avoid catching ringworm and you're fine.

West Two does not offer breakfast or towels, and does not have a common area, but really for the price I wouldn't expect that anyway. It was not noisy in the room we had, and we stayed there at the end of the Paralympics, over a weekend when you'd expect a lot of partying or heavy foot traffic, and our room was overlooking the street. Bring a pair of ear plugs if you're especially sensitive to noise.

I'd gladly stay at West Two again. If you're a finicky person or have unrealistic expectations for you £16 per night, then this is not the place for you. But if you're a budget-savvy traveller who just needs a place to lay your head at the end of the night and don't expect turn-down service or a mint on your pillow, this is your place.

Room Tip: If it's you and one other person, request the twin bunk room overlooking the street on the 3rd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We booked this hotel for four nights during the Olympic period and moved into another hotel (unrefunded) after the first night because it was too unbearable. My boyf and I have travelled for months on end though Southeast Asia and Europe and have never come across such dirty, smelly, run down and dysfunctional accommodation. When we arrived at the hostel, there were numerous men sitting on the front step smoking and we had to ask them to move so that we could wheel our luggage into the place. These same men were still on the step smoking when we came back much later that day. They didn't appear to be travellers but down and outs seeking temporary shelter. The toilets/bathrooms were beyond disgusting and insufficient for the number of patrons. The floor of our bedroom had rotted away and the room was identical to a prison cell. We booked a twin room (expecting two single beds side by side) and got a tiny bunk bed. I could go on and on.......
The only positive is the location (excellent Bayswater) and close to PT. Continue your search though because this is horrendous.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dece83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Where to begin.
Possibly the worst week of my life. An interesting experience here at the west two ranging from bed bugs, clogged loos and creeps always waiting to greet you straight out of the shower door. I felt cleaner before I went into the shower and was exposures to that mould driven box, being touched by the shower curtain made me feel violated and having a middle aged Arabian man with his hairy bare chest great me straight after getting out was the icing on the cake!
Very anti social - unless your part of the creeps that enjoys sitting on the front steps all day long and staring down the guests.
Kitchen- shouldn't be allowed to advertise as having one, wouldn't cook in it even if it did actually include the appliances e.g microwave, fridge, utensils needed in a kitchen. Just another filthy room but with a rank oven in the corner.
WiFi- free.... So it should be I'd more pissed if I had to pay for the small amount you access between the staff down stairs downloading porn all day!
Cleaner needs to ease up on the early morning wake ups, the vacuuming is the least of your worries, unclogg the toilet, get rid of the mould and bed bugs and get some elbow grease into that oven.
Overall a never again experience, would not recommend to anybody.
My option........ Tell em there dreamin!

Room Tip: Hot tip, don't book any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This place is cheap, and if you stay there you will see a lot of London, because you will get out of the place as soon as you wake up and come back very late.
The location is excellent. There are two underground stations in just some minutes of walk, there is also several bars, shops and banks, even though the neighbourhood is nice and relatively quite.
The rooms are not fresh, one smelled very strange, similar to an old gym. The beds are in bad conditions, they stick a lot and make a lot of sound, which is a problem because you hear when other people move during the night.
The bathrooms were clean enough.
It seems like several guest at the hotel have been living there for some month, thus it is quite full with their stuff in the rooms.
The attention was very nice, the staff is available 24-7 and some speak Spanish and Italian.

If it is your first time in a hostel, don't choose this one because then you will never go to a hostel any more. If you need to save money and you don't mind sleeping in a very bad bed, a smelly room then stay in West Two London.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andres_and_Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#52 of 928 in London
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Two London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Two London

Address: 22-23 Kensington Gardens Square | Bayswater, London W2 4BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #649 of 928 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £213 - £520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your West Two London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing