We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surroundings and comfort, but a little pricy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London
Ranked #212 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Very comfortable hotel, although a little awkward to navigate as a slightly unusual layout.

Great staff, without question the happiest bunch you could hope for.

Walking distance from Euston station.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xSuperMotardx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel just after the opening.
We have now been operating for a bit over a year and would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Please feel free to contact Christina Huethwohl on 02078413542 or christina.huethwohl@renaissancehotels.com if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Kevin Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,140 - 3,146 of 3,363 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2011

Stayed here for a 3 nights! I normally stay at Marriot hotels if I can since I am a gold member and normally get some extra perks! This hotel was great! there are a couple of details that need to improve since the hotel just opened but it can only get better. I stayed in the new part of the hotel and the room was clean and neat, not amazing, but exactly what you expect from a large hotel chain, you know you cant go wrong normally. The windows dont open because it is law in London, not because they had a choice. When I arrived I was very well greeted, they only had 1 room of the 2 we had reserved, but we were offered a shower and access to the spa if we wanted to relax before the room was ready. the chambers club, which was the concierge level for Gold members was great! right next to the Booking office which is the bar, restaurant they have in the lobby. great atmosphere and the food was awesome!!
overall great location, you have st pancras station right next to you so you have access to everywhere in London, we went to Wembley stadium direct from our hotel! you cant beat that!!
highly recommended! look for the promotions on the website, I stayed 3 night and paid for 2 since I was using my Amex card!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank panajoe81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel just after the opening.
We have now been operating for a bit over a year and would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Please feel free to contact Christina Huethwohl on 02078413542 or christina.huethwohl@renaissancehotels.com if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Kevin Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I stayed at the hotel for one night for a friend's wedding in London. I arrived tired, missing my family and too early for check in. The staff, especially Manisha, were incredible accomodating and made me feel right at home. Just waiting in the lobby for a room was a treat. The architecture, design and floral arrangementswere truly spectacular. In fact, it may be one of the most extraordinary buildings I have ever visited. As the hotel was new, they were still working out some kinks like a power outage in the pool and card keys that needed to be re-coded. That said, staff was great about acknowldedging the problems and trying to accomodate guests. The only real problem with the hotel from my experience was that I didn't want to leave the hotel to sightsee :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathSnide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel just after the opening.
We have now been operating for a bit over a year and would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Please feel free to contact Christina Huethwohl on 02078413542 or christina.huethwohl@renaissancehotels.com if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Kevin Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Let me be plain at the outset. This hotel is situated in a beautiful and apparently very well-restored building. It is extremely convenient for Eurostar or Kings Cross. The standard of the room was very high. However, my room (the least expensive, but hardly cheap at £390 inc VAT per night, room only) was dull and characterless and could have been a room in any premium chain hotel, the public spaces are extraordinarily noisy and dinful and the service is superficial and impersonal. This was not the special treat that the price and building promised.

Booking. It is impossible to book a room with a person who is situated at the hotel. One has to deal with "Central Reservations" which is a call centre in America. This is a poor start because it so impersonal. The booking agent has no more information about the hotel than one can glean from its website. She does not know which rooms are particularly pleasant. She can say nothing about the feel of the hotel. She is not part of the hotel's character. She is the voice of the faceless, worldwide, giant Marriott chain. The thing about chains is, they're all very well on a slapper's ankle but they bode for a poor experience when it comes to hotels and restaurants.

Arrival. The hotel was very busy. It is not obvious if one comes from the platform where the reception is. There was no confident, assured welcome. The operatives displayed no warmth. They could not depart from the script. All of the staff are foreign and most seem to be very young.

The room. Spacious, high quality fitted furniture, comfortable if rather soft bed. Very quiet for the location. Ultra clean. But not special, not individual, not characterful. The furniture is fitted, not loose. There are no interesting ornaments or nick nacks. The decor is bland. The window is tiny and cannot be opened. It is air conditioned and over heats if one turns off that dreadful device; it whirs away if one leaves it on. There is an hideous great big television set, so big that it cannot be hurled out of the porthole window. Frankly, it's a posh Marriott hotel room.

Bathroom. Ultra clean. No separate shower; bath too short for me to lie down in. Fancy modern toiletries. A button had fallen off the bath/shower tap. Posh Marriott bathroom.

Public areas. I tried the bar and the lobby. Insufficient attention has been paid to acoustics. Because of the hard surfaces and large spaces, these rooms are filled with loud, harsh, hard din. It is most unpleasant. There is no peaceful sitting room. There are no intimate, relaxed spaces. The prices in the bar are extortionate. £6.75 for a pint of ordinary beer! £8.00 for a pint of alcohol-free beer! It was served in a tankard, however, for which lovely touch I can just about forget the price.

I booked this room for a treat. That is what I was expecting for my £390. I was sorely disappointed. This is a very good hotel, but beyond its public spaces, which are unpleasant to use, it is not special, not individual, not a treat. It is a posh Marriott hotel. The comically expensive drinks left a sour taste. I would have been delighted with the place at, say £250 a night, but at this price there has to be something extra.

Next time I fancy a treat, I will stay at the Covent Garden Hotel or Charlotte Street Hotel. Actually, next time, I will just go home. I guess if you like chains, this is the place for you: but it is no home from home.

Room Tip: Pay more money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank JJRodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel just after the opening.
We have now been operating for a bit over a year and would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Please feel free to contact Christina Huethwohl on 02078413542 or christina.huethwohl@renaissancehotels.com if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Kevin Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

My wife and I decided to splash-out and have a couple of nights at the St Pancras, to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary. I am glad we did, because the level of service was EXCEPTIONAL. From the moment that we arrived to the moment we left, we received smiles and courteous service from the helpful staff; and I congratulate Marriott for the well-trained workforce. This was the first time that we had stayed at such a heavily-restored hotel, and we were impressed by the amount of effort that had put into returning it to its original Victorian grandeur whilst, at the same time, allowing modern and well-equipped rooms to be provided. I only have three criticisms of the hotel - firstly, many of the rooms look out onto the station roof; secondly, the stairwells and rear lift (at the back of the hotel) appeared to have been missed-off the cleaning rosta; and finally, the seats in the Gilbert Scott restaurant were quite uncomfortable. However, these were fairly trvial matters given that our overall impression of the hotel was very good, and the staff are clearly eager to provide their guests with the best possible experience - which is really important when you are celebrating a special event.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view (not station-side).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nottsnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel just after the opening.
We have now been operating for a bit over a year and would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Please feel free to contact Christina Huethwohl on 02078413542 or christina.huethwohl@renaissancehotels.com if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Kevin Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We wanted to try out how this incredible building would work as a hotel, so we booked a Barlow Room with access to the Club Lounge (about £390 incl VAT). The room was spacious, nicely furnished, with a view on to the British Library. Soundproofing was perfect, subject to the faint hum of the aircon. Big bathroom (shower, no tub) was well fitted and worked. There was good coffee/tea making equipment, robes, slippers, the lot. We went down to the club room for a drink and snacks. Very pleasant lounge; snacks overweight on sweet stuff, but a few tasty nibbles to go with the wine. Returned after a fine concert at nearby King's Place, hoping to get something to eat. Club lounge was shut. The large and stylish Booking Office bar/restaurant only offered a short snack menu, which we thought would be inadequate. But a charming waitress took the trouble to convince us that there were some really nice items on the menu, so we ordered. She was right; the food was tasty and the portions were large. Her wine recommendation was apt and we enjoyed our supper.
Breakfast in the club lounge was a so-so buffet, with a few, sorry looking, hot options and good cold cuts and breads. Make sure you ask for a pot of coffee,to be left on the table; otherwise, it comes as cups, which take forever to refill.
It's worth asking for help to find the magnificent old (totally refurbished) parts of the building like the Grand Staircase, the Ladies' Smoking Room etc.
Apart from the architecture, the outstanding thing about this hotel is the quality and smiling helpfulness of the staff in all departments. They seem to come from everywhere except England, but all speak excellent English.
No, it isn't cheap, but we left smiling.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Witshub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel just after the opening.
We have now been operating for a bit over a year and would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Please feel free to contact Christina Huethwohl on 02078413542 or christina.huethwohl@renaissancehotels.com if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Kevin Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Review St Pancras Hotel now Renaissance
Thank goodness for John Betjeman other wise politicians would have demolished
for hypermarket
The building and staircases are magnificent sadly my Nikon did not take
very good photos.So recommend look at web site. Better still stay a night
they will never build hotels like this building any more Old bit is stunning
We were in the new bit
Our room had entrancing view of side entrance of British Library!
Size adequate
Naturally excellent pillows and bed for which Marriott are renown
Furnishing fittings geared for corporate clients etc
usual accoutrements TV size of small Soho flat - hair dryer iron/ board
cheap slippers Bathrobe looked like waffle cotton.
Bathroom very small no bidet washbasin small little depth
toiletries instantly forgettable M & S?
Air conditioning oppressive too warm
Cost of Room around £300 ? VAT? Bill incomprehensible!
Breakfast in old Booking Office.
Prix Qualite Rapport, PQR staff excellent everyone gracious greeted one
all hours. funny set up have tea in reception place . So had on station.
Otherwise all adequate to good, Through out hotel is carpeted specially pattern
cream coffee colour Shows every foot print & now stained.
Great error on part of buying dept thus 4.75 star not 5 apart from staff & old bit
Would I stay there again only if I were going Eurostar very early/late
- studying at B L or- some one else picking up the tab.
Otherwise would go to Premier Inn round the corner for much less.
Spend difference in Marcus Brasserie. Review coming
Will Hotel do well ? With location difficult to see how not a very sound investment.
Regmaiche

Room Tip: Believe inside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regmaiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel just after the opening.
We have now been operating for a bit over a year and would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Please feel free to contact Christina Huethwohl on 02078413542 or christina.huethwohl@renaissancehotels.com if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Kevin Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#138 of 1,075 in London
2,543 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#272 of 1,075 in London
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London

Address: Euston Road, London NW1 2AR, England (Formerly St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £213 - £467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hailed as London's most romantic building, the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel is widely recognised as one of city's greatest Victorian landmarks. The 245-room hotel now boasts not only one of the most majestic staircases in Britain, but two bars & restaurants, a spa, a gentleman's grooming salon as well as some of the largest and most beautiful suites in the city. Our 5 star hotel is located at St Pancras International Station and is brimming with a fairytale facade that Sir George Gilbert Scott fashioned for the Midland Grand. Our hotel earns the ability to exceed every expectation while blending Victorian splendor with modern style and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing