We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel London
Ranked #16 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Excellent Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We had afternoon tea here sometime in November and it was a great experience.

I initially wanted to book the Ritz but it was fully booked. I checked references from The UK Tea Guild and i found that Corinthia ranked consistently amongst the top 10

Booking was easy and online. Confirmation was sent immediately.

For people who appreciate experiences like this, Corinthia is the place to be.

The quality of the tea, the ambiance and the service was fantastic. We started with hand crafted sandwich and moved on to more intricate luxurious tarts, cakes and cookies while our tea was refreshed continuously

By the time we were done, we knew that we couldn't eat dinner any longer! We were thoroughly satisfied

All this for how much? Just about £50 per person!

I strongly recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your Afternoon Tea in The Lobby Lounge at Corinthia Hotel London. We are delighted to read that you had a smooth and easy booking experience, and then we were able to exceed your expectations with the exemplary service and fabulous sandwiches, tea, and cakes. We think there is nowhere more lovely in London to take tea than under the iconic Baccarat chandelier in The Lobby Lounge, looking especially charming at the moment with festive decorations. We very much appreciate your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you in 2014.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,176
    216
    53
    33
    20
See reviews for
430
1,013
106
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The girls and I went for Christmas afternoon tea here this weekend and it was beautiful! The service was impeccable with almost a waiter per table and they continued to offer complimentary sandwiches, scones and cakes to us all. It was just right to enjoy the festive spirit as the hotel is decorated beautifully yet understatedly. A 2 minute walk from Embankment station this was also perfect for my elderly grandmother as she could sample the lights and the Thames whilst walking the short distance to the Corinthia hotel. Having sampled many afternoon teas in and around London, I definitely recommend a visit to this hotel and will be going back myself with other friends and family as soon as possible as this is now high up on my afternoon tea experience list. Truly exquisite!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for posting a charming review of your Afternoon Tea at Corinthia Hotel London. We are delighted to read that you, your friends, and especially your grandmother had a most enjoyable experience. We are always most pleased to hear great feedback regarding our impeccable customer service standards, and that we were able to exceed your expectations. The hotel is ideally situated opposite Embankment tube and Charing Cross rail stations, and is within walking distance of many of London’s must-see sights, ideal for combining a day’s sightseeing with the perfect relaxation destination. We very much appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you all back very soon.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Just completing a week stay at the Corinthia. Was perfect in every way. It was an important birthday week for my wife and staying at the Corinthia made it such a special trip. The staff are warm, friendly and unbelievably reliable. I travel a lot for business and haven't seen customer care like this in many years. The hotel itself is subtly elegant. It is modern, classy decor that feel especially inviting. Our room was spectacular. It was on the very large side for London and it felt very new and beautifully decorated. I hesitated in leaving such a perfect review such that credibility might lack some as a result, but this was honestly a perfect stay at a perfect hotel (and, I would rate myself a very picky traveler).

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a glowing review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. We feel very privileged that you and wife chose to spend her special birthday with us, and that we were able to exceed your expectations. We are especially delighted to read that the team at Corinthia London were warm, friendly, and unbelievably reliable as we pride ourselves on our Craftsmanship of Care policy and training. The hotel was designed by GA Design, who have cleverly incorporated the best of the original features with modern décor to create the perfect hotel for the twenty-first century traveller. All of our rooms are larger than average for central London hotels, and come complete with the finest fixtures and fittings as well as many complimentary amenities such as the fastest 1Gb Wi-Fi, ESPA Life toiletries and a Nespresso machine in every room. Thank you for your perfect compliments and recommendations, and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back for many more special occasions to come.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Great location, just off Whitehall/Trafalgar Square. A hotel with very high standards . Excellent staff. The room was superb, everything. Had been thought of. Recommend using the valet parking if you are driving.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. The location of the hotel is superb for both the business and leisure traveller, with many of London’s must-see sights within walking distance, and adjacent to a central transport hub for easy access to the city. We are always most appreciative of great feedback regarding the staff and standards, especially as we pride ourselves on our Craftsmanship of Care policy and training. Your recommendation is very much appreciated and the team at Corinthia London look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed here at the end of November for a long weekend in a King Suite. The room was to die for, the service nothing but awesome and the breakfast to die for. The Spa was first class, the rooms wonderful and everything seamlessly elegant. I have stayed at some of the best hotels across the world over the past 30 years and The Corinthia is the best. Understated luxury, elegance and pure class. For one weekend in your life stay here. You will not be disappointed I promise you.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room here from what I have seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for posting a glowing review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations, it certainly sounds like you had a most enjoyable long weekend. All of our rooms are beautifully appointed with the finest fixtures and fittings and come with many amenities such as the fastest 1Gb complimentary Wi-Fi, ESPA Life toiletries, a Nespresso coffee machine, and turndown as standard. The award-winning ESPA Life at Corinthia is London’s largest spa, with four floors of marble luxury, it really has to be seen to be believed. We are very pleased that you also had the opportunity to experience the extensive buffet breakfast in The Northall, with a great choice and range of foods to suit every palate. We very much appreciate your kind compliments and recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Brilliant hotel. Since my first experience which was an upgraded room on late arrival it is no.1 on my preferred list.

They have looked after my wife and I in the early hours checking out of a disappointing hotel, I got double booked during Wimbledon but they had catered for it generously elsewhere. As a result I go back whenever I am able - and when there is a room available!

Stayed in one of their largest rooms/suites, it was a surreal experience.

Wife and I recently visited again on a Friday night. Only downside was a vey busy bar - but what to expect in December.

Room Tip: Book an extra night !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. We are especially pleased to read the team at Cornthia London went above and beyond to exceed your expectations, and we are now your preferred London hotel. All of our rooms are larger than average for central London hotels, and our suites are exceptionally large with separate entrance halls, dressing rooms, sitting rooms, and superb bathrooms, and many with spectacular views over the London skyline. Bassoon has been very busy during the festive season, playing live music every evening, and serving the best bespoke cocktails. We very much look forward to welcoming you on your return visit, and our Bassoon bartenders can create a cocktail of your choice.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife and I had the privilege of spending a night at the Corinthia earlier in December. It was officially for a birthday, but we had an evening function in London over the same time, which made the stay convenient.
We arrived very early in the day, as we had pre-organised spa treatments. From the time you enter the hotel, you feel totally welcome. Every staff member, it seems, simply has the mandate to make guests feel happy and welcome. Of course, the fact that the decorations in the lobby take one's breath away also helps.
If you stay at this hotel, do not make the mistake of missing the spa. It's voted the best in Europe, and it's easy to see why when you step into the calm, tranquil surroundings. We arrived about 90 minutes early to enjoy the amenities, and we were extremely grateful we did. The spa (even without treatment) is a real delight. I had probably the best massage I've ever had. I felt transported. Well worth it. Food options at the spa are healthy and complement the lovely surroundings.
Pre-dinner cocktails in the bar are a must. Sadly, we never enjoyed an evening meal at the hotel, but we did avail ourselves of coffee in the lounge around midnight upon our return. Once again - everyone is particularly willing to help.
Breakfast in the morning is an opulent affair.
The rooms themselves are sublime. Nespresso machines, magnificent Loewe TV's, the marble baths, and a bed that transports are just some of the highlights.
I would make only two suggestions to the management. Firstly, we ordered cappucinos in the lounge on the day of our checkout. I thought that a nearby Starbucks would provide me with substantially better coffee - the foam was non-existent and it tasted like it had been made by a machine, without a barista. Secondly, we found that our room was not equipped with champagne glasses which would have been ideal as we wanted to have a little in-room year-end celebration.
This is not a cheap hotel, by any stretch. But the surrounding, the area, the service, and the opulence are unmatched. Treat yourself - you'll be talking about the experience long after you've paid off your credit card.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful. We stayed on the fourth floor, and that was without noise or any issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a glowing review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. We enjoyed reading your feedback, and feel we couldn’t have put it better ourselves, you have summarised in a paragraph all that is best about Corinthia London. We are always most delighted to read of the team at Corinthia London going the extra mile to exceed our guest’s expectations, we all enjoy going above and beyond to please all of our clientele. The award-winning ESPA life at Corinthia is a stunning spa, with four floors of marble luxury offering seventeen treatment rooms, a state-of-the-art gym, separate men’s and women’s changing rooms, and a very relaxing Thermal Floor with swimming and vitality pools, an amphitheatre sauna, and steam room. All of our rooms are beautifully appointed and come complete with a range of complimentary amenities as standard, including Nespresso coffee machines, Pratesi bed linen, Frette dressing gowns and slipppers, 1Gb WiFi, separate marble bathrooms with rain showers and baths with built in LCD-TVs, and turndown treats to end the day. The extensive buffet breakfast in The Northall offers a huge range and variety of foods to please every palate from healthy fruit, cereal, and yoghurts to a Full English, and recently we have introduced a selection of Chinese Dim Sum for our Far Eastern guests. Thank you for your suggestions, we have forwarded your feedback to our Food & Beverage Director. We are very pleased you chose to spend a birthday stay with, and look forward to welcoming you for many more.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,069 in London
3,715 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,757 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,069 in London
791 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#14 of 1,069 in London
1,675 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#39 of 1,069 in London
4,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel London

Property: Corinthia Hotel London
Address: Whitehall Place, London SW1A 2BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel London 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
294 exceptionally designed and spacious bedrooms and suites, among the largest in London, offering outstanding views of the River Thames, London Eye and Trafalgar Square. A specialty seafood restaurant, a modern British restaurant, a destination bar and a world class Spa, ESPA Life at Corinthia. Corinthia Hotel London will offer guests a lavish retreat in timeless beauty in a historic yet vibrant location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Prestigia, Agoda, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Corinthia Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing