We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Ranked #159 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

On my recent trip to London, I stayed in this hotel overnight. I really wish I had gone straight to this hotel from the airport and stayed two nights. The hotel upgraded my room from a standard double room to a larger room at the back of the hotel away from any road noise. It was tastefully decorated, very comfortable and quiet. It had a lounge, bedroom and large bathroom with shower, bath and warming bath rails for towels. Towels were white thick and fluffy. Tea and coffee making facilities were available, as was free bottled water. Reception, bar and restaurant staff were friendly and eager to please. The hotel is in a wonderful location close to the British Museum, Covent Gardens, the theatres and public transport. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jandawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for the lovely review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley. Nothing can say you enjoyed your stay better than to hear you'd like to come back. We will be delighted to welcome you in near future.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,243
    724
    147
    46
    20
See reviews for
358
999
91
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for 4 days with a friend in a standard twin room.

Pro's

The location of the hotel is excellent, minutes away from Oxford Street, Convent Garden, Piccadilly Circus, and mere steps away from the British museum. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel, and the tube station is just a couple of blocks away. In the evening, the area is packed full of restaurants, and it is also very near all theaters. Truly, a fabulous location.

The atmosphere and decoration of the hotel is simply lovely. From the minute you step in, you feel right at home and there is only beauty that meets the eye. They have a nice bar as well, which is always busy and lively.

The room we had was quite large by London standards. Again, a lovely decoration, but also comfortable beds, great tea making facilities (with shortbread cookies, yummy!) and a nice bathroom with a rain shower. Here again, we felt fully at home. There is also an excellent wifi available free of charge in the entire hotel. It is also quite peaceful, you don't get disturbed either by traffic or by other guests.

The quality of the staff was also excellent! They were all very friendly and eager to be helpful, and it was a pleasure to chat with them when returning in the evening. A special mention to be made to Tiziano, one of the concierge, who was a great help to me as I was waiting for a package, which finally got delivered after my departure. Truly, they all were customer oriented and super nice!

Last but not least, all this with a price tag that was more than correct (well, it was November though...)

Con's:

?

In summary, highly recommended address. I will most certainly return for my next trip to London.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewels_Gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for a fantastic and generous feedback. Very well summarised the highlights of our lovely Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley. Thank you for your compliment for Tiziano, I am sure he’ll be pleased to learn he could be of help. What else can you expect from a hotel good price, great location, excellent service, good food and beverage offerings, spacious well decorated rooms. I am glad these all were up to your expectations and most of it all, as you mentioned you would like to visit us again, we will eagerly wait to welcome you in near future.
Warm regards,
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed at the Kingsley with a travel companion for a 5 night stay while sightseeing in London. The hotel was really beautiful, had a great location, and we felt safe walking the neighborhood even at night. Beds were very comfortable, room was absolutely silent. We were in the back of the hotel, down a small corridor and heard nobody the entire stay. The view out the window was just of another building, but it's a city and to be expected. Easy access to all public transportation (tube and bus), with a couple of restaurants nearby. The staff was friendly and accommodating... no complaints at all. Room was clean, a little on the small side, but plenty of room for 2 twin beds and luggage (and shopping bags). The bathroom was well decorated, clean, well functioning. I would absolutely stay here again, and 100% recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for the lovely review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley. Nothing can say you enjoyed your stay better than to hear you'd like to come back. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be delighted to welcome you in near future.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel last year and then myself and a couple of friends decided to come to London for the weekend and obviously the Kingsley Thistle was our first choice and we were very fortunate to be able to book a junior suite. Once again the staff were very helpful. I could not fault the suite the only down side was that we had booked only one night. We used the room service a couple of times which was delivered promptly but more imortant the food was hot. I would have no problem in recommending this hotel to anyone. Fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to serve you again. Thankyou for a wonderful feedback and recommending us. I am glad your second stay was delightful as well. We hope to welcome you many more times.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

My friend and and stayed here for a visit to the Opera. The hotel was lovely and and the staff were very helpful. Getting a cab can be problematic because of the bus lane outside, but the concierge and staff managed it everytime, even once going down the road to another street and coming back in the cab to enable us to get in!!

Room Tip: ask for one away from the front of the hotel if you are alight sleeper, due to the very location it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuBear2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time out to share your review of your recent stay at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley. Your generous feedback about the hotel and staff is much appreciated.
I look forward to welcome in near future.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Kelling,Norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We've stayed at this hotel twice now. The location is great, not far from the tube, near Covent Garden and the British Museum is directly behind it. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are nicely decorated, well appointed and clean. There's nothing negative that I could say about this hotel. Having stayed in numerous hotels in this area this is by far our favourite

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmny67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,
How lovely to know we are your favourite! Thank you for your loyalty and patronage. We shall strive to continue providing great service and ensuring to make your every trip a memorable one.
Hope to see you back very soon.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Cute little hotel in easy walking distance to the best parts of London. Free wi fi is a pleasant surprise for a London hotel. Room is small but that is to be expected. Not the height of luxury but a safe pleasant hotel

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley and for taking your time to write the review. I am sorry to learn the room size was not up to your expectation. We do have different categories of room ranging fro ma Single to a luxurious and much spacious Junior Suites. I am pleased to read that you found the location and complimentary fast wi-fi to your liking. I hope to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#55 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#73 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#407 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#245 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Property: Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing