We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Ranked #166 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I recently stayed at Thistle Holborn with my husband for a theatre break. Everything about the hotel was fantastic.
The staff were extremely friendly and very attentive. The location was a 10 minute walk to soho and very close to 2 main tube stations. The hotel is beautifully furnished and although the decor was very contemporary it was still very sympathetic to the age and style of the building. We did not have any main meals at the hotel but did order a pizza from room service which arrived in good time and was yummy.
The overall value was great, especially given the location. We will most definitely return to this hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,252
    737
    150
    47
    20
See reviews for
366
1,010
92
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Perfect location- can walk to most attractions (and St Pancras) if you are fit. Staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. The room was bigger than we expected and very clean. The restaurant has a great menu. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GalbraithTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have stayed at the Kingsley a few times now and each time our stay has been great. It's a great location with interesting things to see and do close by as well as the usual tourist attractions.

The staff are uniformly great. From the warm welcome to the well serviced room to the breakfast service, we couldn't find fault.

Room Tip: High floors are to recommended- less footfall past your room and less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mashud73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel staff is friendly, the room and bathroom are clean and the reliability of the Wi-Fi is absolutely great. We didn't like the bed pillows. Breakfast is okay, but basic. The location is top; close to some important underground stations and some good restaurant are nearby. We highly recommend this hotel for a stay in London.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn Lancs
Level Contributor
151 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We have been to London many times but wish we had found this hotel before. I booked it as the location is perfect for most theatres and we had booked a show. We changed our room on the morning as I was a little unwell-all of which was not a problem. The staff from front of house to the bar, the restaurant both in the evening and breakfast are all SUPERB!! so welcoming, so attentive and so helpful and friendly, THANK YOU ALL. The hotel is lovely, our room small but functional and clean. Breakfast was brilliant. We had one meal at night which was very good (except for the service charge-I prefer to decide on my own tip). One of the staff a lady went above and beyond today as I sat in the lounge waiting for my hubby to return from a trip to Lords which I wasn't up too. I received bad news via a phone call and she brought me a love heart balloon and a glass of water-bless her wish I had got her name she is brill! ( a pity that it seemed and interview took place whilst I sat in the lounge reading-not very professional I could hear every word.) But that didn't spoil a wonderful trip. When we visit London again I think we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room high floor if you wish it to quiet we did and it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanieBlackburnLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

If you looking to stay central to everything, museums, theatre land, shops, south bank, and Westminster....and you want a nice, tidy, clean and efficient, look no further. Great for central line and Piccadilly line via Holborn tube station, you can also get where you want quickly by tube. The staff were brilliant, very attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here this week and it was the best hotel in London I have ever stayed in by far. What made it so good was the staff. In particular the barman Mohammed, who is such an asset to this place. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he made us feel welcome and at home. The other staff were all nice too. The rooms were clean and luxurious. The food was great and the location is superb with everywhere so close by. Will definitely be going back to this gem of a place.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank mrteacher36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,078 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#71 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#250 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#409 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Property: Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#130 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing