We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting! We were scheduled for two nights, and checked out after one might.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Strand Continental
Ranked #342 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disgusting! We were scheduled for two nights, and checked out after one might.”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I was in London two nights, after a trip around a few countries. A friend booked this place and wanted us all to stay together. I get there, I did not want to stay. But we agreed to just stay the night. They gave us a room on the 5th floor, and there is no elevator (walk up). The rooms are the worst and most disgusting part. The rugs are filthy! The bathrooms are dangerous! The staff is not very helpful.
Thankfully, we checked out and moved to a 5 star hotel across town, and for just 40 pounds more a night.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CeeeeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    62
    105
    44
    48
See reviews for
39
36
73
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baginton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This hotel is the perfect place to stay for a weekend if you're seeing a show. We paid £75 for a double room, which is an amazing price for the location. Staff were friendly and helpful, even allowing us to leave our luggage after we'd checked out. The phrase "you get what you pay for" is pretty accurate here. The only downside was due to other guests banging doors and shouting. Hardly the fault of the hotel. Don't listen to the negative reviews. Great location, great price and we will definitely be coming back to this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AmyLouiseD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I stayed here with my son for just one night basic,clean and extremely friendly.The Lyceum Theatre is right opposite 30 second walk! People made us extremely welcome, made a fuss of my 6 year old son even giving him milk before bedtime. We paid for a private room felt safe, sheets were clean and sink in room was clean. Furniture basic but everything was fine for just one night. Indian restaurant is open to the public within the hostel and worth trying out. I'm returning Christmas 2011 with my son, other reviews for hostels in London are too scary. I fully recommend this one and I'm a fuss pot.

Room Tip: Definitely check out their Indian Restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulesandJoey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed at this place one night and that was one too many. The place is delapidated and dirty. Smells of stale cooking. The whole place needs rehabilitation or demolition. No fire extinguishers or signs on bedroom doors.Window was not possible to open, even though escape was right outside blocking view.Dirty room with jumble sale furniture and bed linen.The towel provided was unfit for a dog.Curtain was hanging like a rag .Door lock was pitifull and pathetic.Breakfast was a joke ..Staff didn`t want to know , when queried.They also tried to cheat me out of £10 deposit for key when returned. Communial toilet and bathroom are a nightmare.This is no hotel . its a doss house. 4 D standard ...Disgusting , dirty, dangerous and degrading..Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Find a hotel , not this place. You dont need to take pets here , there are enough creatures crawling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peejayb54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I have just returned from a one night stay in Hotel Strand Continental with my mum. We went to the Lyceum at night, and whilst everyone else was busy catching taxis, we simply walked a crossed the road and into the hotel/B&B - I couldn't have asked for a better location.

The room was clean (i dont know how people can complain about dirty bed sheets) and although it wasnt ensuite with a shower and toilet on every floor, there was a sink provided in each room. The room was reasonably spacious with plenty of drawers and a wardrobe and soap is provided. However the curtain didnt seem to close properly, leaving a large gap at one end. The one thing I missed most was probab;y my bed, as the bed there was uncomfortable and the pilow was very thin offering no support.

A continental breakfast is provided in the mornings and if you are up early enough you can grab a nice seat by the window. I advise you to bring your own box of tisues as there aren't any supplied.
Also if you have trouble climbing many flights of stairs, this hotel really isnt for you - the lift doesnt work.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and, if we were to stay in london again overnight, we would probably choose here. It is low budget, great location, andno less than I expected considering the price.

ps There is no room service, childrens activites, spa or fitness centre, so I just put 'Not sure'.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Koolkat8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Having read previous reviews I was a little wary of my stay but have now decided that people have completely unrealistic expectations! Yes there are no ensuites but this is made clear on their website or on other booking sites - besides, the toilets and shower rooms are not far away and were clean (although soap in the toilet would have been good! There was, however, soap in my room so it wasn't too much of an issue). The rooms are basic but with plenty of storage and sink and mirror. No tv? So what, it's a basic hostel. What did you really expect? The sheets were clean and the furniture was new. Granted the walls could have done with a fresh lick of paint and the carpets should probably be replaced, but it was clean enough. And as a previous reviewer has said, it would not be possible for them to install a lift (although carrying heavy luggage up to the 5th floor was not pleasant). I didn't try the breakfast or the restaurant so can't comment on these. £55 for a private single room is a little steep given what you get, but the location is fantastic. The only downside of my stay was being woken very early by other inconsiderate guests who repeatedly slammed their doors (why the people next to me were constantly going in and out of their rooms every 30 seconds is beyond me) and talked loudly, but that's not the hostel's fault.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spivvycarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

A few earlier reviews were clearly malicious and probably libellous; theyshould be completely disregarded. Of course it's basic: lots of stairs, and structurally impossible to install a lift. But excellent location, very reasonable price, helpful and efficient service and management, recently upgraded furniture and fittings. I would happily stay there again if I had reason to be based in that part of London.

Paul

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paulellingworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#57 of 557 in London
577 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Duchy House
Duchy House
#295 of 847 in London
7 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Apple Apartments - The Strand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#126 of 557 in London
215 reviews
Bloomsbury
Excelsior Hotel London
Excelsior Hotel London
#373 of 557 in London
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Strand Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Strand Continental

Property: Hostel Strand Continental
Address: 143 Strand, London WC2R 1JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Strand Continental 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastically located on the famous Strand in London. With the River Thames behind you and the lively West End in front of you, you will have an easy time finding everything you came to London for! Not only is this little gem well located it is also steeped in history and well facilitated. Facilities include a 1940's styled bar and restaurant, free wi-fi, free continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel Strand Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing