We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like coming home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Langham, London
Ranked #47 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Like coming home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

I stay at this hotel every time I'm in London. I travel extensively around the world for business, and this hotel is my favorite by far. It's not just that it's a beautiful hotel, and it is. But there are many beautiful hotels around the world and one could argue the particulars of each. However, what makes this hotel special is the staff. They are welcoming, friendly, always remember me, and extremely responsive. My favorite thing is to arrive at the Langham after extensive travels and have the doorman recognize me when I pull up in the taxi and say, "Welcome back." It's like coming home or visiting good friends. The hotel can be a bit pricey, but most hotels in London are and none compare with the service here, so I'm willing to pay a bit more for the outstanding service.

The Artesian bar is exceptional! Don't order off the menu. Ask them to create something special for you. I promise, you won't be disappointed. I can also promise that it will not just be a cocktail...it will be an experience you will tell your friends about.

This is a luxury hotel, so don't expect bargain prices. But do expect the top-notch attention and service that so many hotels try to offer but so few pull off. If you take a moment to give a friendly word to the staff and say hello, they will return your kindness 100 fold. They will remember you, get to know you and you will find yourself feeling right at home in this beautiful place, just as I do.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmgsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,391
    587
    157
    57
    33
See reviews for
654
1,259
132
648
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Recently stayed on a girls weekend. Lovely twin rooms. Not huge by any means but well appointed. The beds were absolutely amazing. Really soft and comfortable. Slept like babies!

Ate in The Landau restaurant which is run by the Roux's. Fabulous food and wine. Service was impeccable. Had breakfast in the same restaurant and that was brilliant. Lovely selection from the continental buffet then a wonderful traditional English breakfast followed by waffles and American pancakes. Very relaxing environment.

Only slight downside was the Artesan bar. We hoped for relaxing nightcaps after an evening at the theatre. The bar was buzzing and busy but the service wasn't great. Very slow to take drinks order and even slower to receive them. Didnt put us off the hotel though. Really enjoyed the stay and would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a serene
hotel experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saran F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

It is fabulously located..a short walk to Oxford Street. Rooms are a bit old fashioned but I do prefer modern boutique hotels. Staff were friendly and helpful but English is often not their first language so if you stray off menu you can end up in a mess. Buffet breakfast was first class with american sweet strip bacon and more English style... nice filter coffee. The bar is too small and feels cramped; people wait for seats and are crammed together.

It's a 5 star hotel so of course it's good but I didn't feel connected to the place...its a little tasteless/ traditional.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We've stayed at a number of hotels in London and The Langham is certainly up there with the best of them. The entrance is wonderful, floral displays and Christmas decorations gave our arrival a bit extra. The room was spacious and clean. We had a classic king room so the view was of the air conditioning units which was a shame but a lower price was given and how much time do you really spend looking out the window? For us it was worth saving the money on the room to spend it in the cocktail bar! The bathroom was a little disappointing - it was clean and perfectly fine but lacked to opulence other hotels of this standard tend to offer. The cocktail bar was excellent but really busy. We went early so managed to get a seat but many others were left standing. The classic martini cocktails were fantastic and such a huge cocktail menu to choose from there must be something for everyone. There are a couple of eating options - we went for The Roux which we'll review seperately but overall the food options on offer are wide and varied. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much to ask. Overall we would highly recommend The Langham - if you can afford the extra it probably is worth spending the extra on the rooms for what would hopefully be a better view and bathroom but for the price we paid - it was perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kw00_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

I should not write a review as I would like to keep this address very secret. bit then when praises are due...
We had two fantastic week-ends there, one in August and last month for my birthday. We went to most of all the 5 stars and beyond in London and The Langham is the best. It is not because of the location (love Marylebone) or the accomodations (vast, clean, exceedingly relaxing and quiet), even the magnificent architecture and the fragrant feel of the place. I will not even mention the excellent meals we had there and the lovely spa. What makes the Langham so special is the staff, always smilling, accomodating and relaxed making you feel you are royalty. Thank you again to all at the Langham. We'll be back and not soon enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrigitteFrancoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed in a club room at The Langham during our November 2012 stay. We were on the 5th floor...the room was very nice...understated but very functional. The bed and linens were top quality and I slept very well. The bathroom was green marble with a separate tub and shower. The room had a few issues, The drain in the sink and in the shower was a little slow...nothing bad, but it was noticeable. there was a lovely tea making station in the room with a mini bar fridge underneath. Great Babybliss full size hairdryer was provided, but no plug in the bathroom fit the dryer. I think overall the club rooms may need a bit of a facelift....but we got a great deal on the room and so didn't mind the few imperfections.
The club rooms and club lounge are in a separate building....connected by the a hallway, but you do have to take two separate elevators, but it was really straightforward after one of the hotel hostesses showed us to our room and explained.
The club lounge was wonderful...nice selection of breakfast items, the tea items and dinner items were delicious and having a place to have a drink and relax for a few minutes was lovely. there are a couple of computers with a printer in a separate lounge that is open 24/7 with fridges full of waters and cokes/diet cokes. I used the printer to print out directions and really liked having that available.
The location is on regent street, a block and a half up from Oxford street and the Oxford Circus tube stop. Our room looked out over Regent, which was already decorated for Christmas and it was so nice to look out and see the hustle and bustle. There was some street noise, but nothing that kept us up.
The ac and heat were easy to use and the windows were double pane, but were easy to open. The water pressure was good as well.

We went to the indoor pool/spa/and sauna one evening and all were great and very relaxing.

The Artisian bar was a lot of fun...we met friends there for drinks one night and were well taken care of by the friendly bartenders and hosts. We were a young group and there was none of the snotty attitude that can be found at so many nice hotels or bars.

Check-in, and check-out was seamless.

Overall, a really great experience...the staff was all very friendly and attentive without being overbearing. The club rooms could use a bit of refreshing, but were more than comfortable and I am looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: We loved the club room amenities, so I would recommend splurging. Plus with free waters, diet cokes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lab2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Reception polite and efficient.Upgraded to Lanholm Executive room (which almost could be called a suite).No noises from inside or outside the hotel.Bed and all accoutrements of a high standard.Food & drinks in Club Room exccellent.
Location perfect for travelling anywhere in Central or Greater London.
Would return without hesitation,and highly recomend to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xtrav41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#51 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,323 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#16 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Marylebone
The Landmark London
The Landmark London
#48 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#27 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,294 reviews
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#78 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#52 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, London

Property: The Langham, London
Address: 1c Portland Place | Regent Street, London W1B 1JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in London
#25 Business Hotel in London
#33 Romantic Hotel in London
#36 Family Hotel in London
#46 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, London 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langham, London has been delighting guests with gracious hospitality since it opened in 1865. Exuding a timeless elegance, this London hotel offers impeccably luxurious surroundings on Regent Street, one of the city's premier locations close to many local attractions and popular shopping destinations. Guest will be delighted with Artesian, the World's Best Bar as voted for by Drinks International, Palm Court, famed as the birthplace of afternoon tea, and Roux at The Landau with menus created in collaboration with celebrity chefs Albert and Michel Roux. Complimentary to hotel guests, enjoy use of Chuan Spa featuring a state-of-the-art gymnasium and a 16 meter swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Langham, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, London Hotel London
Langham Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing