We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best museum for design/art lovers!!”

V&A - Victoria and Albert Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$113.82*
and up
Private Tour: London Walking Tour of Apsley House and the Victoria and Albert...
Ranked #4 of 1,616 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The world's greatest museum of art and design.The V&A's collections are unrivalled in their diversity. Explore historical and contemporary art and design, including works of art from many of the world's richest cultures. Admission free.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage
Crawley
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best museum for design/art lovers!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This was our third visit to the wonderful V & A. We prebooked tickets for the Wedding Dress Exhibition, which I would highly recommend. Lots of times were full for our chosen date, a week before.
We looked around the Disobedient Objects exhibit, which was very thought provoking.
The Wedding Dress exhibit was lovely, but my teenage daughter wanted to see some more modern ones. You can have a sneak peek on the internet before hand to see whether it's worth it to you or not. There is no photography permitted.
There is always loads of interesting things to see in the V & A, and there is a bus stop right outside to take you to lots of other attractions nearby such as Harrods.

Helpful?
Thank trackywebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21,945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16,028
    4,746
    955
    160
    56
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Briarcliff Manor
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The building itself is beautiful. There is no entry fee. A ton of collections to see! You probably need more time or multiple visits to see more then we had time for. Took many photos in the exhibits we saw. I highly recommend a visit!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Visual treat”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

From the helpful staff at the front desks through the stunning, well organised & informative displays we had a thoroughly enjoyable day. This has always been my favourite museum but was the first time back for a couple of years. There's been some changes, notably the improvements to the furniture display, accessed from the 6th (top) floor. The quality of the displays, the information given and the curation of the collections is fabulous. When your eyes or your feet need a rest there are two (we tried both) cafés where again the staff are helpful and the food is both reasonably priced and delicious. Whatever your aesthetic interest you will find something, probably many things to delight you here. This isn't just a collection that has stood still, the ongoing acquisitions are fascinating and relevant. Highly recommended for most, although probably not for small children.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarolynRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Move fast for the special exhibit”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Disobedient Objects, currently at the V&A is a melange of posters, film clips, artifacts, and information about protest and social unrest. Beginning with the suffragettes and moving into modern times - around the globe and through all sorts of issues - the exhibit shows the many faces and artifacts produced by those trying to make lasting change or who are simply desperate. The crowning feature of the exhibit is a huge screen at the back with has a kaleidoscopic showing of film and video clips - some very disturbing - which repeat, but not in a continuous loop, so each time something you might have seen comes back up, it is sandwiched between two different clips which changes the way you perceive the incident.
Upstairs is a two room exhibit of posters of dissent and rebellion from the past two centuries. See both is you possibly can - oh, and both exhibits are free.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank nancyjackathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The museum is a great place to visit with lots to see. Everything is well displayed. Loved the fashion section best. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frenchy102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed V&A - Victoria and Albert Museum also viewed

 

Been to V&A - Victoria and Albert Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing