We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corinthia Hotel London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel London
Ranked #20 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here late summer with my kids ,we had heard good reviews about this hotel so thought we would try it.
Sadly we had terrible problems checking in , we were in London for 1 night only taking the kids for early dinner at 5pm and then a show.
We arrived at the hotel at 3.40pm , we understood that check in was 3pm so we did not foresee a problem , how ever our room was not ready and was actually not ready until 4.40pm in the end, 20 minutes before we needed to be out!
When we did get in the room it was boiling hot as the air con had been on full heat , we ended up with 10 minutes rushing about in the heat trying to get ready. The hotel did get one of its cars' to drive us to the restaurant which was a nice gesture but all in all our weekend was really spoilt by rushing around the whole evening seemed ruined for there on in.
When we were waiting for our room we were offered a free drink when I asked for a glass of wine we were told it only tea and coffee that would be complimentary.
I was quite surprise have stayed at other high end hotels in London and never had this before.
The family room its self was lovely , the kids loved the TV in the bath - What a shame we had so little time to enjoy the room!

Room Tip: make sure you ask for early check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank flowEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. I am very disappointed to read your feedback, especially as this is not up to our usual exemplary standards. I would welcome the opportunity to address your concerns, please may I invite you to contact me directly, when I may respond to you personally.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,063
    207
    52
    33
    20
See reviews for
396
973
103
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

An outstanding stay at a lavish venue. This is an establishment where customers are made to feel valued which is all too rare these days. Hotel is handily situated for the tube and close to major attrcations

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your weekend stay at Corinthia Hotel London. The outstanding building was designed by GA Design, who have combined the best of the original features with modern décor. The hotel is within walking distance of many of London’s major attractions in the cultural heart of the city. We aim to exceed every guest’s expectations, and we are delighted to read that you were made to feel valued. As a very valued guest we look forward to welcoming you once again on your next visit to London.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here in December for a Christmas getaway, we wanted to experience some cold weather (its warm where we live) and Christmas cheer, which London is full of! We picked the Corinthia based on reviews and what appeared to be a good location, and we are so happy we did.
The location can't be beat. We could walk practically everywhere, and the embankment tube is a very convenient line, we could go most places we wanted to go without transfer. We really didn't need to cab at all. This hotel is walking distance to Westminster Abbey, Parliament, Buckingham Palace, the London Eye, St. Paul's Cathedral, the Churchill War Rooms, most of the popular Theatres, Trafalgar Square, Sommerset House, tons of parks and museums, it was a bit far but we also had a nice walk to Harrods and the wonderful high end shopping over on Sloane street and Knightsbridge area.
The service at the hotel was outstanding all around. Breakfast was delivered every morning on time to our room with professionalism and a smile. I had many requests that the concierge happily fulfilled prior to our arrival including obtaining some very hard to get theater tickets, and multiple dinner reservations. Max and other concierge staff, thank you for all your help! The doormen were attentive, I never had to open the door, they always were there to greet us. And housekeeping was also very good. I appreciate the washcloth under makeup compacts and other toiletries, extra items of what was clearly being used the most, organization of the countertop, a clean pair of slippers each night, etc. I also want to add that they have excellent hairdryers, BaByliss Pro Hairdryers, so I didn't have to fry my fine hair with a standard hotel hairdryer.
The room and bathroom were a nice size, I thought they were larger by European hotel standards.
Lastly, if you stay here you MUST do the champagne tea. It was such a wonderful experience, I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting London, they must go here for tea. I wish we had time to do it more than once.
Overall we had a wonderful trip and this hotel was a big part of it, so thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mms9k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for posting a glowing review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. We can’t think of a lovelier time of year to say that over the Christmas period when the hotel and London is decorated in festive garlands and lights. The hotel is situated in the cultural heart of London, with many of London’s must-see sights within walking distance, next to both Embankment tube and Charing Cross rail stations for quick and easy access throughout the city, and over thirty West End theatres and opera houses within a mile radius, as well as world-class shopping within the vicinity. We are delighted you enjoyed our in-room dining facilities, it is a special treat to have breakfast delivered to your room. We are always most pleased to read of our staff going above and beyond to exceed our guest’s expectations, your compliments has been forwarded to the Concierge team. All of our rooms are larger than average for central London hotels, and come complete with many luxurious amenities as standard, including ESPA toiletries, fluffy slippers, and powerful Babyliss hairdryers; whilst the big underfloor heated marble bathrooms include separate rain showers and big bath tubs with built in LCD-TVs for the ultimate luxury. We very much appreciate your recommendation to take Afternoon Tea under the iconic Baccarat chandelier in The Lobby Lounge, especially with a glass of ice cold Laurent-Perrier Champagne. It sounds like you had the most delightful stay, and we cannot wait to offer you a warm Corinthia London welcome on your next visit.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

This was a weekend spa break. The hotel was simply outstanding throughout, from the quality of the room, the unfailingly courteous staff, the range and quality of the breakfast. The spa was unbelievable in its scale, ambience and is fully deserving of it's reputation as a must-visit.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for posting a glowing review of your weekend spa stay at Corinthia Hotel London. In just a sentence you have summed up the essence of Corinthia London, and many of the aspects that make it so very special, from the best quality fixtures and fittings, superb design, the award-winning ESPA Life at Corinthia spa, the extensive buffet breakfast in The Northall, but most of all the exemplary standards of service from the staff. We are delighted with your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

The Corinthia is perfect in every way! Our room was luxurious and large, the on-site restaurant was delicious and service was perfection in all aspects of the hotel. Two of our favorite room features were the huge walk-in closet and the fabulous shower. Location was also wonderful--very close to the Embankment tube stop, we were able to quickly reach our destinations. We rank Corinthia higher than most of the five-star hotels where we have stayed and look forward to returning whenever we visit London again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulandMaryT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for posting a glowing review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London, and for highlighting some of the aspects of the hotel that makes it a first amongst equals. All of our rooms are larger than average for central London hotels, many feature large walk-in closets, and all of them have big bathrooms with separate rain showers. The hotel is ideally located adjacent to Embankment tube and Charing Cross railway stations, within walking distance of many of London’s must-see sights, and with over thirty West End theatres and opera houses within a mile radius. We very much appreciate your kind recommendation and look forward to welcoming you on your return visit.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Went out to London with the family. Fantastic facilities and staff! Would visit again when next in
London! Excellent night sleep and topped off the weekend...........will visit again. Worth an extra night, we didn't want to leave!!!!!!!!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmstaylor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for posting a delightful and succinct review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. We really appreciate your kind comments and compliments and look forward to extending you a warm welcome on your return visit.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos
Level Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We had afternoon tea here sometime in November and it was a great experience.

I initially wanted to book the Ritz but it was fully booked. I checked references from The UK Tea Guild and i found that Corinthia ranked consistently amongst the top 10

Booking was easy and online. Confirmation was sent immediately.

For people who appreciate experiences like this, Corinthia is the place to be.

The quality of the tea, the ambiance and the service was fantastic. We started with hand crafted sandwich and moved on to more intricate luxurious tarts, cakes and cookies while our tea was refreshed continuously

By the time we were done, we knew that we couldn't eat dinner any longer! We were thoroughly satisfied

All this for how much? Just about £50 per person!

I strongly recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your Afternoon Tea in The Lobby Lounge at Corinthia Hotel London. We are delighted to read that you had a smooth and easy booking experience, and then we were able to exceed your expectations with the exemplary service and fabulous sandwiches, tea, and cakes. We think there is nowhere more lovely in London to take tea than under the iconic Baccarat chandelier in The Lobby Lounge, looking especially charming at the moment with festive decorations. We very much appreciate your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you in 2014.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#91 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,403 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#16 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#15 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel London

Property: Corinthia Hotel London
Address: Whitehall Place, London SW1A 2BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel London 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
294 exceptionally designed and spacious bedrooms and suites, among the largest in London, offering outstanding views of the River Thames, London Eye and Trafalgar Square. A specialty seafood restaurant, a modern British restaurant, a destination bar and a world class Spa, ESPA Life at Corinthia. Corinthia Hotel London will offer guests a lavish retreat in timeless beauty in a historic yet vibrant location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Corinthia Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing