We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Show over substance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel London
Ranked #15 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Tried the hotel for breakfast today .... full of optimism ... the kind of place that is now so evident , pleasant staff , overley keen but just not right ... ordered crispy bacon sandwich in white ... got soggy brown sandwich , pretty tasteless and any london cafe would get this right ... yet again keen staff but geared up for tourist influx and no interest in the english basic needs ...shame really

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bertie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your breakfast experience at The Northall at Corinthia Hotel London. We are extremely disappointed to read your comments and feedback, and apologise that your bacon sandwich was not up to our standards of presentation or taste. We would be most grateful if you could please contact us directly so that we may have the opportunity to restore your faith in our restaurant and the hotel.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,768 - 1,774 of 2,571 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed at Corinthia Hotel and the experience was amazing. The hotel spells luxury and elegance. Our rooms were crisp and clean. The lobby is beautiful. Ate at the Northall for breakfast, my children just loves and look forward to it. Had dinner at Massimo, it was impeccable. Service all thru out was excellent. Location was convenient, near the Embankment, Trafalgar, the Tube, London Eye, the Aquarium etc. We arrived early morning and front desk offered us breakfast to settle everyone. They surely make that extra effort to make us feel at home and comfortable.

Room Tip: Front desk will usually tell or offer you if the bigger rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for your kind review of your family stay at Corinthia Hotel London, we appreciate all your effusive comments and feedback. The hotel is ideal for families and the leisure traveller, it is ideally situated for seeing many of London’s iconic sights, such as Trafalgar Square, Big Ben, the Houses of Parliament, and the Southbank; it is also easy to get everywhere with an adjacent transport hub, and Embankment pier next to the hotel for trips on the Thames; and in the evening entertainment is on hand with over thirty West End theatres within a mile radius. The hotel also offers great family accommodation, especially as our rooms are large to house extra beds, or connecting rooms, and we often offer special family packages. The extensive and varied buffet breakfast is fabulous as it caters for all tastes, from the healthy fruit and yoghurt options to a full English. We are genuinely pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you once more again soon.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Attended a wedding and stayed over. Absolutely stunning hotel with wonderful bedrooms and superb bathroom. Public spaces are impressive and smart bars with good cocktails. The wedding was wonderful and staff were attentive, professional, helpful and friendly. Great food at the reception and breakfast. The Spa is stylish with a nice pool. Attention to detail delivers everything you would expect of one of the very best hotels in London.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a glowing review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London and experience the joy of attending a wedding in our magnificent Ballroom at the same time. The Corinthia London is indeed very impressive, combining the original grandeur of the hotel with the best of modern design and technology. We are really pleased you managed to experience many of the facilities the hotel has to offer, particularly the bespoke cocktails in Bassoon, and the buffet breakfast in The Northall, and especially ESPA Life next generation spa, which takes you into another world of pure luxury and pampering. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail, and it is gratifying to hear that it does not go unnoticed. We hope to welcome you back for many more occasions in the future.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This is one of the best dinning experience I have had. The Management of the Restaurant was extremely gracious and the food divine. The surroundings were exquisite and classic. The service was excellent. I was with a very important middle eastern delegation they were so impressed with the overall atmosphere that they have requested that we book all our business lunches and dinners at the hotel. We will definitely be back there very soon and I just wanted to thank the restaurant manager and staff for a superb dinning experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laila b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for your gracious review of your dining experience in The Northall at Corinthia Hotel London. The restaurant is indeed very impressive with the original high ceilings and views over the river Thames and the Southbank. Your review will be forwarded to the manager of the restaurant, and your kind compliments will be passed onto the team. We are very pleased to hear we were able to impress you and your delegation, and very much look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Beautiful Hotel in a Great Location.
5 min walk to Trafalgar Square and Underground Station.

Amazing Lobby. Wonderful Rooms.
Very comfortable room, nice bed, lots of space and high ceiling.

Luxurious Bathroom with great tub and shower.

Service is left wanting.
Did not get assistance will luggage coming in!
Overall service did not live up to the Beautiful hotel and Architecture.

Breakfast was nice. Good food, great ambiance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, and for your constructive feedback. The hotel is ideally situated for access to West End theatres, London’s major sights and attractions and adjacent to a central transport hub. On entering the hotel the one thousand and one Baccarat crystal chandelier makes a magnificent first impression, with lots of space and light flooding into the Lobby Lounge. Our rooms are larger than average for central London hotels, and offer spacious accommodation coupled with the best of modern design and technology. All of our rooms come with en-suite huge marble bathrooms with a separate rain shower and bath with built in LCD-TV as standard, as well as ESPA Life toiletries and Frette fluffy dressing-gowns. An extensive buffet breakfast is served daily in The Northall, offering a varied choice to suit every taste and palate. We apologise that you were not assisted with your luggage when coming into the hotel, this falls short of our service standards and will be followed up with the Front of House Manager. We hope this did not marr your stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you once more to Corinthia London.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Will make this quick.. This is the best hotel in London, period. I am not a shill either. From the moment we entered the hotel, the entire staff could not have been nicer, more welcoming, or professional. We were upgraded to a nicer room immediately without asking and it was superb. The bed was super comfy, the bathroom large and beautiful, and the shower was out of this world. Courtyard facing room, very quiet, beautiful lobby, bar (s) and rooms-it is simply an elegant and classy place. I would now never stay anywhere else in London. It is located in Whitehall, close to all the government stuff and a superb neighborhood

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvaz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for your charming and quick review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. We are always especially pleased to hear great feedback about our service standards, as we pride ourselves on our Craftsmanship of Care training and policy. Our bedrooms are larger than average for central London hotels, and to be upgraded is always an added plus to any stay. All of our rooms come complete with complimentary WI-FI, large marble bathrooms with separate rain showers, ESPA Life toiletries and huge baths with built in LCD-TV. The hotel was designed by GA Design, who have cleverly incorporated the original splendour with the best of modern design and technology, using only the finest fixtures and fittings to appeal to the twenty-first century traveller. The rooms facing the Courtyard are exceptionally quiet and come complete with a Juliet balcony. We are really pleased to read that you would now never stay anywhere else in London, and look forward to offering you a warm welcome when you return.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I've been very fortunate to have stayed in some really nice hotels in Asia. This is in my view one of the best hotels I've stayed in ever. The hotel is really beautiful just off the Embankment station, minutes away from Trafalgar Square and many other attractions. I literally walked to almost all of the attractions as the walk by the Thames river is really very pleasant.

The room I got on the fourth floor in the corner was really nice. I agree with another reviewer who said that the room is very well proportioned. Whilst a large room can be luxurious to some, I don't fancy a large empty room. The room is as Goldilocks would put it "just nice"; cosy but not cramped.

There is a nespresso machine and the bathroom floors are heated along with the towel rails which is such a treat when the weather outside turns dreary and cold as I'm told London weather can be. The toiletries that they provide is really great. The tv in the bath is such a luxury and the acoustics work.

The gym was very well equipped. The pool however was tiny, but beautifully done. Even the common shower and changing room at for the spa and gym. Staff were really professional and nice, especially liked the doormen. There's a small Harrods in the hotel if you need to grab some souvenirs before you fly out.

I've said loads of nice things but I do have a few comments for improvement. Had breakfast there every morning. It was great the first two days but really got quite bored with the food at breakfast by day three. I'm from Asia and I suppose we're spoilt when it comes to food choice. Would have been nice if they made small changes though, having the same sausage every morning . . . Not too keen.

The room was warm, even though I turned the temperature down. Suffering from jet lag it took me a day to figure out not to keep the toilet doors open as the floor heating was compensating for the cold/cool air. The hotel may want to look into this as it would, increase their energy bill if unknowing people like me keep toilet doors open.

Otherwise this is really a great hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLKV2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, we appreciate all of your compliments and constructive feedback. The hotel is indeed ideally situated for both the business and leisure traveller, within walking distance of many of London’s tourist attractions, adjacent to the central transport hub of Charing Cross rail and Embankment tube stations, opposite the Southbank, and with over thirty West End theatres in a mile radius. The bedrooms are large and spacious, and a corner rooms gives the added benefit of a dual aspect view; all of our rooms come complete complimentary Wi-Fi and Nespresso coffee machines, and en-suite marble bathrooms, with separate rain showers, ESPA Life toiletries, and Frette dressing-gowns. ESPA Life next generation spa offers a state-of-the-art gym, open to residents twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week, and a Thermal Floor with swimming and vitality pools, an amphitheatre sauna and steam room, and reclining heated beds. The hotel boasts the only in-hotel Harrods shop, offering a selection of gifts, ideal to give as presents, or keep as momentos of your stay at Corinthia London. We have noted your comments regarding the buffet breakfast offer, and appreciate our long-term stay guests may find the offer repetitive, this is being addressed by our Food & Beverage Director. You make an interesting point regarding the under-floor heated bathroom and air-conditioning, one that we will take note of and address. We look forward to offering you a warm welcome on your next stay with us.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,075 in London
2,835 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,075 in London
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,075 in London
3,930 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#17 of 1,075 in London
1,783 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#38 of 1,075 in London
4,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel London

Address: Whitehall Place, London SW1A 2BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £380 - £833 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel London 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
294 exceptionally designed and spacious bedrooms and suites, among the largest in London, offering outstanding views of the River Thames, London Eye and Trafalgar Square. A specialty seafood restaurant, a modern British restaurant, a destination bar and a world class Spa, ESPA Life at Corinthia. Corinthia Hotel London will offer guests a lavish retreat in timeless beauty in a historic yet vibrant location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Corinthia Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing