We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst zoo ever!”
Review of ZSL London Zoo

ZSL London Zoo
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
US$27.45*
and up
London Zoo Entry Ticket with Optional...
More Info
US$79.19*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Ranked #167 of 1,695 things to do in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: ZSL London Zoo is packed full of wonder and amazement, with over 650 species of animals to meet and thousands more surprising and fascinating facts just waiting to be discovered. Find yourself face-to-face with our Asiatic lions and our friendly giraffes whilst they enjoy a spot of lunch. Wander through our Madagascan shrub forest and see how many of our ring-tailed lemurs you can spot before heading down to B.U.G.S to quiz our insect experts on the importance of insects to our ecosystem. Then, if you're feeling brave, you can get up close and personal and take a Spider Selfie with our resident arachnids in Europe’s only walk-through spider experience. Not to mention firm favourites Gorilla Kingdom, Penguin Beach and Tiger Territory. This is a place where fun days help us fund raise. Where your visit will help support our conservation work in over 50 countries around the world. Where really great days out can make a really positive difference to the wildlife we work to protect.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My partner and i, spent the day in london as we were going to see a show. As we both love the zoo we though we would try london's. What a disappointment,not only is the zoo very spread out,they do not have a good varitey of animals. The best was the giraffs. Also they say its a 15 min walk from the tubes ........no its not.
We had our picture taken soon as we entered the zoo,come to look at the photos at the end they are in a booklet, the booklet is of yourself in various scenes, it cost £20! and is not that good. we asked if we could just have a single photo than the booklet,the answer was no. not one person bought the booklet out of the 5 couples that were there. We would of paid £10 for a single photo.Thankfully we did 2-4-1 on national rail as not worth £23.
We have since been to paignton zoo devon,which was far better and cheaper.

3  Thank tinksenchanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer C, Manager at ZSL London Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding ZSL London Zoo. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit as much as you hoped. We do house over 750 species of animal at the zoo and this ranges from small to large animals. We are sorry if you missed some of these species. We advertise that our zoo is a 15 minute walk from Camden and a 20 minute walk from Regents Park, obviously this cannot be judged completely accurately due to different paces of different people but it has been times and a rough estimation has been given.
We are sorry that you did not think the photobooks were a reasonable price, this is a seperate company so we will pass your feedback onto them and single photos may be available in the future.

The ZSL Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,411 - 4,415 of 5,614 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

Myself & my husband and daughter came here on july 1st 2012 , it is a great zoo ,
so much to see and has cafes there to relax if u get tired walking around, its very big and the animals are lovely and kept very well , I am glad we came here and i might get to visit again some time if in london

Thank irishgeraldine48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer C, Manager at ZSL London Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding ZSL London Zoo. We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon. Why not take the time to visit for our brand new exhibit opening in early 2013 - Tiger Territory! Once again, thank you for supporting ZSL.

The ZSL Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I loved seeing the animals at the London Zoo. They are there to be loved and appreciated by all. They await your visit to see them. You will see gorillas,lions, tigers, giraffes, and many more beautiful and endangered animals. The carers at the zoo are amazing with the animals. The entrance fee is a bit, however in keeping with other parks and there are lots of hungry animals to feed and care for so I was understanding of that. Cherish these beautiful creatures of Earth by visiting soon.

Thank MG L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer C, Manager at ZSL London Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding ZSL London Zoo. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your experience at the zoo. If you visited in the last two weeks why not convery your ticket into a membership and we will deduct the cost of your day entry. For further details pelase contact the membership department.

The ZSL Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Don't get me wrong, I love zoos but city zoos are generally awful. This is no exception. Although they have a variety of animals and they do brilliant conservation work, the animals have barely any space. The entire thing feels cramped into the middle of Regent's Park and everything is clumped together, which is good if you have small children who won't want to walk as much but is bad for the animals.
However, it's only a short walk away from Camden so go check out the bustling markets and packed streets as they are way more appealing and fun than London Zoo.
Don't bother, especially for the price and if you get worried about animals.

Thank JoesThoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer C, Manager at ZSL London Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding ZSL London Zoo. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to the zoo. We can assure you that all of our enclosures meet and exceed European guidelines and all of our animals have access to indoor/outdoor enclosures and areas off-show. We are glad that you recognise our conservation work but we would like to reassure you that the animals in the zoo are also our top priority and we aim to make sure they are happy and enriched.
Thank you for supporting ZSL.

The ZSL Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Kids are less than impressed with lack of big animals, small zoo, and not so clean enclosures. Been twice with school and kids were let down.

Thank jag123uk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer C, Manager at ZSL London Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding ZSL London Zoo. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to our zoo. We hold over 750 species of animals both small and large. Unfortunately due to area we have it is not possible to house a large selection of larger animals as there is not a suitable amount of space to house them. You may be interested to know that our elephants, rhinos and other larger animals are housed at our sister zoo Whipsnade which is the largest zoo in the UK.
We assure you that all of our enclosures are kept to the best possible standard and our keepers continue to create the best possible conditions for the animals and their enrichment programmes.

The ZSL Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ZSL London Zoo also viewed

 

Been to ZSL London Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing