We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed the stay at 40 Winks”
Review of 40 Winks

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
40 Winks
Ranked #5 of 579 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a lovely stay at 40 Winks. Mr David Carter is a very good host and was very helpful and generous with tips about antiques and markets. The house is an experience and well worth the travel!
Nina and Mikael

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Hi Nina,

Thank you so much for that..... very glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you back here again soon.

Kind regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were so thrilled when there was an opening at the 40 Wink. David was the most gracious host and this home is as stated in so many other reviews. Stunning. Masterful. Refined. Tremendous attention to detail. The guest rooms are on the second level, we stayed in the double bedroom, and there is also a single bedroom, both beautiful. One shared bathroom at the height of luxury. Comfy bed with premium sheets. We arrived late one evening and unfortunately, there were no places to dine open, David provided some snacks, apples and potato chips. My husband is still talking about the coffee that David prepared...Hopefully, you can be as fortunate as we were!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieDR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Hi Amanda,

Thanks so much for that....

Very pleased we could help, and hope to see you back here again another time.

Kind regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

If you intend to be a guest at 40 Winks be prepared for a totally different experience from any place you have ever stayed at. While, yes it is a hotel in name, that is not what it feels like – and that is a compliment because it is far from sterile and anonymous. In fact it is actually difficult to describe what 40 Winks gives a person as I would imagine that every guest will have their own interpretation based on their own beliefs, attitudes and worldviews. For me it was magical in the sense it transformed me back to childhood memories of what I dreamed it would be like to live in a palace (though somewhat smaller) with ornate and beautiful surroundings. A most comfortable bed with perfectly placed pillows and the softest sheets, the luxurious bathroom with freestanding bath, gold walls and subdued lighting. Each ornament, lamp, mirror, painting or piece of furniture in the house has been chosen with utmost care and thought and expertly positioned reflecting the owner David Carter’s talent for interior design. It is easy to see why 40 Winks has such wonderful reviews and attracts people from all over the world.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Hi Philippa,

Thank you so much for the charming review.... so pleased we brought some lovely childhood memories for you!!

Take care.

All the very best,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

You are entering a different world when you walk in the door at 40 winks. I felt like Alice in Wonderland and was treated like a princess from the time I checked in to the hotel until I checked out. David Carter is a wonderful host. He has an unique style, a big knowledge of art and design and can show you places in London you'd never find on your own! He showed me a wonderful flea market with the most amazing treasures you can imagine! You will be inspired by his magical world and made my trip to London unique! He also came to visit me in the gallery where I exhibited and joined me to see a concert with one of my friends. I will never forget my first stay at 40 winks!

The only negative was that the bedroom door did not lock with a key, but it felt so safe there that it was like sleeping over at a friend's house. =)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vibeke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Hi Vibeke,

Every girl deserves to be treated like a princess!!!

Thank you so much for the lovely review...

Hope to see you back here again the next time you are over in London.

All the very best,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed at 40 winks for 4 nights in late September and couldn't have imagined a more enjoyable place to lay my head in my maiden visit to London. David was most hospitable, taking every opportunity to get to know his guests with the classic opening lines of 'Would you like some tea?' or 'How was your day darling?'. I enjoyed the late night conversations which certainly gave me food for thought! I strongly recommend anyone looking for a holistic holiday in London to stay at 40 winks! Thanks for being such a wonderful host David!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph6697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

A huge pleasure having you to stay!!! Hope to see you back here again soon for more tea and good conversation...

All best,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

David Carter is the perfect host. Attentive, gentleman and familiar with everything that goes on in London. A man with unlimited wisdom, knowledge, charm, and patience. His personality makes the 40 winks even more special. Those of you who find interest in London's fashion or gastronomic scene, David is certainly the person to consult with.
David , thank you for the wonderful holiday and I look forward to meet up with you again.

Baruch and Gali

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baruch G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thanks so much for all your kind words!!!

It was lovely to meet you both, and hope to see you back here again soon.

All best,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

40 winks is a very unique and unusual experience. It has the sexiest hotel that I have ever been.

I love the mixing ...mishmash of eras, bits of Oriental , Japanese , French , Gothic and English touches here and there.
There is no set rule thus ... probably the toughest thing to achieve in decorating.
And I truly believe this is a romance inspired house.

Mr Carter , on the other hand is a soft spoken , attentive and enthusiastic gentleman. A man with "unlimited " wisdom, knowledge and charm.
He simply mesmerized your stay with his surreal way of living.

Thank you for this wonderful journey ... Thank you ... from my bottom of heart and I look forward to meet up with you again :)

Do make your extra miles to mile ends!!!

Pohluan
xxxx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Er P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcbc1, Owner at 40 Winks, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you so much for the very lovely review!!!!

Hope to see you back here again very soon.

Kind regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Drayton Court Hotel
#6 of 579 in London
780 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#8 of 579 in London
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lilac Door
#11 of 579 in London
203 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#24 of 579 in London
642 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Captain Cook
The Captain Cook
#33 of 579 in London
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 Winks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Winks

Address: 109 Mile End Road | Stepney Green, London E1 4UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 579 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £95 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 40 Winks 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
40 Winks is a legendary hotel based in hip and trendy East London. Despite our bijou size, we have achieved an almost mythical status since we opened our doors in 2009, somewhat cheekily describing ourselves as the world's first 'micro boutique hotel'. From the beginning, our mission was always a very simple one - to offer an antidote to the bland uniformity of most hotel chains by creating something that is deliriously seductive, memorable and enchanting. Staying here is about much more than having a comfortable bed to sleep in or a place to dump your luggage, it is an immersive experience, an invitation to lose yourself in another more fabulous, more magical world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
40 Winks Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing