We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problems with room but excellent management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel London
Ranked #14 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Booked fo 2 nights in a de luxe room last week. Selected hotel on basis of good reviews and proximity to Royal Festival hall during tube strike.
We were a bit disappointed in the size of the room - we thought it would be larger but the bathroom was big but the room and bathroom were nicely appointed in high quality furniture /fittings. However we had a string of problems with the lighting, first the bathroom lights would not switch off and after the technician had fixed those we found it had upset something else because when we went to bed the bedroom lights would not switch off. A technician was sent again but to put the bedroom lights off he had to disable the bathroom lights completely - a bit of a fiasco.
The following morning on the way to breakfast (which was excellent) I left a note for the Duty Manger detailing the problems , when we went back to the room after breakfast the Duty Manager (Mr Arbona) had already responded. He offered us an immediate move to a suite which he took us to within 5 minutes. When we returned to the suite after lunch there was champagne , chocolates and fruit waiting for us.
So I have given the Corinthia 5 out of 5 despite the lighting problems because of Mr Arbonas swift response as soon as he was made aware of the problem.
I can also say that we found all the staff extremely helpful and friendly - especially the doormen.The public areas of the hotel especially the lounge and indoor garden were both comfortable and elegant.

Room Tip: I dont recommend the first floor inward facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deeside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. We are very disappointed that in this instance we fell below our usual exemplary service standards, but delighted we were able to rescue the situation and provide alternative and upgraded accommodation. We do hope that you enjoyed your stay, and that this will not detract from any future stays, especially as the team at Corinthia London are very much looking forward to offering you a warm welcome on your next visit to London.

Kind regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,401 - 1,407 of 2,608 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

really great stay. loved the service, the location, the gym/spa, ate at the informal restaurant and loved my room. I chose the hotel because it was so convenient for my needs, was a great surprise... decor is a great balance btwn traditional and modern. very comfortable. also loved my bathroom. very long tubs! very pleasant stay and i will for sure go back on my next business trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank citymouse225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your business stay at Corinthia Hotel London. The hotel is ideal for the business traveller, offering many dedicated facilities to make the stay even more comfortable, especially the pre-bookable flexible check-in/check-out policy, the complimentary and fastest 1Gb Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, a Business Centre with meeting rooms, a twenty-four hour state of the art gym, and in-room amenities, as well as being adjacent to a central transport hub for quick and easy access around the city. We are delighted that you managed to experience so many of the excellent facilities the hotel has to offer, especially the award-winning ESPA Life spa, and the international restaurants serving seasonally sourced food, and world-wide wine lists. The hotel was designed by GA Designs, who have cleverly incorporated the best of the original features with modern fixtures and fittings to produce a hotel fit for the twenty-first century traveller. The team at Corinthia Hotel are very much looking forward to offering you a warm welcome on your next trip to London, whether it is for business or pleasure.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights with family during the Easter weekend. I booked the family offer which meant two rooms for the price of one, although the rate for the first one was about what one would pay in most other 5* hotels for two rooms! The rate did however include a free bottle of champagne and full breakfast for two adults and two children. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms were quiet which for such a central location is very remarkable. Service everywhere in the hotel was exceptional. Breakfast buffet but also a la carte was truly exceptional in terms of quality and freshness. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant on Saturday evening and the food was excellent. We had our Easter lunch in the hotel restaurant - superb. The service is excellent throughout the hotel. This hotel cannot be faulted. My only wish is for their rates to be lower so that we can afford to take more short breaks at the Corinthia.

Room Tip: Choose randomly and fear not. It's all above the average standard of rooms in most other 5* hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkWorldtravellerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. We love welcoming families, and have introduced many facilities to make their stay even more comfortable. We have increased the number of inter-connecting and twin-bedded rooms, children get special welcome gifts to play with during their stay, and take home with them as a memento, there is little person amenities in the rooms, such as dressing gowns, slippers, and toiletries, as well as turn-down treats, and dedicated pool times. The hotel is also ideal for family sight-seeing trips with many of London's must-see sights within walking distance. The hotel at Easter is also a rather special time to stay, with an Easter tree, an egg hunt, themed Afternoon Tea, and special Sunday brunch. We are delighted you managed to enjoy so many of the excellent facilities within the hotel, and experience the international restaurants serving the best of British seasonally-sourced food. Despite being in the heart of London the hotel is exceptionally quiet, situated away from the hustle and bustle of the main streets. Please sign up for our email offers via the website, and take advantage of the many promotions, so that we may have the opportunity to welcome you and your family to Corinthia London on many more occasions to come.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderfully located and lavishly decorated, I'm not new to this hotel but it'd be unfair not to mention for those choosing the first stay. Location and the building finishes are second to none. I'd dare say for the size, the best 5* hotel in London.

Really lovely pleasant staff across all outlets - and we did use them all, quite a bit! Superbly appointed bedrooms and cleverly executed bathrooms, all you'd expect from this market. Some wonderful little touches, from fantastic bar service through bespoke amenities.

So, why 4 out of 5? Little things. Only little but, to be honest, in this category (and let's be frank, at the prices charged), they should be none...
Toiletries - odd selection. If ESPA doesn't do dedicated bath salts, source elsewhere. If shower gel doubles up as bubble bath, declare on package (although two in one always a bit budget-y). Not great having a wonderful bath and having to use shower gel... Or no comb / toothbrush. I know they're flimsy. And not environmentally friendly. But it's just kind of expected at this level without having to request them (particularly for us numpties who think we packed properly only to discover these basics missing!)... I didn't (request any - I'm sure if I did they'd be brought up), but would have been nice to have found them in room...
Room service breakfast coffee: if a guest orders cappuccino / latte, is it too much to ask for a proper barista coffee rather than awful machine stuff? I know there are Nespresso machines in rooms but it was not what we ordered. The whole RS breakfast was in that tone actually. Coffee influenced or not. Scrambled eggs not great, bacon sandwich very dry... I know it's the hardest meal to get right and there'll always be little quirks every guest sees / wants differently, but worth a shot, Corinthia - as otherwise it'd be a straight 5 out of 5!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TanjaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. We agree with you, the location is ideal for both the business and leisure traveller, adjacent to a central transport hub, many of London's must-see sights on the doorstep, and over thirty West End theatres and opera houses within a mile radius, as well as international shopping destinations just a short journey away. The building was originally a grand hotel which has been beautifully restored by GA Design, who have cleverly incorporated the best of the original features with modern technology to produce a hotel that meets the needs of the twenty-first century traveller. We very much appreciate your kind compliments regarding the team, who pride themselves on exceeding every guest's expectations. Thank you for your feedback regarding the issues in your room, to clarify in every bathroom there is ESPA Life bath salts on the bath tub, and shower gel in the showers, and a comb by the sink, whereas toothbrushes are available by request. We are disappointed that in this instance your in-room dining experience failed to live up to our normal exemplary standards, and hope this did not mar your stay. We very much look forward to welcoming you on your return visit, when we may have the opportunity to restore your faith in Corinthia Hotel London.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My 6 year old daughter and I just returned from a 6 night stay at the Corinthia in London. This is my second visit to London and it was definitely more enjoyable than the first. Even though my first trip to London was good, I owe part of my great second visit to the Corinthia. The staff truly looks after EVERY single detail. Their concierge is world class as well. You will definitely be taken care of. I have traveled extensively, and I think this hotel may out rate any of the Four Seasons/Ritz Carlton hotels I have stayed at.

In addition to the great service, the hotel is located 2 minutes away from the Embankment Underground station. Ideal if you want to get out to see the city. Additionally, you are a short walk from Trafalgar Square, the London Eye and Covent Garden/Leicester Square (10 mins).

I appreciate the fact that the staff took the time to interact with my daughter and ensure she was comfortable and well cared for during her stay. We visited during her spring break from school. She had to return to school today. On the car ride to school she actually told me that she wished she was still in London at "the hotel." This coming from a kid who absolutely loves school.

Thank you Corinthia for an amazing experience. We are already looking to come back to your amazing city and equally amazing property at the end of summer. Keep room 103 open for us!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a charming review of your stay at Corinthia Hotel London. We love welcoming families to the hotel, and offer an array of complimentary facilities to make their stay more comfortable, including welcoming gifts, in-room amenities such as Burt's Bee's toiletries, children's dressing-gowns and slippers, dedicated pool times, and children's menus in the restaurants. The hotel is also ideally located for the family leisure trip with many of London's must-do activities on the doorstep, including the London Eye and Aquarium, cruise boats down the River Thames to Greenwich, and many West End theatres showing great children's shows such as Matilda and Charlie & the Chocolate Factory. However we are always most pleased to read great feedback regarding the team, we are delighted you appreciated the attention to detail and exemplary service, and we all look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back to Corinthia Hotel on your next visit to London.

Kind regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Corinthia on the 26th April which will now always be a special day, as my partner and I got engaged! Fantastic stay, absolutely beautiful room. Forgot to mention to the hotel that we got engaged in the madness of it all! A perfect 5 star hotel in every sense. We're already dreaming of our next stay at the Corinthia!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lewwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your engagement at Corinthia Hotel London. We are absolutely delighted that the hotel had such a profound effect, and offer our sincere congratulations to both of you. We only hope that you will choose to share you honeymoon with us too, and all the many special occasions and celebrations to come. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when we can offer our congratulations and best wishes in person to you both.

Kind Regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for the first time and it was a superb stay. Great hotel and location,fabulous rooms and top class food & cocktails ! Great ambience and location can't be beaten. Staff are very nice and overall its a real 5 star experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewDixon, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your five star stay at Corinthia Hotel London. The location is superb, with immediate access to a central transport hub and within walking distance of many of London's must-see sights. All of our rooms are larger than average for central London hotels, and have been exquisitely designed with modern amenities to meet the demands of the twenty-first century traveller. We are very pleased you experienced the fine dining facilities in our international restaurants, and enjoyed the bespoke cocktails from one of our four bars. We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations as a first time guest, and look forward to welcoming you for your second stay soon.

Kind regards, Matthew Dixon, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,078 in London
2,880 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,078 in London
1,832 reviews
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#17 of 1,078 in London
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,078 in London
4,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel London

Address: Whitehall Place, London SW1A 2BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range: £381 - £868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel London 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
294 exceptionally designed and spacious bedrooms and suites, among the largest in London, offering outstanding views of the River Thames, London Eye and Trafalgar Square. A specialty seafood restaurant, a modern British restaurant, a destination bar and a world class Spa, ESPA Life at Corinthia. Corinthia Hotel London will offer guests a lavish retreat in timeless beauty in a historic yet vibrant location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corinthia Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing