We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive”

SEA LIFE London Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.50*
and up
Skip the Line: Sea Life London Aquarium
Ranked #559 of 1,828 things to do in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Let your imagination soar as you explore the wonderful riches of underwater life, from the beautiful coral reefs of the Indian Ocean to the dark, mysterious depths of the Atlantic and Pacific. During your visit be sure to take in a feed or two! There are animal feeds taking place throughout the day in different areas of the attraction so you can see for yourself just how sharp a Piranhas teeth are, what a Seahorse eats and how many fish it takes to satisfy a hungry Gentoo Penguin! Every feed is accompanied by a family-friendly, fact-filled talk by a member of our Guest Experience team; To ensure that you leave with a head filled with amazing discoveries and cool creature facts! Talk and feed times are subject to change. To be sure you won't miss a thing, please enquire about your favourite animal feed on entry.
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Visited 4th July - Family of 4; 2 adults, 5yr old and a 2yr old. Paid for the priority ticket and was there at 10.30. Queue for priority longer than for standard ticket so wouldn't recommend the extra. We were leaving at 12.30 and still no queue for standard line.
Inside was OK - had expected the 2yr old not to engage but it didn't even get the attention of the 5yr old. Didn't help there was several school tours in when we were there but when it's busy you have to force your way to the displays to see anything. Only seen one lady explaining about the octopus and for the remainder of displays it was read the info boards. Perhaps for older kids it maybe more engaging. As an adult the displays were OK but disappointed as well. The penguin display was disappointing - poor penguins!
They do try and extract money from you at various locations - either photos, through the shop or via sweet/ice cream stands etc. Overall disappointed for the £70 it cost.

Thank Abbyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSLLA, Customer Service Executive at SEA LIFE London Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Abbeyview,

Thank you for taking the time to come and visit us at the SEA LIFE London Aquarium and for writing a review for us.

I was very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit with us, we strive to create memorable and magical experiences for all of our guests and we are sorry if we did not achieve this for you on your visit.

We would love to hear more about your visit with us so we can discuss your experience further, so please do get in contact with us directly at sllondon@merlinentertainments.biz if you would like to share further details of your experience with us.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Best fishes,

Samara - Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"shark tank"
in 206 reviews
"star fish"
in 75 reviews
"big tank"
in 51 reviews
"different species"
in 64 reviews
"london eye"
in 324 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 103 reviews
"merlin pass"
in 62 reviews
"glass floor"
in 91 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 111 reviews
"london dungeon"
in 52 reviews
"great attraction"
in 49 reviews
"rainy day"
in 68 reviews
"other attractions"
in 50 reviews
"jellyfish"
in 180 reviews
"creatures"
in 154 reviews
"voucher"
in 250 reviews
"seahorse"
in 56 reviews
Filter

3,176 - 3,180 of 5,716 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I think it is a good idea to make people aware of how we interact with our enviroment.My main consern with this is there isnt enough staff to stop people touching the fish using their flash on cameras when they shouldnt or harrasing the penguins or when their enclosure is a little on the small side with no where for them to get peace.There were also a lot of adults and kids banging on the tanks .The day we picked was very crowded and noisey with school trips if you don't like noise stay away

1  Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSLLA, Customer Service Executive at SEA LIFE London Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Kim O,

Thank you for coming to visit us at the SEA LIFE London Aquarium, and most importantly for taking the time to write a response for us.

I am really glad that you found it interesting to hear our views on conservation and how we can improve the way we interact with our environment. If you are looking for a quieter time to come, I would recommend visiting outside of peak times which are between 11am and 4pm.

I was saddened to hear that you thought that the Penguin enclosure was small. I would love to give you the following information on our Gentoo Penguins to hopefully answers and alleviate your concerns. Our penguin’s enclosure was created by a team of our expert animal keepers, vets and the British Antarctic Survey who worked together to advise on, design and construct our penguins’ home. This was then appraised and approved by Edinburgh Zoo who are leading experts in this field.

In order for SEALIFE London Aquarium to legally open our doors we must have a zoo license which is government regulated. This is enacted by the secretary of state inspectors and independent veterinary consult to ensure that we comply with all zoo license criteria set out in the Zoo Licensing Act 1981; if we were shown to not be complying with this we would lose our license. Our penguin display has been designed to well exceed these legal recommendations set out in the zoo license. Supplementary to this we have two monthly inspections by an independent specialist vet to ensure that all our animals, including the penguins, are in top health.

If you do have any further questions please do not heistate to contact us at, sllondon@merlinentertainments.biz.

I do hope that you will come back and visit us again soon.

Best Fishes,

Samara - Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

At first I had a quite nice opinion for the place but I got very concerned for two reasons. First of all, some tanks are too small. And I mean really small.. Also, as the title suggests, my visit was ruined when I got to the penguins. This actually ruined my whole day.
Their place is far too small, with painted walls of ice and ocean in a desperate attempt to make this tiny place look bigger, and penguins were all crumbled as far inside as they could go, looking miserable. The cherry on top was when one penguin came right behind the glass, and at least 3 people started showing their bright phone screens to him so that he would follow the light believing it was fish. Then a "lady" got out a shiny bracelet she had bought and started moving it up, down and in circles extremely fast while laughing and without stopping, and the penguin was moving his head around like crazy. Everyone was laughing and there was no staff whatsoever to tell her to stop. Shame, just shame.

4  Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSLLA, Customer Service Executive at SEA LIFE London Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Kate P ,

Thank you very much for visiting us at SEA LIFE London Aquarium and also for taking the time to share your visit on Tripadvisor.

I was however sorry to read that you were saddened by our penguin enclosure, and I would love to give you the following information on our Gentoo Penguins to hopefully answers and alleviate your concerns. Our penguin’s enclosure was created by a team of our expert animal keepers, vets and the British Antarctic Survey who worked together to advise on, design and construct our penguins’ home. This was then appraised and approved by Edinburgh Zoo who are leading experts in this field. Unlike many other species most commonly seen in zoos and aquariums, such as Humboldt Penguins that are found close to the equator in warm climates, Gentoos are naturally found in Antarctica. To cope with the extreme Antarctic climate they are covered in a very thick layer of insulating feathers and so they need sustained cold temperatures to keep them cool and comfortable. Believe it or not, the London climate is too warm for them so they cannot be kept outside.

It is extremely important that the air and water temperatures and the lighting within the enclosure are carefully controlled. They are gradually altered throughout the year in order to replicate the seasons and this in turn helps to stimulate the penguins natural moulting and breeding cycles; essential to penguin health and well-being. Gentoo penguins cannot cope with fluxuating temperatures such as those we experience here in London so the air and water temperatures are consistent and changes throughout the year are gradual.

In order for SEALIFE London Aquarium to legally open our doors we must have a zoo license which is government regulated. This is enacted by the secretary of state inspectors and independent veterinary consult to ensure that we comply with all zoo license criteria set out in the Zoo Licensing Act 1981; if we were shown to not be complying with this we would lose our license. Our penguin display has been designed to well exceed these legal recommendations set out in the zoo license. Supplementary to this we have two monthly inspections by an independent specialist vet to ensure that all our animals, including the penguins, are in top health.

This year we welcomed our first Gentoo Penguin chick into the world. Its parents are naturals, doing a fantastic job of looking after it and the chick is growing at a healthy rate. For us this is a fantastic sign that our colony is happy. Gentoo Penguins are fussy birds and only breed when they are content in their environment.

We have a dedicated team of keepers here who work tirelessly to ensure our birds get the best care possible. I can say unequivocally that nobody cares more about the welfare of our penguins than we do.

I really hope that this has helped answer some of your concerns about our penguins and if you have any more questions please get in touch directly at sllondon@merlinentertainments.biz so that we can answer these for you.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others, and I hope that we welcome you back to SEA LIFE London Aquarium soon.

Best fishes,

Samara - Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Spent a day here with my son on Monday 30th June. Fantastic day out both really enjoyed spending a few hours looking at the aquarium. Arrived at 10:30am and no queues I can imagine the place can get very busy at the weekend. Paid a bit extra on-line to have the behind the scenes tour. Only 4 of us attended the 13:30 tour and the guide Lucas was enthusiastic and so knowledgeable (real credit to Seal Life) describing all what goes on and how they look after the fish and Penguins.

Thank jonah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSLLA, Customer Service Executive at SEA LIFE London Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear jonahb,

Thank you for coming to visit us at the SEA LIFE London Aquarium and for taking the time to write a review for us.

I am really glad that we managed to give you an enjoyable and memorable experience and that you enjoyed the additional Behind the Scenes Tour. All of our team are very dedicated to the marine life that we have here at the Aquarium and I am glad that this showed through.

I do hope that you will come back and see us again soon.

Best Fishes,

Samara - Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

It was amazing, so much impressions, positiveness. So much different sea creatures: fishes, sharks, penguins, sea horses, etc. I definitely recommend to visit London Aquarium it costs every spent penny. The biggest and the most colourful remembers form visitting London.
By the way, the ticket valid for all day, you can go in and go out so many times as you want.

Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSLLA, Customer Service Executive at SEA LIFE London Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Maria M,

Thank you very much for visiting us at SEA LIFE London Aquarium and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

It's great to hear that you really enjoyed your experience! We really hope that you are able to come and visit us again soon.

Best wishes,

Samara - Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SEA LIFE London Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to SEA LIFE London Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing