We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Ranked #200 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The location of this hotel is great. Check in and check out was efficient and friendly. Our room was a really good size, although the windows were frosted, so we guessed that there was no view!! Our view was the back of the hotel where the bins were kept, but I would have rather been placed here than at the front with the construction work going on.

The bed was large and comfy, and the bathroom a really good size, bath with shower over. Also quite modern in design.

We didnt sample the food here, but the bar area in the evening was nice, with a really pleasant atmosphere.

I would definitly recommend this hotel to others and would return myself.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SR_0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,049 - 1,055 of 2,364 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

The location is great, especially for the British Museum. Check in and check out was efficient and friendly, and the breakfast was very good value in comparison to other London hotel prices I've experienced.
While the room was very clean, ours was also very small - and the narrow corridor means that other guests opening/closing doors etc were very easily heard. It didn't make for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CatGirlNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Second time staying at this hotel in under a year.

Chose this hotel originally as it's in a great location, near holborn tube station (central and Piccadilly lines) and close to Oxford Street and Covent Garden.

The room was clean and quite modern however a couple of things weren't great. The room was quite small compared to the room we had last year, there was no vestibule which meant we heard a lot of noise from the corridor doors which were directly outside our room. The 2nd issue was the room temperature, although the room was air conditioned we could not put the temperature below 18 degrees Celsius. This made the room quite stuffy.

The staff were friendly and gave my partner and I umbrellas when it started to rain so that was good.

Would I stay again, probably as the location is good. I'd ask for a quieter room though. If visiting in the winter you wouldn't have to worry about the room temperature.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Apache_ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Fabulous location to get around most attractions in London and a great price for the rooms. The accommodation is small and simple, but comfortable and more than enough for what you need. Very comfortable bed, however found the shower a bit slippery and dangerous.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sam_Tarryn_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here for three nights to attend a training course in London. I cannot praise it enough, the staff were so friendly, nothing was too much trouble, the rooms were very clean and cosy, the bed was the best hotel bed I have ever slept in, the food was of excellent standard, would definately stay here again if visiting London

Room Tip: The double deluxe was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bondy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I recently stayed at Thistle Holborn with my husband for a theatre break. Everything about the hotel was fantastic.
The staff were extremely friendly and very attentive. The location was a 10 minute walk to soho and very close to 2 main tube stations. The hotel is beautifully furnished and although the decor was very contemporary it was still very sympathetic to the age and style of the building. We did not have any main meals at the hotel but did order a pizza from room service which arrived in good time and was yummy.
The overall value was great, especially given the location. We will most definitely return to this hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Perfect location- can walk to most attractions (and St Pancras) if you are fit. Staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. The room was bigger than we expected and very clean. The restaurant has a great menu. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank GalbraithTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,077 in London
1,692 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian London, Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#59 of 1,077 in London
3,385 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#392 of 1,077 in London
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#152 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £114 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing