We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brrrrrrr finally thawed out..!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Ranked #197 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2009

What should have been a fab stay at a newly refurbed hotel was spoiled by a basic problem that you would not expect in 2009...no heating!!!!

The hotel looks fab, rooms all new with large flat screen great showers, nice linens etc but this all fades when you are having to sit in your coat shivering.
We found that the aircon unit did not work in our first room so asked for assistance, this was prompt but without sucess so having waited by then almost an hour we asked to be moved and within 10 minutes we were moved...to a COLDER room..arghh. I am still at a loss as why they moved us to a colder room where the heating also did not work.

The hotels solution is to provide a small electric heater to your room....not really good enough when paying £200 a night.

If you so stay here and get a warm room then am sure it will be fine, rooms look lovely, location is good and bar staff are friendly.

Just to add we were with a group of 20 and of those at least half had cold rooms half were fine. When we checked out another guest (not travelling with us) was also complaining of the lack of heat.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pets75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tthistle, Customer Relations at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2009

Thank you for your review on the Thistle Kingsley Hotel. I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused regarding the heating at the hotel during your stay with us. Unfortunately an error did occur with the heating system in part of the hotel, this was rectified as soon as possible however I apologise if this hindered your stay with us.
I do hope this will not deter you from using the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,979 - 1,985 of 2,365 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2009

We stayed at the Kingsley Thistle Hotel as part of a Theatre package break.
Its location is excellent just a five minute walk away from the Oxford Street.
The Hotel has recently been renovated.
Rooms have standard new look designer decor and are on the small side ,but functional.Everything was clean and tidy.
Breakfast was the only bad experience .
We were led to a table for two , where the upholstered bench seat was cover in crumbs.
I was shown to another table.
The English Breakfast was served buffet style .It was stone cold .We had one cup of coffee with no attempt to offer a refill.The toast was served to us cold as we were ready to leave.The waiting staff were awful and seemed to have no direction or idea.
If it were me travellers, book to stay at the PREMIER INN COUNTY HALL,£29pppn b&b.
This place is untouchable for location ,value for money and above all happy friendly staff who can't do enough for you.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noeuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tthistle, Customer Relations at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2009

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Kingsley. I was very disappointed to read that your breakfast was not to the usual high standard you would expect from Thistle hotels, I will be sure to pass your comments on to the hotel team. Thank you for your constructive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2009

This is a great hotel. stayed with a friend with 2 nights. short break. When we arrived at the hotel, we were checked in within 5-10mins. can tell it's newly renovated. nice lobby area. The room was nice. clean. modern. nice modern bathroom with rainforest shower, although the water pressure could've been stronger. well lit bathroom with a large mirror. The air conditioning unit was noisy. The bed was very comfortable. nice breakfast buffet. Good location. short walk to covert gardens. tottenham rd tube station. would stay here again when back in london.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyflyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tthistle, Customer Relations at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2009

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us at The Kingsley. It is always pleasing to receive constructive feedback & I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments regarding the noisy air conditioning unit in your room to the management team, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back to Thistle hotels in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

Enjoyed a 2 night 'theatre break' in the City and well pleased with our choice of hotel. Has benefited greatly from refurbishment and we enjoyed an 'Upgrade' at check-in. Beautifully appointed room, (view onto back of a church but we weren't there for a view!)with nice sleek minimalistic lines. Very pleasant staff. Got a good deal through website booking and found location ideal - easy walk to Covent Garden and Theatreland.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meenacross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tthistle, Customer Relations at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2009

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us at The Kingsley, it is always pleasing to receive positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Stayed at the Thistle on a theatre break for our anniversary. Wasn't sure what to expect but was not disappointed. The hotel has undergone a refurbishment and the rooms were spacious and furnished to a high standard. Great location - 10-15 min walk to covent garden and nearby theatres and 5 mins to the British Museum. There are also various bars/restaurants nearby. Breakfast was buffet style with full english/continental available along with tea/coffee/juice. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cappuccinoqueen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle_CS, Customer Relations Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2009

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Kingsley by Thistle. I am delighted with your feedback and pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Service when we arrived was very efficient and the staff were very polite and helpful. The room was one of the best i have stayed in it's very modern and trendy with a good size LCD telly. The only slight let down was the windows did not open and as the weather was very mild for the time of year the room was quite hot, there was AC but it was faulty, but a concierge did come up and managed to open one window slightly and he was very helpful. Meals at the hotel were very expensive, so we ate out.
The location was ideal central to the main parts of London and the tube is only a short distance away, i would advise you to get a day pass as it works out cheaper if you are going to be using the tube alot otherwise for every trip you take on the tube it will cost you £4.00 and it is going up so will be even dearer. The tubes get very busy between 5pm-7pm so try and avoid these times if you can.
London it's self is a very busy place but also enjoyable, there are plenty of things to do and plenty of places to eat from your local back street cafes to the posh nosh eateries. Would not recommend Planet Hollywood the food was awful and looked and tasted cheap i did complain and so did other people, for the price you would expect it to be of good quality but it was anything but!!!.
On a whole had a fab stay and would recommend this hotel for all.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bevofcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tthistle, Customer Relations at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2009

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and its services. I am glad you had a pleasant stay. We will continue to strive to meet our guests’ expectations and make their stay as comfortable as possible.

All comments will be shared with the entire team at The Kingsley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

I stayed at the Kingsley in March with my mom and Aunt for Sring Break in March 2009. I have been to London several times but this was the best trip. The hotel is walking distance to the tube and shopping. I love shopping on Oxford Street and I could walk to Oxford from the hotel. Of course you can take a taxi or the bus but you can also walk so you can spend more euros on shopping. There is this great hamburger place down the way from the hotel. As an American I don't think the food is that great in London but this burger was big, good, and juicy. I highly recommend this hotel because of it's location and I forgot...it's newly renovated so it's real modern. I'll definitely be back next spring break!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCJetsetter1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle_CS, Customer Relations Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2009

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Kingsley by Thistle. I am delighted with your feedback and pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#73 of 1,078 in London
1,696 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian London, Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#60 of 1,078 in London
3,387 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#392 of 1,078 in London
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#151 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £114 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing