We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Ranked #188 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my Mum, sole purpose for visiting London was to visit the theatre. On leavingthe tube at Holburn it was an easy quick walk to the hotel. Check in was speedy and pleasant, as was our twin room. Spacious with a large wardrobe and good lighting. The bathroom was a nice surprise, large and light with a walk in shower with rainfall head and separate handheld shower head.
Comfortable bed and quiets night sleep which for a reasonably busy road was surprising.
We didn't book breakfast so unable to comment. Check out was pain free and the baggage store was a great extra free of charge, meaning you can walk around the city without having to worry.
Shall visit again when next in London. Value for money.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank emilymcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your generous & lovely review. I am so pleased to read that the hotel and the team made your stay comfortable here at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley.
I look forward to invite you in near future.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu Rathee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,279
    764
    159
    49
    22
See reviews for
375
1,049
94
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Picked the hotel as within walking distance to Shaftsbury Avenue as had booked a show. Bus stop outside and only about 10 mins walk from Tottenham court Rd tube station. Staff very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room we had was clean and comfortable which is all we needed. The breakfast which was in with the price of the room, was excellent kept me going all day well worth staying just for that . The other good point was being able to leave your luggage at the hotel free of charge after check out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzypud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely feedback. It’s always a delight to read such pleasant review. I am glad you found the room clean and comfortable, breakfast excellent, and location ideal.
I look forward to welcome you in the near future.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu Rathee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I booked a single in this hotel not realising how cramped it would be. Whilst I have no complaints about the bathroom the room was cramped. I felt claustrophobic and I could hear people next door. Whilst a double room should be the norm as prices are per room I was surprised I wasn't given a free upgrade despite my first stay here. This happens in other hotels. The room service was ok but the food was burnt and over cooked and dry. Not visiting again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank shahzadarif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. I was sorry to read that you felt the room was small, I appreciate our deluxe Single rooms are cosy; however, they are very comfortable and apt size for a single occupant. We do have bigger room types with double and king beds as we. May I recommend to reserve double/ king bedroom to avoid disappointment in future, as the complimentary upgrade are subject to discretion and availability I see the day you stayed with us, we were full booked. Please accept my sincere apologies for the food not being up to your satisfaction. Unsure if you highlighted it during your stay. May I request you to contact me next time you have a reason to stay in London and I shall ensure a seamless experience at Thistle Holborn.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu Rathee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

What a great location- a minutes walk from Holborn station and the British museum. Reasonably priced, modern bathrooms, good beds and friendly staff. The hotel bar is very good, with a affordable and good food menu. Unfortunately no mini-bar in the room.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BaakDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely feedback. It’s always a delight to read such pleasant review. I am glad you found the room clean and comfortable, breakfast excellent, and location ideal. Unfortunately, we do not stock mini-bars in our rooms; we do have round the clock room service available and also few mini fridges for the guests to use, on request and subject to availability. Apologies for any inconvenience you might have had because of the same.
I look forward to welcome you in the near future.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu Rathee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for myself and three friends in July, for travel in November for a one night stay. 24 hours before travel I was told the hotel was overbooked and I was offered a sister hotel. I complained as this had been prepaid and booked for several months prior and I had chosen specifically for the location and also didn't want to rearrange plans made with my friends. Eventually eBookers told me the hotel would honour the booking as a 'good will' gesture - inappropriate use of words! On arrival the receptionist told me one room was available but they had been told by eBookers that the other party had offered to move hotels, again untrue. The receptionist to be fair gave us two rooms in the hotel and was understanding. I've stayed at this hotel before. I chose it for its cleanliness and location, For these reasons I would recommend and use again, but travellers beware of this issue.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank superleague2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relatonship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. I am glad to read you had stayed with us in past and chose to return. Indeed our location is unbeatable and we do give high regards to cleanliness here at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley. I can imagine the disappointment and the inconvenience you would have had with the mixed and unclear messages received. I genuinely hope eventually you and your friends had a brilliant stay with us. Thank you for recommending us and keeping your faith in us. Feel free to contact me next time you plan to stay in London and I shall ensure a seamless experience at Thistle Holborn.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu Rathee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I've been in this hotel for a weekend in London and would highly recommend it.
The location is absolutely great, 2 min walk to the British Museum.
The personnel were excellent, very friendly and helpful.
Fantastic choice!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryEn120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for a fantastic review and recommendation. Lovely to know you enjoyed your stay at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley.
I look forward to welcome you back in near future.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

On my recent trip to London, I stayed in this hotel overnight. I really wish I had gone straight to this hotel from the airport and stayed two nights. The hotel upgraded my room from a standard double room to a larger room at the back of the hotel away from any road noise. It was tastefully decorated, very comfortable and quiet. It had a lounge, bedroom and large bathroom with shower, bath and warming bath rails for towels. Towels were white thick and fluffy. Tea and coffee making facilities were available, as was free bottled water. Reception, bar and restaurant staff were friendly and eager to please. The hotel is in a wonderful location close to the British Museum, Covent Gardens, the theatres and public transport. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jandawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for the lovely review of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley. Nothing can say you enjoyed your stay better than to hear you'd like to come back. We will be delighted to welcome you in near future.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#69 of 1,069 in London
1,536 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,069 in London
3,215 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#434 of 1,069 in London
1,033 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#349 of 1,069 in London
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Property: Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#148 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Lastminute, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing