We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostel Strand Continental
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
ME London(London)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
One Aldwych(London)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Savoy(London)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
16
69
112
48
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
69
112
48
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslyceum theatrewaterloo bridgenarrow stairsthin wallscommon areastea coffeenight's sleepcovent gardentoasterholbornfi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Strand Continental is such a lovely and confy place to stay in london.In the heart of the city. It's 10 minutes from, coven garden and trafalgar sq, The hotel is quite and clean, staff is friendly and helpfull at all time. I travelled on my own and I felt very very safe form the start. Breakfast is rather sample, and the indian restaurant is really nothing special. But food in london is not an issue, I will cenrtainly make a return.

Room Tip: Considering is located in the hart of london with all sorts of sounds going on I certainly adviced the top floors.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simonao781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Pros are: the excellent position just a few minutes away from Leicester Square, Piccadilly Circus, Trafalgar Square; the rooms are warm.
Cons are: the doors slam all the time, night and day - you can be careful when closing them but they slam anyway because they are are wooden and too heavy; poor quality breakfast (toasted bread, hot/cold beverages, butter, jam, milk - yogurt and cheese had no flavour at all).
There are 2 bathrooms and 2 toilets in common with other rooms - in one of the toilets somebody had urinated all over the floor and nobody came to clean that for 24 hours (on the other hand, there was no toilet paper in the other toilet).
Please do not forget flip-flops for the showers.
In this like in other places where I have been, I am always surprised on how things could be improved with just good will and very little money: for ex. adding a small hook in toilets and in the room next to the washbasin would not bankrupt the hotel owner but would make things more comfortable for the customers.
Altogether, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tatami71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

the accomodation is very basic, but the location is excellent on the Strand and great for the theatre or anywhere else in central London ... Charing Cross and Holborn are near.
However, the best thing about this hotel, except for its location, is the India Club curry house upstairs (where the hotel's breakfast is normally served).
Although the restaurant looks a bit neglected to say the least, the curries aren't half bad for the West End, nor are the prices. And the shabbiness does have a hard worn, colonial charm all of its own.
The restaurant and bar are open every day. If you're on a budget, I think they allow BYO alcohol in the restaurant, as long as you order food.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slimboy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Do not be fooled by the photo!! The hotel entrance is a small door way between shops and leads up stairs to a reception area.

The room stank of stale cigarettes, the shared toilets were unclean, the whole place was very unpleasant. We returned to reception 5 minutes after checking in and handed back the key - the receptionist was very rude and would also not issue a refund. We left immediatley, £75 out of pocket....Avoid at all cost.

I would not recommend this sub-standard hostel to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

After reading horrific reviews about this hotel I was anixous to say the least. Desprate for a affordable hotel in central london, this seemed the only option. On arrival the steps are bad indeed. Also, this hotel is more of a hostel- below basic. Our room though was ideal, small but comfortable. Two toilets, a shower and a bathroom per floor was more then enough - never once met anyone else on the way to the loo. Best of all this place is clean- the rooms spotless. To save money to booked a dorm over a family room but found that this includes nothing- literally not towels or even a kettle. After a bit of haggling i got my mum a kettle and cups (£10 deposit of course) but refused to pay £2 per towel (we used a spare bedsheet, worked very well!). Give the indian resturant a miss - though cheap its sad, small, grubby and looks derelict. Such rude staff too!! To sum up, not a terrible place nor a good one - simply average. The location though is incrediable - so close to Convent garden, st. james park and a local supermarket plus train and tubes. As we didnt spend much time in our rooms it was ideal.

Room Tip: higher floors destipe the stairs offer a lovely view
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews