We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corinthia Hotel London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel London
Ranked #21 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

The service was lovely. The surroundings are lovely; very striking. The sandwiches and cakes were lovely and the waitress kindly offered to refresh them for us. I was interested to see that they used teabags instead of loose tea which was a bit of a surprise. Not as classy as The Langham for afternoon tea. The doormen were very nice when we left, it was pouring with rain and they were insistent that we borrowed an umbrella.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you for your review of our Afternoon Tea in the Lobby Lounge under our stunning Baccarat thousand and one crystal chandelier. We use Tea Palace products which is a loose leaf tea in natural bags and is the most exceptional quality tea on the market, rather than loose leaf and the need for strainers. We are really pleased to hear that our team went the extra mile in refreshing your sandwiches and lending you umbrellas, we pride ourselves in our craftsmanship of care.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,059
    208
    52
    33
    20
See reviews for
397
971
103
485
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
miami, fl
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Just returned from staying 11 days at this amazing hotel. From the minute
we checked in we were spoiled and pampered! Upon arriving at our
room we had a bottle of chilled champagne and
a birthday cake waiting for us. On the day of our anniversary
we had another complimentary bottle of champagne and cake delivered.
The room was amazing, the bed was very plush, the
bathroom with dual sinks, rain shower, hot tub and TV, along with warmed
floors and towel warmer was perfect. The complimentary toiletries were Espa
brand and very nice. Room had a walk in closet which was perfect
for our long stay. The pool and thermal floors were the best! Gym was perfect for our morning
work outs. Service was incredible. Our room was cleaned
everyday and turn down service done nightly. At turn down
they always left us a little gift on our pillows!
We had dinner at the Northall one night and were amazed.
The dinner was superb and the service very good.
We also had cocktails at the bar and I can say their
pisco was one of the best cocktails I've ever had.
My only complaint would be breakfast at the Northall,
the did have a variety of items on the buffet but
I really didn't like any of the items. The eggs were horrible,
Very runny and almost raw. The breads were not too good either.
I'm glad the breakfast was complimentary because it would
not have been worth the high price since all I enjoyed
was coffee and bowl of cereal. Conclusion do reserve this excellent
hotel, it's walking distance to many of the attractions, London eye, Buckingham
Palace and the embankment.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Executive room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank protreats_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you kindly for taking the time to write such a full and lengthy review of the Corinthia Hotel London. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to experience all the fabulous facilities the hotel offers. We pride ourselves on the attention to detail and always going the extra mile for all of our guests and in this instance we were able to make both the birthday and the anniversary more memorable with cake and champagne. We too think our bathrooms are rather special and all of our rooms as standard come with a stunning suite of a bathroom and separate shower with underfloor heating and ESPA Life toiletries. The hotel is indeed central for many of London’s iconic sights, including Trafalgar Square, Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, as well as cultural activities and rail and tube networks. Sincere apologies that the breakfast in The Northall did not meet your expectations, eggs can be cooked to order and if the buffet is not to taste there is a separate a la carte breakfast menu which you should have been offered. Please do rest assured your comments will be shared with our management team. Thank you for recommending us, it is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Wishing you a very happy birthday and anniversary.
Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We booked Corinthia on Trip Advisor's comments and it didn't fail. The location was fantastic, staff were great and we couldn't have been happier. We booked a rollaway for our 12 yr old and it wasn't set up when we got there. It did take 4 phone calls to get it organized that evening but that's a minor thing. Definitely stay there. It's fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie_traveller059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you for your review, we are indeed centrally located for all of London’s major sights and cultural activities, and an adjacent transport hub of Charing Cross and Embankment stations. We do apologise that your rollaway bed was not ready for your arrival and that it took time and effort on your part to rectify the problem, this should not have happened and your comments will be passed onto our Executive Housekeeper. We are really pleased you would recommend others to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you once again to Corinthia Hotel London.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We had a 'River Suite' on New Years Eve. What a fantastic location!! - We had a perfect view of the fireworks, London Eye ect. The rooms were great with everything you could possibly want. I especially liked the Nespresso coffee machine! The rooms were immaculate when we arrived, then, while we were out for dinner they came along and tidied all the mess I had made getting ready to go out. The bathroom comes with separate shower & toilet, a TV in the bath & underfloor heating as well as complimentary toiletries from ESPA downstairs (which was also lovely). We also ordered room service in the evening & morning which was excellent and arrived exactly on time.

There were just a couple of small negatives - the fire alarm went off so we were evacuated and not told when we could go back inside - not helpful! (for the rest of the stay all of the staff were super helpful though).
Secondly, this may just be me, but, on the bottom of the bar bill, room service bill ect there is a space for a tip. This would be fine if they hadnt already added on a discretionary 12.5% - just seems a bit cheeky to me!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amyyyy-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of Corinthia Hotel London. The River Suites are indeed the perfect spot to view the fireworks over London on New Year’s Eve with spectacular views of the River Thames. All of our rooms as standard come complete with a Nspresso coffee machine and ESPA Life products in all our bathrooms. We are pleased you enjoyed our extensive in room dining menu and that service exceeded your expectations. We apologise that the fire alarm sounded during your stay, unfortunately this was activated by circumstances beyond our control and we must evacuate the building and not re-enter until we have authorised clearance from the London fire brigade. Thank you for pointing out the space at the bottom of the bill for tips, we do add on a discretionary 12.5%, however many of our guests want the facility to be able to add extra for staff who have gone the extra mile. We hope that spending New Year with us was a great start to 2013 and we look forward to welcoming you back throughout the year.
Kind regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I stayed at the Corinthia London twice in 2012: once in March and again during the week between Christmas and New Year. Really appreciate their flexible check in/check out policy. How nice when you arrive early in the day from an overnight US flight to find the room ready and waiting! Similarly, if you're flying out late, an afternoon check out is available. This is just one of the ways in which the hotel excels at customer care. All of the staff, on both occasions, were warm and welcoming, willing to assist in any way. Room service was quick and delicious, efficiently set up and removed promptly. Breakfasts in the Northall were excellent. The room during my first stay was enormous! But even on the second stay, it was very comfortable and well appointed (well set up for working or charging multiple electronic gadgets). The laptop sized safe, conveniently located in a drawer, was a big plus. The bathroom was also very well appointed (appreciated the underfloor heating). I didn't use the spa but did use the hair salon (a branch of Daniel Galvin, one of the city's top salons) on both occasions, once for a blow out and once for wedding "do" and appreciated both the skill of the stylists and the flexibility about scheduling. Only downside was room temp on my last visit--it was too hot and the temp couldn't be lowered.

Location is great for theatre; easy walk to most theatres on the Strand or near St. Martin's Lane and very convenient for the National Gallery and Portrait Gallery.

I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback following your recent visit to Corinthia Hotel London. The hotel has been designed to accommodate all the needs of a 21st century traveller and we have therefore pioneered a flexible check in and out policy allowing the ultimate luxury for our guests. As you mentioned this allows international guests to check in straight away making their stay easy and comfortable. Our well-appointed rooms are some of the largest in the London luxury market with an average size of 45m2. Equipped with the latest technology in the bedrooms and the bathrooms, we hope that all our guest find their rooms to be spacious and luxurious. Attached to our spa, Daniel Galvin at Corinthia is ideally located for those who have just visited ESPA Life at Corinthia and for those visiting the hotel for an event. I hope that when you are next in the country you will come back to visit us.

Kind regards
Matthew Dixon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

More often than not I am unbelievably disappointed in hotels in the UK. The Corinthia hotel has changed that for me!

We checked out of the Corinthia today after a 7 day stay. Here are my thoughts:

The Good -

*Gorgeous, well-appointed rooms. Beautiful lobby. Loved the Harrods "store."
*Staff is unbelievably nice and bends over backwards to accommodate requests.
*We didn't eat in either hotel restaurant but breakfast (via room service, which was included in our rate) was top-notch. Not sure what the Corinthia cook does with his scrambled eggs but they are divine!
*Location is a bit off the beaten path but the hotel is quiet which is nice. The hotel is just a 3 minute walk from the Embankment tube station which is very convenient.

The Not So Good -

*Room Service is delicious but every day something was inadvertently left off our delivery (butter and/or milk for tea and/or water, etc.). Not a big deal bit just something to note.
*Shower water temperature changes randomly which can be a bit dangerous.
*Check out was the only real issue...the clerk tried to charge us for breakfast (which was included in our rate) and also refuted the spa credit that was allotted to us. Not sure why this was such a problem since I booked our stay directly on the Corinthia's website and thus everything should have been clearly indicated in their system? Everything was sorted out in the end but I hated leaving on a slightly negative note.

The Bottom Line - I will definitely stay at the Corinthia on my next visit to London. This was definitely an overall fantastic experience and I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank ameenadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Corinthia Hotel London. We are ideally located in the heart of London within walking distance of many of the city’s main attractions making it a fantastic place to rediscover London. The hotel has been redesigned to accommodate all the needs of a 21st century traveller and I am glad to hear that you found the rooms to be comfortable and well appointed. GA Design International are responsible for the design of the hotel and they have managed to incorporate the perfect balance of modern freshness and traditional grandeur. We aim to provide our guests with the best service possible, going above and beyond our guests expectations and I hope you found this to be the case. With regard to the issues you experienced during your time here, please accept my sincere apologies. We value all the feedback we receive as it is only with this that we can continue to improve our product and service. I hope that when you return you will have time to experience our two restaurants, The Northall and Massimo Restaurant and Oyster Bar, as well our magnificent spa, ESPA Life at Corinthia.

Kind regards
Matthew Dixon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

I went for a massage during the weekend. The whole design and facilities are very impressive and clean. it even has a quite room for you to have a short nap! Had a great massage from a skilled masseuse. Service is great. The only suggestion I would like to give is to provide herbal/infusion tea instead of iced water right after the massage so that the body could be kept warm. Overall, I will want to come back again for a SPA!
After a very relaxing SPA, I went to the Lobby to have afternoon tea with my husband. We started around 5.40pm, however, we only managed to finish at 8.30pm due to the slowness of the service. We didn't eat a lot, as the sandwiches are quite dry and desserts are too sweet. It wasn't a great experience because we had to wait for a long time for each food service (apart from the normal set, we only ordered one extra round of sandwiches and 3 extra desserts). The back door was opened by guests coming into the hotel from time to time, and there was no doorman looking after it so where we sit was sometimes very cold (my husband had to go and close it at least twice). I would really hope the hotel could have enough staff to look after the guests at the lobby and make sure that the service is smooth and attentive, to meet its 5-star standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SophiaChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you kindly for taking the time to write your review, your feedback is much appreciated. We were delighted to learn you enjoyed all the ESPA Life facilities and indulged in some luxury pampering. We are most thankful for your comments regarding the provision of herbal/ infusion tea following a massage, which will be shared with our senior management. It is most apparent your Afternoon Tea experience in our Lobby Lounge was marred by the delays in service and we were only too sorry to learn the quality of food did not meet your expectations. We would very much like the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel and we would highly appreciate for you to contact us directly at your convenience. We very much look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Matthew Dixon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#94 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,397 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#16 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel London

Property: Corinthia Hotel London
Address: Whitehall Place, London SW1A 2BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel London 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
294 exceptionally designed and spacious bedrooms and suites, among the largest in London, offering outstanding views of the River Thames, London Eye and Trafalgar Square. A specialty seafood restaurant, a modern British restaurant, a destination bar and a world class Spa, ESPA Life at Corinthia. Corinthia Hotel London will offer guests a lavish retreat in timeless beauty in a historic yet vibrant location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Corinthia Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing