We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a princess”
Review of 40 Winks

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
40 Winks
Ranked #5 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

You are entering a different world when you walk in the door at 40 winks. I felt like Alice in Wonderland and was treated like a princess from the time I checked in to the hotel until I checked out. David Carter is a wonderful host. He has an unique style, a big knowledge of art and design and can show you places in London you'd never find on your own! He showed me a wonderful flea market with the most amazing treasures you can imagine! You will be inspired by his magical world and made my trip to London unique! He also came to visit me in the gallery where I exhibited and joined me to see a concert with one of my friends. I will never forget my first stay at 40 winks!

The only negative was that the bedroom door did not lock with a key, but it felt so safe there that it was like sleeping over at a friend's house. =)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vibeke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Hi Vibeke,

Every girl deserves to be treated like a princess!!!

Thank you so much for the lovely review...

Hope to see you back here again the next time you are over in London.

All the very best,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for 40 Winks
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed at 40 winks for 4 nights in late September and couldn't have imagined a more enjoyable place to lay my head in my maiden visit to London. David was most hospitable, taking every opportunity to get to know his guests with the classic opening lines of 'Would you like some tea?' or 'How was your day darling?'. I enjoyed the late night conversations which certainly gave me food for thought! I strongly recommend anyone looking for a holistic holiday in London to stay at 40 winks! Thanks for being such a wonderful host David!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph6697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

A huge pleasure having you to stay!!! Hope to see you back here again soon for more tea and good conversation...

All best,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

David Carter is the perfect host. Attentive, gentleman and familiar with everything that goes on in London. A man with unlimited wisdom, knowledge, charm, and patience. His personality makes the 40 winks even more special. Those of you who find interest in London's fashion or gastronomic scene, David is certainly the person to consult with.
David , thank you for the wonderful holiday and I look forward to meet up with you again.

Baruch and Gali

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baruch G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thanks so much for all your kind words!!!

It was lovely to meet you both, and hope to see you back here again soon.

All best,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

40 winks is a very unique and unusual experience. It has the sexiest hotel that I have ever been.

I love the mixing ...mishmash of eras, bits of Oriental , Japanese , French , Gothic and English touches here and there.
There is no set rule thus ... probably the toughest thing to achieve in decorating.
And I truly believe this is a romance inspired house.

Mr Carter , on the other hand is a soft spoken , attentive and enthusiastic gentleman. A man with "unlimited " wisdom, knowledge and charm.
He simply mesmerized your stay with his surreal way of living.

Thank you for this wonderful journey ... Thank you ... from my bottom of heart and I look forward to meet up with you again :)

Do make your extra miles to mile ends!!!

Pohluan
xxxx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Er P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you so much for the very lovely review!!!!

Hope to see you back here again very soon.

Kind regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

From the moment you enter this charming house, you feel like you're going to discover something very special. It's not London, it's a world apart. The house has a very luxurious design and it's full of details, with several rooms, each one with a different atmosphere. Mr Carter is a really kind person, always helpful with suggestions about the area and what to do in the city. I suggest 40 Winks not comparing it with other turistic hotels, but for people looking for a very unique experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Hi Paola,,

Thanks for the very kind review....

Hope you had a great time in Vienna, and hope to see you back here again soon.

Kind regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Random, eclectic, boho, Victorian and absolutely perfect. David warmly welcomes you, the weary traveller, into his luxurious and luxe B&B and immediately invites you to come and have a cup of tea with him. I sat in his downstairs kitchen and we chatted as if we had known each other from a previous life. Everywhere my eyes rested there were objets d'art and arrangements that were photo worthy. Spotlessly clean and polished, my bedroom plush and fancy, the bathroom spectacular. I loved my 1 night stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ablondeindoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely review!!!!

Hope to see you back here again soon

Kind regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed at 40Winks the night before my wedding, and then on the wedding night with my new husband. We had wanted somewhere spectacular and beautiful to start the rest of our lives together and we were not disappointed.

40Winks makes you feel like Alice down the rabbit hole. Nothing quite makes sense, and yet it does. That David is a world renowned interior designer is apparent in every last fixture, fitting and objet d'art. Bring your camera - you will want it if only to capture a tiny piece of the magic.

David was an extremely welcoming and understanding host considering the chaos of the wedding day preparations (hair, makeup, bridesmaids, parents, photographer) and provided an oasis of calm (and well needed cup of tea) when we returned to 40Winks after the nuptials.

One caveat - if you are a light sleeper bring earplugs as the double room overlooks the main road and you are in East London so it is noisy.

The bathroom was incredible - the absolute epitome of luxury.

Thank you David and good luck in all you do.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thanks so much for that, Gemma, and for the lovely card too.....

It was lovely to meet your family, and husband, and am very glad everything went smoothly on the day. It can all be quite stressful, but I hope you had a fabulous honeymoon, and are looking forward to your big move later in the year!!

All the very best,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#109 of 1,072 in London
3,227 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,072 in London
2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Drayton Court Hotel
#8 of 563 in London
672 reviews
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#13 of 563 in London
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 Winks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Winks

Address: 109 Mile End Road | Stepney Green, London E1 4UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £95 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 40 Winks 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
40 Winks is a legendary hotel based in hip and trendy East London. Despite our bijou size, we have achieved an almost mythical status since we opened our doors in 2009, somewhat cheekily describing ourselves as the world's first 'micro boutique hotel'. From the beginning, our mission was always a very simple one - to offer an antidote to the bland uniformity of most hotel chains by creating something that is deliriously seductive, memorable and enchanting. Staying here is about much more than having a comfortable bed to sleep in or a place to dump your luggage, it is an immersive experience, an invitation to lose yourself in another more fabulous, more magical world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
40 Winks Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing