We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff amazing atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London
Ranked #200 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2011

St Pancras Renaissance London Hotel- amazing view when you have a look from the main entrance. Check- in was really nice and all people welcome me warmly and friendly.The room was excellent and the luggage service fast and safe.
I met there for a friend´s birthday to have lunch in the Booking Office Bar, where I received great service and we had a great time there. The food was delicious, great cocktails and the service staff lovely, especially Maira, she´s a lovely girl who took care about all our needs and spend a few minutes to show us the Grand Staircase, which is well worth seeing and well refurbished.
In the evening I visited the Spa Area where you are welcomed by great staff and I really relaxed and enjoyed an amazing massage.
I do really recommend this hotel and was absolutely fine.
Thanks for a good time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelstatement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel just after the opening.
We have now been operating for a bit over a year and would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Please feel free to contact Christina Huethwohl on 02078413542 or christina.huethwohl@renaissancehotels.com if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Kevin Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,204 - 3,210 of 3,436 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2011

Lovely building, but the indifference of the staff - from the manager downwards - is breathtaking for a five-star hotel.

When I arrived no doorman to greet you, long lines to check in, room booking was wrong, no attempt to find the requested double-bedded room, gave up on the Booking Office restaurant which was in pandemonium with diners calling out for service, etc. Duty Manager gave me bare minimum of help grudgingly (and I wasn't complaining badly or loudly, just asked could he help).

I resolved never to stay again, but also wrote to the manager to explain what happened in hope he could make it better for others. My letter - two weeks on - has not received any response.

I know five-star service, and this isn't it (nor anywhere near). A dreadful, insulting, expensive experience.

Beware - they don't deserve your trade. There is better value nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SunnyDay007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel just after the opening.
We have now been operating for a bit over a year and would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Please feel free to contact Christina Huethwohl on 02078413542 or christina.huethwohl@renaissancehotels.com if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Kevin Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Many many years ago I got access to the old Midland hotel when some attempt at refurbishment was going on, and told myself I'd treat myself to a stay there whenever it got finsihed. Which i did last month, but was underwhelmed.
I had prepaid for a deluxe double, but found we'd been given a standard twin. Reception did sort us out a double (Queen in the Barlow Rooms with a view of the British Library car park) but when I queired the type of room was told "all our rooms are deluxe." Which of course they're not.
Hotel info was very scanty in the room - lots on Gilbert Scott but nothing about checkout times, spa facilities etc. In fact the only customer service I remember was the offer of a turn down service 5 seconds after we got in the room. No offer of morning papers etc.
The Booking Office bar had a nice ambience (batter than when it was a booking office) but very strange cocktails. (Elderflowers floating on the top in a copper cup? - a new one on me).
The restaurant and front of the hotel are lavish, and we did get a look round the grand staircase etc, but under the watchful eye of a staff member. Not sure what we thought we were going to do, - unbolt and nick a few of the balustrades perhaps.
In spite of being prepaid via Laterooms i was charged VAT at checkout but I hope this will be refunded. It was very expensive bearing in mind the only way the room differed from any other bland chain was the size of the TV screen. Otherwise, apart from the refurbished Edwardian parts it felt like an airport hotel.
I can only give this hotel two stars because of how far it fell short of its pretensions; that, and the cost - just under 400 GBP with no breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gtrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel just after the opening.
We have now been operating for a bit over a year and would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Please feel free to contact Christina Huethwohl on 02078413542 or christina.huethwohl@renaissancehotels.com if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Kevin Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Very comfortable hotel, although a little awkward to navigate as a slightly unusual layout.

Great staff, without question the happiest bunch you could hope for.

Walking distance from Euston station.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xSuperMotardx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel just after the opening.
We have now been operating for a bit over a year and would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Please feel free to contact Christina Huethwohl on 02078413542 or christina.huethwohl@renaissancehotels.com if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Kevin Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Stayed here for a 3 nights! I normally stay at Marriot hotels if I can since I am a gold member and normally get some extra perks! This hotel was great! there are a couple of details that need to improve since the hotel just opened but it can only get better. I stayed in the new part of the hotel and the room was clean and neat, not amazing, but exactly what you expect from a large hotel chain, you know you cant go wrong normally. The windows dont open because it is law in London, not because they had a choice. When I arrived I was very well greeted, they only had 1 room of the 2 we had reserved, but we were offered a shower and access to the spa if we wanted to relax before the room was ready. the chambers club, which was the concierge level for Gold members was great! right next to the Booking office which is the bar, restaurant they have in the lobby. great atmosphere and the food was awesome!!
overall great location, you have st pancras station right next to you so you have access to everywhere in London, we went to Wembley stadium direct from our hotel! you cant beat that!!
highly recommended! look for the promotions on the website, I stayed 3 night and paid for 2 since I was using my Amex card!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank panajoe81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel just after the opening.
We have now been operating for a bit over a year and would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Please feel free to contact Christina Huethwohl on 02078413542 or christina.huethwohl@renaissancehotels.com if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Kevin Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I stayed at the hotel for one night for a friend's wedding in London. I arrived tired, missing my family and too early for check in. The staff, especially Manisha, were incredible accomodating and made me feel right at home. Just waiting in the lobby for a room was a treat. The architecture, design and floral arrangementswere truly spectacular. In fact, it may be one of the most extraordinary buildings I have ever visited. As the hotel was new, they were still working out some kinks like a power outage in the pool and card keys that needed to be re-coded. That said, staff was great about acknowldedging the problems and trying to accomodate guests. The only real problem with the hotel from my experience was that I didn't want to leave the hotel to sightsee :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathSnide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel just after the opening.
We have now been operating for a bit over a year and would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Please feel free to contact Christina Huethwohl on 02078413542 or christina.huethwohl@renaissancehotels.com if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Kevin Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Let me be plain at the outset. This hotel is situated in a beautiful and apparently very well-restored building. It is extremely convenient for Eurostar or Kings Cross. The standard of the room was very high. However, my room (the least expensive, but hardly cheap at £390 inc VAT per night, room only) was dull and characterless and could have been a room in any premium chain hotel, the public spaces are extraordinarily noisy and dinful and the service is superficial and impersonal. This was not the special treat that the price and building promised.

Booking. It is impossible to book a room with a person who is situated at the hotel. One has to deal with "Central Reservations" which is a call centre in America. This is a poor start because it so impersonal. The booking agent has no more information about the hotel than one can glean from its website. She does not know which rooms are particularly pleasant. She can say nothing about the feel of the hotel. She is not part of the hotel's character. She is the voice of the faceless, worldwide, giant Marriott chain. The thing about chains is, they're all very well on a slapper's ankle but they bode for a poor experience when it comes to hotels and restaurants.

Arrival. The hotel was very busy. It is not obvious if one comes from the platform where the reception is. There was no confident, assured welcome. The operatives displayed no warmth. They could not depart from the script. All of the staff are foreign and most seem to be very young.

The room. Spacious, high quality fitted furniture, comfortable if rather soft bed. Very quiet for the location. Ultra clean. But not special, not individual, not characterful. The furniture is fitted, not loose. There are no interesting ornaments or nick nacks. The decor is bland. The window is tiny and cannot be opened. It is air conditioned and over heats if one turns off that dreadful device; it whirs away if one leaves it on. There is an hideous great big television set, so big that it cannot be hurled out of the porthole window. Frankly, it's a posh Marriott hotel room.

Bathroom. Ultra clean. No separate shower; bath too short for me to lie down in. Fancy modern toiletries. A button had fallen off the bath/shower tap. Posh Marriott bathroom.

Public areas. I tried the bar and the lobby. Insufficient attention has been paid to acoustics. Because of the hard surfaces and large spaces, these rooms are filled with loud, harsh, hard din. It is most unpleasant. There is no peaceful sitting room. There are no intimate, relaxed spaces. The prices in the bar are extortionate. £6.75 for a pint of ordinary beer! £8.00 for a pint of alcohol-free beer! It was served in a tankard, however, for which lovely touch I can just about forget the price.

I booked this room for a treat. That is what I was expecting for my £390. I was sorely disappointed. This is a very good hotel, but beyond its public spaces, which are unpleasant to use, it is not special, not individual, not a treat. It is a posh Marriott hotel. The comically expensive drinks left a sour taste. I would have been delighted with the place at, say £250 a night, but at this price there has to be something extra.

Next time I fancy a treat, I will stay at the Covent Garden Hotel or Charlotte Street Hotel. Actually, next time, I will just go home. I guess if you like chains, this is the place for you: but it is no home from home.

Room Tip: Pay more money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank JJRodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel just after the opening.
We have now been operating for a bit over a year and would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.
Please feel free to contact Christina Huethwohl on 02078413542 or christina.huethwohl@renaissancehotels.com if we can be of any assistance.

Kind regards,
Kevin Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#140 of 1,077 in London
2,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#16 of 1,077 in London
541 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London

Address: Euston Road, London NW1 2AR, England (Formerly St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £184 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hailed as London's most romantic building, the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel is widely recognised as one of city's greatest Victorian landmarks. The 245-room hotel now boasts not only one of the most majestic staircases in Britain, but two bars & restaurants, a spa, a gentleman's grooming salon as well as some of the largest and most beautiful suites in the city. Our 5 star hotel is located at St Pancras International Station and is brimming with a fairytale facade that Sir George Gilbert Scott fashioned for the Midland Grand. Our hotel earns the ability to exceed every expectation while blending Victorian splendor with modern style and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing