We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in superb location in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Ranked #199 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

THE hotel if you want to stay in London and visit the British Museum (two minutes around the corner!) and the West End theatres (ten minutes away) and restaurants of Covent Garden! Hundreds of good restaurants and pubs nearby. Not cheap but very friendly staff and we found the catering for all meals very good.

Room Tip: Not sure if there are any. We had a room at the back. No view at all (just a wall!) but nice and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csrothwec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thankyou for taking out your time to review us. Indeed the location of Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley is ideal for British Museum and Theatres and also shopping and sightseeing:) I am pleased you found the location, foods and service to your liking.
I look forward to welcome you soon.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu Rathee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,262 - 1,268 of 2,365 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my Mum, sole purpose for visiting London was to visit the theatre. On leavingthe tube at Holburn it was an easy quick walk to the hotel. Check in was speedy and pleasant, as was our twin room. Spacious with a large wardrobe and good lighting. The bathroom was a nice surprise, large and light with a walk in shower with rainfall head and separate handheld shower head.
Comfortable bed and quiets night sleep which for a reasonably busy road was surprising.
We didn't book breakfast so unable to comment. Check out was pain free and the baggage store was a great extra free of charge, meaning you can walk around the city without having to worry.
Shall visit again when next in London. Value for money.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank emilymcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your generous & lovely review. I am so pleased to read that the hotel and the team made your stay comfortable here at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley.
I look forward to invite you in near future.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu Rathee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Picked the hotel as within walking distance to Shaftsbury Avenue as had booked a show. Bus stop outside and only about 10 mins walk from Tottenham court Rd tube station. Staff very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room we had was clean and comfortable which is all we needed. The breakfast which was in with the price of the room, was excellent kept me going all day well worth staying just for that . The other good point was being able to leave your luggage at the hotel free of charge after check out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzypud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely feedback. It’s always a delight to read such pleasant review. I am glad you found the room clean and comfortable, breakfast excellent, and location ideal.
I look forward to welcome you in the near future.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu Rathee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I booked a single in this hotel not realising how cramped it would be. Whilst I have no complaints about the bathroom the room was cramped. I felt claustrophobic and I could hear people next door. Whilst a double room should be the norm as prices are per room I was surprised I wasn't given a free upgrade despite my first stay here. This happens in other hotels. The room service was ok but the food was burnt and over cooked and dry. Not visiting again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank shahzadarif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. I was sorry to read that you felt the room was small, I appreciate our deluxe Single rooms are cosy; however, they are very comfortable and apt size for a single occupant. We do have bigger room types with double and king beds as we. May I recommend to reserve double/ king bedroom to avoid disappointment in future, as the complimentary upgrade are subject to discretion and availability I see the day you stayed with us, we were full booked. Please accept my sincere apologies for the food not being up to your satisfaction. Unsure if you highlighted it during your stay. May I request you to contact me next time you have a reason to stay in London and I shall ensure a seamless experience at Thistle Holborn.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu Rathee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

What a great location- a minutes walk from Holborn station and the British museum. Reasonably priced, modern bathrooms, good beds and friendly staff. The hotel bar is very good, with a affordable and good food menu. Unfortunately no mini-bar in the room.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank BaakDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely feedback. It’s always a delight to read such pleasant review. I am glad you found the room clean and comfortable, breakfast excellent, and location ideal. Unfortunately, we do not stock mini-bars in our rooms; we do have round the clock room service available and also few mini fridges for the guests to use, on request and subject to availability. Apologies for any inconvenience you might have had because of the same.
I look forward to welcome you in the near future.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu Rathee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I booked this hotel for myself and three friends in July, for travel in November for a one night stay. 24 hours before travel I was told the hotel was overbooked and I was offered a sister hotel. I complained as this had been prepaid and booked for several months prior and I had chosen specifically for the location and also didn't want to rearrange plans made with my friends. Eventually eBookers told me the hotel would honour the booking as a 'good will' gesture - inappropriate use of words! On arrival the receptionist told me one room was available but they had been told by eBookers that the other party had offered to move hotels, again untrue. The receptionist to be fair gave us two rooms in the hotel and was understanding. I've stayed at this hotel before. I chose it for its cleanliness and location, For these reasons I would recommend and use again, but travellers beware of this issue.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank superleague2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relatonship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. I am glad to read you had stayed with us in past and chose to return. Indeed our location is unbeatable and we do give high regards to cleanliness here at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley. I can imagine the disappointment and the inconvenience you would have had with the mixed and unclear messages received. I genuinely hope eventually you and your friends had a brilliant stay with us. Thank you for recommending us and keeping your faith in us. Feel free to contact me next time you plan to stay in London and I shall ensure a seamless experience at Thistle Holborn.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu Rathee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I've been in this hotel for a weekend in London and would highly recommend it.
The location is absolutely great, 2 min walk to the British Museum.
The personnel were excellent, very friendly and helpful.
Fantastic choice!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryEn120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for a fantastic review and recommendation. Lovely to know you enjoyed your stay at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley.
I look forward to welcome you back in near future.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,078 in London
1,692 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian London, Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#58 of 1,078 in London
3,387 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#393 of 1,078 in London
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#152 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £114 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing