We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely overnight stay in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Ranked #188 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dunmow, Essex
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely overnight stay in great location”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed for my birthday, and were upgraded to a mini suite on arrival, which was lovely. The room was spacious, with tasteful decoration and furnishing. Everything we needed was on hand, from robes and slippers, ironing board and iron, lights in the wardrobe and lit shelves in the bathroom. Everything was very plush, the bed very comfortable, the AC effective and quiet. Breakfast was great, the usual buffet, but everything looked and tasted fresh, despite us going down only 30 mins before the end of service. The staff were charming, and didn't seem at all put out when we stayed half an hour after breakfast service finished, eating muffins and drinking our second pot of tea. i loved the decor in the public areas, especially the slightly gothic style metal staircase.

Room Tip: we stayed in 416.... around the back courtyard, so i guess quieter than being on the front road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessDunmow_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,279
    764
    159
    49
    22
See reviews for
375
1,049
94
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Visited Thistle while in London with 5 friends.

Hotel was charming, Staff were welcoming, Rooms were clean & neat.

Im a huge fan of smaller boutique hotels so this was right up my Alley.

The neighborhood is lively with several bars & restaurants just in walking distance.

We sat down & chatted with the bartender for about an hour as we sipped on beer & wine. Lovely time. If I go back to London, I can see myself staying here again!

CHEERS TO THISTLE!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewtdaJamaicanAlpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Glad we decided on this hotel for our four nights in London. Location was the best yet. We arrived at Euston Station and it was a 15 minute walk to the hotel. We also walked to Camden the next day which took around 20 minutes. There is also a bus station outside the front door and the nearest tube station is around the corner.

The room was fairly small but was sufficient for our short stay. Staff were friendly too. Did not have breakfast here so couldn't comment on the food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing to say at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley and for your review. I am pleased to read you found our location ideal to your requirement. Sorry to learn the room provided was smaller than your expectations, we do have spacious Executive room (approx 30sqm) and Junior Suites (approx. 40sqm) available at small supplement.
I am glad you found the team friendly.
I look forward to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely
Sudhanshu Rathee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here for trips to London on 4 occasions and have never been disappointed. The staff are attentive and very helpful. The rooms are clean and have everything you need for a comfy night. The breakfasts have everything you could imagine for breakfast. The hotel is in a great position 10ins walk from Covent garden 5 mins walk from British museum 5 mins from Oxford Street. It was the 1st time we had a room at the front of the hotel, but the road noise was not intrusive and did not keep us awake. I have stayed in other hotels in London, but having never found this hotel lacking this will be the only hotel I stay in when visiting London

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 09corinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Clean, quiet ( at least on the 6th floor). Nice bar, friendly staff. Nice old Victorian building but fairly small. Good location for Theatreland. Quite expensive however for what it is? Towels in wardrobe were slightly musty.

Room Tip: As high as possible - it goes up to 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asho111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley; named after Victorian novelist Charles Kingsley, Built 1898, Opened as a hotel in 1900 This Edwardian building was graciously refurbished with £10m investment in 2009.
Although the hotel is quite popular our prices are quite competitive compare to similar level hotels in the area. Rates do vary based on lots of factors. You get the best rates on our website, alternatively feel free to contact us directly and we shall ensure you receive the best rates. Thank you for your feedback about the towels and sincere apologies for the same, we shall look into it right away.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Fantastic customer service and a lovely hotel in a prime location in central London. The staff are very welcoming and go out of their way to make sure you are having a good stay. Room was very quiet and in good order. Breakfast was one of the best hotel breakfasts I've ever had. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry01234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Relationship Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for taking your time to reviewing and recommending us. It’s a pleasure to learn you found all aspects of the hotel to expectations most importantly 'fantastic service' which we strive for.
I look forward to welcome you back in near future.
Sincerely
S Rathee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The Kingsley is a stylish and modern hotel. First impressions were good.

We were in room 213 which faces a wall and is on the side do the hotel but prefer the lack of a view to the noise which you would get in a front facing room. Even in the side room there was an element of noise.

The staff, however, are excellent! We arrived early at the Kingsley and were checked in right away which was great. Everyone we interacted with was friendly and helpful and we had a nice surprise when Victoria brought a lovely box of chocolates to my husband as she had remembered it was his birthday from a conversation the previous evening.

The location is brilliant, within 5 mins of the British Museum and 10 mins of Covent Garden, and close to Holborn Tube Station.

We would definitely stay at the Kingsley again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DMCK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#69 of 1,069 in London
1,536 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,069 in London
3,215 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#434 of 1,069 in London
1,033 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#349 of 1,069 in London
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Property: Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#148 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing