We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Ranked #209 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2010

After reading many reviews how people got upgraded rooms, i was dissappointed not to have our room upgraded. But when i saw the room i was delighted, a beautiful room and bathroom, only thing was could of been a little larger but i was more than happy, The bed was the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in! Staff were very pleasant and i had no complaints at all.
Booked this hotel as close to theatre for show, but was delighted as everything was nearby. Myself and husband saw all the london landmarks by foot. A fantastic 3 day break.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caz46Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistle_CS, Customer Services at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Kingsley by Thistle. I am delighted with your feedback and pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly that you found the staff helpful and friendly. I was also pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and that it helped you enjoy your 3 day stay in London all the more.
I will be sure to share your positive comments with the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,947 - 1,953 of 2,336 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2010

Great location - 5mins walk from Holborn Underground Station. Rooms well decorated - problem with shower head as water came out the side but apart from that all good. Could have done with a What's on in London guide in the room. Would recommend hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen07Plano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRManagerthistle, CRManagerthistle at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review The Kingsley by Thistle and its services. I am glad you had a pleasant stay with us. Apologies for the problems you experienced with the Shower, your comments have been passed to our Maintenance team who will ensure this will not happen again. We will continue to strive to meet our guests’ expectations and make their stay as comfortable as possible. All comments, positive and negative are shared with the entire team at The Kingsley by Thistle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for my Birthday and weekend away in London. We were not disappointed. The hotel location was perfect, within walking distance of the theatres, Oxford St and many good bars and restaurants. On arrival the hotel upgraded us to a deluxe room free of charge. Given the package deal with lastminute.com, including a complimentary breakfast the overall value for money we felt was excellent, although I could not comment on this for those who booked full price. The hotel renovation has done a brilliant job, traditional features but with a modern feel. We are fairly picky about the hotels we stay in, but we had only positive comments about the Kingsley. Room was extremely clean and finished to a very high standard; flat screen TV etc. Bathroom was lovely with a walk in rainshower. There were no problems with the heating - an individual air con allowed you to set the heating temperature, and the staff had thoughtfully chosen to turn this on prior to our arrival, which was a welcome after the freezing temperatures outside. Beds very comfy, and huge - the size of a Superking. Slept well, with little outside noise. Breakfast was good, self service style, could have had more choice with the juices, as only noticed orange juice available.

Overall we were very pleased with the Kingsley, and definitly plan to return for future stays in London. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countrybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRManagerthistle, CRManagerthistle at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding the The Kingsley by Thistle. I am delighted to read your comments and was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the rest of the team

Many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back for future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

Stayed here over night with my husband and two grown up children. We all loved this Hotel, definately the best we have stayed at in London. The rooms are very comfortable, especially the beds. Spotless clean bathrooms. Good breakfast. The hotels modern renovation suits it perfectly, maintaining some of the original features. Staff were polite and friendly. We would definately return to this hotel. We had a really good deal with Superbreak, and would have loved to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evans-family4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRManagerthistle, CRManagerthistle at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Kingsley by Thistle. I am delighted with your feedback and pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the rest of the team and hope you think of The Kingsley by Thistle again for future visits.

Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

When i was looking last minute for a hotel the only decent looking place i could find was The Kingsley, i was shocked on how much it cost and couldnt find any perfect reviews for it. Never the less i booked it anyway with high hopes.
I was not dissapointed in the leaset, we got to the hotel at 9am and the room wasnt ready until 2pm, so we checked in and to our amazment the lady upgraded our room to one of the really posh ones :) we left our bags with conciegre who gave us maps and info about what we could do. We went to the winter wonderland and convent gardens all only a couple of stops on the tube from Holborn station which is 5 minutes walk from the hotel.
At 2pm we wen to our room and found a Bottle of White Wine that id ordered to be in the room (which was lovely) and some champagne when i asked the reception about this she said the choclates id ordered wasnt available they subsituted them for champagne! This was a nice suprise.
The Room was fab!! so clean and stylish it was a HUGE room...i loved it 2 plazma TV's, plenty of storage, a huge bathroom, a lounge area and a huge king sized bed.
In the evening we had a wonderful meal in the resturant and went off to the thetre only a couple stops on the tube again.
Overall i would recommend this hotel to anyone, it is expensive but it was totally worth the money think i spent £350 on one nights stay for 2 of us to have a full evening meal and breakfast, to have wine in the room and to have champagne. The staff were helpful and friendly. Theres not much more good things i can say, im glad i took the risk at the beginning.
STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeccablezard88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRManagerthistle, CRManagerthistle at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding the The Kingsley by Thistle. I am delighted to read your comments and was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in particular your comments about our helpful and friendly staff. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the rest of the team.

Thank you once again for yout time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

What should have been a fab stay at a newly refurbed hotel was spoiled by a basic problem that you would not expect in 2009...no heating!!!!

The hotel looks fab, rooms all new with large flat screen great showers, nice linens etc but this all fades when you are having to sit in your coat shivering.
We found that the aircon unit did not work in our first room so asked for assistance, this was prompt but without sucess so having waited by then almost an hour we asked to be moved and within 10 minutes we were moved...to a COLDER room..arghh. I am still at a loss as why they moved us to a colder room where the heating also did not work.

The hotels solution is to provide a small electric heater to your room....not really good enough when paying £200 a night.

If you so stay here and get a warm room then am sure it will be fine, rooms look lovely, location is good and bar staff are friendly.

Just to add we were with a group of 20 and of those at least half had cold rooms half were fine. When we checked out another guest (not travelling with us) was also complaining of the lack of heat.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pets75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tthistle, Customer Relations at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2009

Thank you for your review on the Thistle Kingsley Hotel. I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused regarding the heating at the hotel during your stay with us. Unfortunately an error did occur with the heating system in part of the hotel, this was rectified as soon as possible however I apologise if this hindered your stay with us.
I do hope this will not deter you from using the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

We stayed at the Kingsley Thistle Hotel as part of a Theatre package break.
Its location is excellent just a five minute walk away from the Oxford Street.
The Hotel has recently been renovated.
Rooms have standard new look designer decor and are on the small side ,but functional.Everything was clean and tidy.
Breakfast was the only bad experience .
We were led to a table for two , where the upholstered bench seat was cover in crumbs.
I was shown to another table.
The English Breakfast was served buffet style .It was stone cold .We had one cup of coffee with no attempt to offer a refill.The toast was served to us cold as we were ready to leave.The waiting staff were awful and seemed to have no direction or idea.
If it were me travellers, book to stay at the PREMIER INN COUNTY HALL,£29pppn b&b.
This place is untouchable for location ,value for money and above all happy friendly staff who can't do enough for you.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noeuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tthistle, Customer Relations at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2009

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Kingsley. I was very disappointed to read that your breakfast was not to the usual high standard you would expect from Thistle hotels, I will be sure to pass your comments on to the hotel team. Thank you for your constructive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#63 of 1,076 in London
1,642 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#59 of 1,076 in London
3,322 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#320 of 1,076 in London
823 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#455 of 1,076 in London
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#160 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £130 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing