We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'It wasn't my favourite place.'”

SEA LIFE London Aquarium
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
US$28.60*
and up
Skip the Line: Sea Life London Aquarium
More Info
US$74.89*
and up
BIG London Attraction Ticket Including Madame Tussauds, SEA LIFE Aquarium...
More Info
US$60.27*
and up
SeaLife London Aquarium with Thames River Sightseeing Cruise
Ranked #229 of 1,736 things to do in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Let your imagination soar as you explore the wonderful riches of underwater life, from the beautiful coral reefs of the Indian Ocean to the dark, mysterious depths of the Atlantic and Pacific. During your visit be sure to take in a feed or two! There are animal feeds taking place throughout the day in different areas of the attraction so you can see for yourself just how sharp a Piranhas teeth are, what a Seahorse eats and how many fish it takes to satisfy a hungry Gentoo Penguin! Every feed is accompanied by a family-friendly, fact-filled talk by a member of our Guest Experience team; To ensure that you leave with a head filled with amazing discoveries and cool creature facts! Talk and feed times are subject to change. To be sure you won't miss a thing, please enquire about your favourite animal feed on entry.
Reviewed 20 June 2014

It was rather boring to be honest. I liked the penguins and the sharks and the tunnels were quite good but there were better places in London.

Thank meghan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSLLA, Customer Service Executive at SEA LIFE London Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear megan w,

Thank you very much for visiting us at SEA LIFE London Aquarium and also for taking the time to share your experience with Tripadvisor.

I was disappointed to hear that you found the Aquarium boring. We have 1000's of creatures and over 500 different species from around the world and over 40 species of shark at the Aquarium however thank you for your feedback on our displays and the information we have available. We are always striving to improve our displays and therefore if you have any specific creatures you think would be good for us to look in to please do contact us at sllondon@merlinentertainments.biz as we would love to hear your ideas.

Best Fishes,

Samara - Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,925 - 2,929 of 5,389 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We pre booked tickets online for our chosen date only to get to the aquarium for 10.30 and find that we had to stand in a huge queue with everyone who had no tickets. After standing for 2 hours watching 'priority pass holders' walk past we asked the staff our chances of getting in and we told it would be about 4pm before the queues would die down. What a waste of time and money.
All attempts for a refund were refused and we took 2 disappointed children home (to Newcastle) and £60 out of pocket.

6  Thank kazzyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSLLA, Customer Service Executive at SEA LIFE London Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear kazzyg1,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to SEA LIFE London Aquarium and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

I was very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit with us, we strive to create memorable and magical experiences for all of our guests and we are sorry if we did not achieve this for you on your visit.

We would love to hear more about your visit with us so we can discuss your experience further, so please do get in contact with us directly at sllondon@merlinentertainments.biz if you would like to share further details of your experience with us.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards,

Samara - Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This aquarium was adorable! The layout is basically a one direction walk through, but the set up is terrific! The decorations and theme are perfect for the whole family and can be appreciated by kids of all ages! This is a perfect attraction for hot or rainy days and is a good alternative to the London Eye (right nextdoor).

Thank WhereandWeyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSLLA, Customer Service Executive at SEA LIFE London Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear WhereandWeyh,

Thank you for coming to visit us at the SEA LIFE London Aquarium.

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We aim to provide each and every one of our guests with magical experiences and lots of happy memories.

I do hope that you will come back and visit us again soon, and please do let us know your thoughts when you do.

Best Fishes,

Samara - Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

As a school teacher taking 55 children I can honestly say that the animals and tanks are beautiful. Regretfully, the staff and management are truly appalling, customer service is non-existent and the general feel is that this is an attraction run for one concern, money.

We were refused entry for our adult helpers who were supporting our special needs and behavioural children and were instructed to buy additional full price adult tickets for them. When this was questioned we were asked to provide 'evidence' of their needs i.e. paperwork and then told it was our fault for not asking the aquarium for extra tickets in advance. After being held for 'ransom' we had no choice but to pay them to ensure the children did not have to turn around and go back home again.
As I stated the animals are wonderful but the staff inside had no interest in talking to the children about the animals, even at the rock pool where I did find a member of staff, she just sat by for over 10 minutes as the children explored the pool by themselves, no talk, no information, no engagement.
This attraction is not geared up for schools or sympathetic to their needs and I would suggest that they invest some of their money in a decent education team to make the most of the learning opportunities that could be had here and perhaps some customer service training.

12  Thank jonthestrawb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSLLA, Customer Service Executive at SEA LIFE London Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear jonthestrawb,

Thank you for coming to visit us at the SEA LIFE London Aquarium and for taking the time to write a review for us.

I am really sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience. I would really like to discuss this further with you. Our guests are our best source of information as to how we are doing and we try to take all comments and use the proactively to make improvements where we fall short. Please do contact us at sllondon@merlinentertainments.biz.

Kind Regards,

Samara - Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This aquarium was a little disappointing, it wasn't as big as anticipated and didn't seem particularly special. The staff however were very nice. But I was expecting a little more. I think personally Brighton aquarium is much more exciting for a cheaper price

3  Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSLLA, Customer Service Executive at SEA LIFE London Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Robyn L,

Thank you for coming to visit us at SEA LIFE London Aquarium.

I was really glad to hear that you found our staff to be very nice. I was however disappointed to hear that you were expecting more from the experience. We would love to hear your suggestions as to how we can make our experiences more special, so please do get in touch at sllondon@merlinentertainments.biz.

Best Fishes,

Samara - Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SEA LIFE London Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to SEA LIFE London Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing