We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Restaurant??”
Review of Zucca - Bermondsey St. - CLOSED

Zucca - Bermondsey St.
Price range: US$44 - US$57
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Southwark
Transit: London Bridge Tube Station.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Italian Restaurant??”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I been in zucca once with some friends on Saturday night, some of them, are chefs and waiters(Professionals from Michelin star restaurants). the first surprise was when I seen the managers without uniforms, sumillers suppose to be elegants as well they wear a blue shirt and little old apron. specially if they want to have a open kitchen in front of the costumer try to keep them chefs clean, properly shave ,and buy new uniforms because what they are wearing it doesn't look professional to be honest. when one of the managers sat us to the table close to the window and we tried to read the menu but the light in the restaurant wasn't enough at all was better to read from the outdoor lights. Excellent wines They bring the bread...poor quantity and was like gum, non Italians in the kitchen..90% British...just in the floor was plenty of Italians .The chef was shouting very laugh and was eating some food in front of all of us with the same spoon that he touch the food...very nice...Italian food?? no where..no tradition at all...the pasta was too "al dente" fish undercook. about deserts....the ice cream wasn't creamy too hard non tasty. too expensive for what we eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alessio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    134
    64
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointingly resting on its laurels”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

It is a real shame that I have to give Zucca a "poor" review as I used to love this place but like many other reviewers have said, it has become complacent and expensive. Zucca, you really need to start listening to your guests and not just assume that because you are busy you will always be busy. Competition on Bermondsey Street is fierce and you are resting on your laurels.

We managed to get a table without booking but were quite rushed throughout the evening and only stayed for about an hour. The bread is very good as is the olive oil served with it. For starters, I ordered Zucca which was really, really oversalted (and I am somebody who loves salt!) to the point of being inedible. These kind of errors shouldn't be happening at Zucca's level. The veal chop for main which I have always loved in the past was also disappointing on this occasion - it was properly cooked - pink as I like it but too much fat and not very big. It just wasn't worth the money.

Having recently moved to the area, I would love to make this a regular haunt but until it bucks its ideas up, I sadly won't be returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TimF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal but don't understand the hype”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have heard a lot about Zucca and had been on our to go list for some time. Finally we manage to get there for a Saturday lunch. Service is generally pleasant. The bread was very good. We like starters here; enjoyed tuna and veal cappacio, Zucca tempura, and especially the purple broccoli salad. Main courses were also nice. We had some pasta, grilled octopus and ox cheeks. We also had some fresh lemonade and wine by the glass. We didn't have dessert or coffee. Came to £70 per head. A tad expensive we think...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent food with attentive staff”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The mark of a good restaurant was immediately evident - a variety of breads (plus olive oil) provided automatically and also no fuss when we asked for tap water. The staff, at least three, patiently deciphered some aspects of the menu and were efficient. The Italian wines by the glass were excellent. The sommelier was a great help in finding us wines to suit three different tastes. The mains of ox cheek, rabbit and veal chop were well prepared and presented. The ice cream of salted caramel and pistachio were very good.
No service charge - so an opportunity to show appreciation of good service or not demonstrates a well founded confidence.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PGNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“incompetent”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

i was last night with my wife to eat , see one english chef coocking not properly italian food, and where insted of puntarelle with cuttlefish pretends celery, is not professional , and then is not the period of puntarelle. he made another mistake bringing raw grilled fish, in a zucca restaurant i don't see any italian working in a kitchen , next time call zucca world restaurant is much better .I Wwanted to tell youto make all you a course of italian cuisine or call me to explain to all of you how the italian cuisine.
04/04/2014.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank antonino79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zucca - Bermondsey St. also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing