We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting and Entertaining”
Review of Tower of London

Tower of London
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.81*
and up
Tower of London Entrance Ticket Including Crown Jewels and Beefeater Tour
Ranked #3 of 1,610 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of London's most famous landmarks, the historic Tower houses the Crown Jewels, the prison cell of Sir Walter Raleigh, known as the Bloody Tower, and the Chapel of St. John and the Royal Armories.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interesting and Entertaining”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Should be higher than #38 to see in London. Tour with the Beefeater was great fun and there is quite a bit too see.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jp3Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44,813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29,480
    11,837
    2,798
    478
    220
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
197 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Well let's start with before you enter the tower you notice the traitors gate which is located a little away from the main gate.
When entering the compound you immediately feel the impact of the so called fortress of sorts. We saw where the prisoners where beheaded, and of course the main reason was to see the famous Crown Jewels. The jewels can only be seen by standing on a moving floor, you can not ponder long it is designed to move the crowds along.
The beefeaters are present and you must have your picture taken with one of them for your memories.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jomar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow - great trip”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

So much history crammed into one visit. Took Canadian friends while in London and learned lots myself.

The Crown Jewels really were knock-out. The flow of the exhibits and towers were brilliant - there were lots of visitors on-site but plenty to see and a good movement of crowds which meant you never got that crowded feeling.

We visited early in the day to avoid queues - which worked.

My only disappointment was the lack of staff/guides. No obvious beefeaters the day we were there, and don't recall seeing any room guides to talk to/ask questions. So as we had British accents found we were being asked lots of questions by foreign visitors.

It was crying out for a reconstruction of a Anne Bolene/Queen's incarceration / execution journey etc - which maybe does happen, but didn't this day.

Though that said all exhibits were wonderfully explained, but would have liked a little more of the human interaction... Or maybe I really mean: I would have liked a photo with a proper beefeater!

Helpful?
Thank Maurice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lots to see and learn!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Another great London must see. It seems the biggest attraction are the crown jewels, which are truly magnificent but the complex itself has so much to offer. We spent nearly a half day touring this attraction. We did a partial guided tour which was very informative and interesting. The rest we did on our own and we loved it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lysa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great tour with Beefeater!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a fun and informative tour we had at the Tower of London! Even our 15 year old grandson who was beginning to tire of more history and more really old stuff was fascinated, thanks to our hilarious and quirky guide. Definitely worth the time, money and brain cells!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Family7Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tower of London also viewed

 

Been to Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing