We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have nothing to do with these people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Point A Hotel, London Westminster
Ranked #417 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Have nothing to do with these people”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed here because I had to - it is a short walk from the Imperial War Museum where I was due to be doing some filming early the following morning. Nothing but dire necessity would induce to set foot inside this or any other branch of this chain ever again.

I know that a top floor room is always going to be pokey - this one barely fitted round the bed. But for £90 a night I expect to be able to use the television without having to pay a supplement - this is a monstrous development I have seen beginning to take hold in hotels and it should be stopped now.

But there is worse. Your £90 does not even cover a TOWEL or some SOAP. There is a basin, a shower, a floor mat and that's it. If you wish to have a shower, or even just wash your hands, you have to pay extra. Anyone who does not think it part of their task to welcome a guest with the basics for washing does not deserve to be in the hotel trade.

I mentioned this to the nice young people on the desk. They looked suitably embarrassed - after all, what could they say? - and one of them did loyally trot out the company line that this is a "new concept" in hospitality. It's not a new concept; it's a very old concept. It's called Greed.

Until these people have learned the basics of hospitality I would strongly warn anyone looking for somewhere to stay to have nothing whatever to do with this company.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SeanLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurses, Guest Service Supervisor at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Sean,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay in Tune Hotel Westminster.

We appreciate both, positive and negative feedbacks as it enables us to find areas of improvement. However, I was truly sorry to read that your stay was not satisfactory and that we did not live up to your expectations.

Our rooms are space efficient but include the essentials for a good night's sleep, including 5 stars hypnos mattresses and incredible power showers in our en-suite bathrooms.

Our "pay-as-you-use" system helps to make your stay with us even more efficient. It allows our guests to design their own stay by only paying for the things they know they will use.

Once again, I am sincerely sorry you did not have an enjoyable experience with us and I hope we will have the possibility to welcome you back.


Kind regards,
Mari Carmen - Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    866
    359
    104
    75
See reviews for
186
1,005
160
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
west midlands uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Backpackers will celebrate (if they can fit their back pack in the room that is), because its cleaner and more modern than a hostel. Families on a budget will tolerate it, simply because its cheap. Everybody else will probably wish they had paid a few more pounds for a proper hotel room.

You can't argue with the location of this place but most normal people will be shocked by the cupboard like rooms and the concept of paying extra for some very, very basic necessities - I suspect if they could charge you an extra 5 quid for oxygen they would. The owners might call it space efficient with an opportunity to tailor your experience, but I'd just say its so no frills that they almost forgot to include a room. And on a serious note, if you are person of a larger build, these rooms probably won't be suitable for you. I am a normal sized individual and could only just turn around in my floor space.

Life's too short to spend a night in a deviously priced cupboard, if you can, pay a little more and bypass staying in a room that is smaller than a prison cell.

Room Tip: Look for rooms in an alternative post code
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank norrisbeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurses, Guest Relations Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Tune Hotel Westminster. I welcome all the feedback both positive and negative in order to improve ourselves. I am truly disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. We admit that our rooms are space-efficient; therefore we are honest and upfront about the sizes on our website and through any queries to avoid any surprises upon the arrival.

As we are a limited services hotel, our goal is to offer basics for a good night’s sleep as most London`s visitors simply need a comfortable bed and a clean, safe environment to rest at the end of the day.

Despite these comments, it is still good to know that you found the hotel clean, modern and thank you for mentioning that. To make up the room size, we always focus on areas such as customer service, cleanliness and location; therefore I do hope you will give Tune Hotels a second chance.

Kind regards
Selenge
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

As many others have said in their reviews, the entire room is filled up by the bed. I figured we would be out of the room most of the time so it wouldn't matter if the room was a little small, but when we got there it was impossible for my friend and me to have our luggages even open at the same time because there was so little floor space. Another thing was that our AC did not seem to work very well. Even on the lowest setting (14 degrees I believe), our room never felt cold even though the fan was always on.

On the bright side, one thing we learned when we got there was that since we booked through Expedia we got free wifi access, whereas booking on their site means you would have to pay for wifi separately. And no, we did not pay extra for our room as compared to booking through the Tune Hotel site, so the wifi, hairdryer, and a whole list of other amenities were completely free for us that they said normally aren't (so keep Expedia in mind if you're booking this hotel!). Overall, we were happy with our choice to stay here-- the room was incredibly clean and the staff was always very approachable. It is also right across the street from a tube station and only a short walk from Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, and the London Eye.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurses, Guest Relations Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. Guest feedback is very important for us, in order to improve the areas that we need to. Tune Hotels operate a limited service concept and our rooms have got indeed space-efficient features in order to offer the best prices to our guests. Furthermore we concentrate on values like cleanliness, central location, and customer service which you have highlighted already and thank you for your kind words.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Selenge
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Yes, the rooms are tiny. But they have all that is necessary. Nothing more. You're 10mn away from Westminster Bridge and the centre of London. The location is obviously the best feature of the hotel; the room is correct, clean, quiet, the bed is confortable even though you can't go around it ! If you're looking for a cheap hotel just for sleeping and be close to the centre, this hotel is great !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laure-anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurses, Guest Relations Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review praising our hotel. . It is a delight to read that Tune Hotel Westminster was a great choice for your trip, and you enjoyed our central location, as well as the cleanliness level and comfortable bed. I look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Selenge
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked this place thru an online booking. We stayed here for two nights. We chose this for its location; very close to a lot of the attractions we wanted to see and on tube line. It was a very clean and well furnished room. Shower was very good and we had AC. The biggest problem was that it was tiny. The bed took up the whole room and my husband had to crawl over me to get in or out of the bed. The bathroom was very tiny also. We arrived before their check-in time of 3 PM and were told that if we wanted to check in early we would have to pay more money to do so (we were there about 2:15 ish). They have special fees for many things (charging for hair dryer (2 Pounds), new towels (2 Pounds), television (4 Pounds for 24 hours), wi-fi (up to 12 Pounds) In room safe (3 Pounds), Adaptor for plugs (5 pounds) and other things you can also purchase. Because we went thru a booking agency all of these items were covered for us but I found the whole list a complete turn off, especially if you didn't know about it. Rooms are cleaned every 3rd day or you can pay for more frequent cleanings (8 pounds). They will store luggage for 2.50 Pounds, per bag, per day). They are conscious of being "green" and do use good products. The staff was pleasant and helpful and there were many close places to eat and even buy from a grocery. It was amazingly close to almost everything on our list. Tube system very easy to figure out in London and quite clean. I would probably stay there again but only for a night or so. Was so small could not see staying there for longer than a day or two.

Room Tip: Just be prepared for "tiny". We were lucky as we did not bring our luggage with us from P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KalenaJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurses, Guest Relations Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with Tune Hotel Westminster and for leaving much detailed comments.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed our central location, a clean room, and found the shower was good.

Our add-ons concept is a new way in the hospitality as our customers have an opportunity to design their own stay and by only paying for the add-ons they are really going to use. If booking through OTA channels, the comfort package will be included, glad to hear that this way was more suitable for you.

Thank you still for recommending us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Selenge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Good: Professional and nice staff, very close to tube and bus stop, nice cafe and restaurants within walking distance. Room was clean, bed was good, and shower was good. The room had air conditioner. Great location - close to all most all attractions.

Bad: The double bed takes up the whole room. You can go to bed from one side only. It is okay for one person but for 2 of us it was very difficult. I had to crawl over my wife to get out of the bed to use the bathroom. There are no chairs in the room. You can sit on the bed or the toilet. We had a large suitcase and a small one plus 2 bags and camera bag plus my wife's hand bag. We had to put them under the bed. There was no place to keep any suitcase open.

We managed with difficulties.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a larger rooms and things you must have before booking. I booked over internet with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brentwoodwalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurses, Guest Relations Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your stay at Tune Hotel Westminster with TripAdvisor.

I was very glad to read that you were impressed by professional trained staff, comfy bed and shower, a great location with nearby cafes and restaurants added value to your stay.

Our rooms are indeed space-efficient and they are cleverly designed to include all the necessities for a good night’s stay. Furthermore, cutting the extra size and extra add-ons enables us to keep the costs to a minimum, leaving more to spend out and about in London.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Selenge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here in July 2014.
We were looking for a cheap hotel in central London and could not have chosen better.
The hotel was spotlessly clean, the staff very friendly.
It's right next to Lambeth North tube station, a short walk from Waterloo and only five minutes from the London Eye, Westminster and the Southbank.
There was a coffee shop right next to the hotel, as well as a couple of pubs a few doors away.
The room itself was TINY, but Tune Hotels make no secret of this on their website.
All in all, it served our needs well and we will definitely stay here on our next trip to London.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allanmac81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurses, Guest Relations Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your top experience at Tune Hotel Westminster with TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you found us to be a great choice and that we met all your expectations with our central location, cleanliness, comfort and customer service, which are all fundamental key points at any of the Tune Hotels.

We are looking forward to your return visit.

Kind regards
Selenge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#412 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point A Hotel, London Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point A Hotel, London Westminster

Property: Point A Hotel, London Westminster
Address: 118-120 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7RW, England (Formerly Tune Hotel - Westminster)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#355 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Point A Hotel, London Westminster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westminster is London’s historic heart, packed with more landmarks than you can shake a selfie stick at. Stroll along the Southbank and take in some of London’s greatest hits – all a stone’s throw from your Point A Hotel, London Westminster. So bring a bag, plans, places to be. And check in to your always affordable, always reliable Point A Hotel. Sink deep into your Hypnos bed. Help yourself to free WiFi. Get tomorrow-ready in a proper power shower. Then go find your point b. Shoreditch and the whole of London is on your doorstep. Every room is compact, well designed and comes with a super comfy Hypnos bed, en-suite bathrooms with a proper power shower, fast & free WiFi, USB charging point, air conditioning, hairdryer, huge TV with 240 channels and a safe. Blackout curtains ensure you have a good night's sleep. You’ll be well connected, being just 20m Lambeth North Tube Station and 900m from transport hub Waterloo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Point A Hotel, London Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels - Westminster Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing