We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Historic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London
Ranked #194 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Elegant and Historic Hotel”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Located within the St. Pancras station, it is one of the most historic and interesting hotels that I have stayed in. Could be a little confusing to find because unless you come from the very front entrance, going thought the train station, there is nothing really to show you where the hotel is located. There is a very nice restaurant and bar which is attached the the hotel where breakfast is served. We stayed in a suite, which is on the first floor. The ceilings of the hotel are really high, probabably around 20 to 25 feet. Our room looked on to the train station where the trains pulled in but it was very quick and you could never tell that this is where the hotel is located. The hallway is very picturesque as well as the grand staircase inside the hotel. We had wireless service inside the room and the hotel service is excellent. We asked for a bucket of ice and it was brought to our room in three minutes. The huge bathtub was separate from the sink and toilet which was nice. We had a treat waiting for us when we got back to the room late at night. The lobby is very spacious and has lots of seating. Excellent stay and this historic hotel.

Room Tip: Less rooms on the higher floors. Rooms closer to the elevators, otherwise you may have a long walk t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gligac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed our Historic hotel and it was one of the most interesting you have ever stayed in! Were you able to make the most of our Historical Tours? Run by Blue Badge guides, the 1.5 hours tours are complimentary to hotel guests and give a wonderful insight into the hotel's history. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,761
    879
    350
    146
    83
See reviews for
534
1,433
151
608
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed for a wedding in June, the quality of the hotel is outstanding. Fantastic breakfast and a good swimming pool.

What lets the hotel down is the staff sadly.

The check in experience was poor. Disorganised and more like a post office than a top hotel.

Also the bar staff we less than welcoming. We stayed the night before the wedding and the staff couldn't be bothered to acknowledge us even though we wanted drinks. They failed to help find us a table to sit at and we ended up perching in the lobby. The same was at breakfast where there is a really strange mix of chairs in the restaurant which is in no way conducive for a breakfast especially with elderly people in our party.

The time of the wedding when we were suited and booted, the staff suddenly showed interest (maybe a preconception that suited people have money rather than just people in shirts and trousers??) sadly the damage was done the night before and the impression that we were not welcome had been made!

Hopefully this hotel can improve the seating for breakfast and the quality of staff in the bar and their check in experience. The rest is of a much higher quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Southamptonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am so pleased that overall you found the quality of the hotel to be outstanding. I am glad you were able to make the most of the pool in the spa and that you enjoyed a fantastic breakfast. However, I am very concerned to hear about your experience with staff. I can assure you this is a very unusual comment and our team of associates is often highlighted as one of the hotel’s strengths. Regardless, if you are able to contact my Director of Operations on Edward.white@renaissancehotels.com he would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback in more detail offer you a personal apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just got back from popping into the bar of the St Pancras Hotel for coffee. first impression is of the amazing architecture, ironwork, columns, painted walls, tiled floors - beautifully restored. What a shame that the reception bar had a dirty carpet, dirty chairs, the coffee took ages to come and when it did arrive it was lukewarm - and expensive, of course - we expected it to be costly but did not imagine such grubby surroundings to drink it in.

Room Tip: We did not stay the night here so cannot comment on the room, but would suggest one that does not fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyeccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear you did not feel your experience in Hansom Lounge was value for money. As a 5 star central London hotel, we believe the product and service we offer is very competitive within the market. Whilst we don’t have a coffee shop outlet in the hotel, the close proximity to the station gives guests access to a range of food/drink outlets. Whilst a discretionary service charge is added, as is common practice in hotels across the world, it is very much up to the customer if they wish to pay it. I am sorry if this wasn't made clear during your visit and do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed here on business for a couple of nights as it was close to the Eurostar Station and I was travelling to Paris. I arrived at 12.30 noon after a long night travelling long haul - I was told that the room would not be ready until 4pm but that I could change and shower in the spa. This is really not good enough. I realise that the guaranteed check in time is 4pm - but this is extremely late for a tired guest who has been travelling all night. At check in there were many people complaining about allsorts - which was really off putting and did not set up the stay well - once I told the trainee receptionist that I was prepared to cancel my stay and find another hotel (this hotel was GBP 400+ per night so hardly cheap!) she was a little more responsive.

However, the room when finally allocated was a fine - a reasonable size and quiet for a busy hotel. The restaurant was excellent, a Marcus Wareing product and fabulous. great service, wonderful food and lively atmosphere.

The spa was a treat too. So overall stay, OK. Value for money and made to feel special? Not really. I will stick to my usual haunts whilst in London next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience in the Spa and restaurant. However I am sorry to hear you found that the check in aspect of your stay was not to the same level. As you mention, our official check in time, when all rooms are guaranteed to be ready is at 4pm. We do our very best to accommodate guests who arrive earlier than this and this is most effective when we hear from a guest in advance. I do hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

178860083

If you decide to stay at an hotel like this then you know your are going to get shafted. I had no choice really as I had to take my disabled father on a train journey from St Pancras early in the morning. So we knew we were in for a shafting. And boy did they shaft! We arrived in the afternoon and wanted afternoon tea. They don't have a coffee shop but you can have tea and snacks in the lobby. OK fine. Then they add a 'lobby service charge' on top of the service charge and VAT.and it goes on and on like this. Any way that they can find to squeeze another penny out of you they will. So, if you want to stay there,lay back, open your wallet wide, think of England and prepare to be well and truly shafted!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inholms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, General Manager at St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear you did not feel your experience in Hansom Lounge was value for money. As a 5 star central London hotel, we believe the product and service we offer is very competitive within the market. Whilst we don’t have a coffee shop outlet in the hotel, the close proximity to the station gives guests access to a range of food/drink outlets. Whilst a discretionary service charge is added, as is common practice in hotels across the world, it is very much up to the customer if they pay it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

It's not to often that you stay at a hotel that has the history that the St. Pancras Renaissance has and on top of it all (has its own "Tour")! The food was great along with the selection of drinks & beer. The kids liked that it was used as a backdrop to a Harry Potter film and that King's Crossing was next door - another Harry Potter connection 9 & 3/4's! Was easy to get on the Tube to connect to all of the downtown London area and it is the home of the Euro Star to connect to Parris! We stayed in one of the new rooms that were added to the hotel. If you only need 1 room then it would be worth staying in one of the older Chamber rooms! The staff was great and very professional! Would recomend it and stay again! Cheers!

Room Tip: Reserve early or you will pay top dollar to stay here! We stayed on the 3rd floor across from the Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyCat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Rooms vary in size and design but all seem comfortable with most every convenience accounted for (everything except cable tv worked). Slightly short staffed at times, but when available, great can do/ satisfy first attitude. This is a better property for business than family visits and restaurants and lounges are hopping with deal makers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestEastOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#129 of 1,068 in London
2,410 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#258 of 1,068 in London
1,985 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#254 of 1,068 in London
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London

Property: St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London
Address: Euston Road, London NW1 2AR, England (Formerly St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hailed as London's most romantic building, the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel is widely recognised as one of city's greatest Victorian landmarks. The 245-room hotel now boasts not only one of the most majestic staircases in Britain, but two bars & restaurants, a spa, a gentleman's grooming salon as well as some of the largest and most beautiful suites in the city. Our 5 star hotel is located at St Pancras International Station and is brimming with a fairytale facade that Sir George Gilbert Scott fashioned for the Midland Grand. Our hotel earns the ability to exceed every expectation while blending Victorian splendor with modern style and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing