We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Langham, London
Ranked #44 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Tis hotel lives up to its brand promise, a fairytale wonderland . Just spent a week here on my first trip to London.

A perfect location, right in the centre of Regent street, Oxford Street etc. Shopping at your door step, great restaurants around and handy to everything.

The service at the hotel is impeccable , with girls (and guys) dressed in beautiful Chnael inspired uniforms, unobtrusively waiting to meet your every need.

A gym that invites you to exercise, a pool that inpires you to swim, a bed , aptly named a heavenly bed , that you will never want to leave , save for the excitment of London town calling you with all that it has to offer.

Splurge on the Club Lounge rooms with all their benefits. Champagne with scones for afternoon tea makes for an enjoyable afternoon, and drinks and canapes before heading to the theatre is just perfect.

I wouldnt stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Book a Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussiExpatinHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,442
    593
    160
    57
    33
See reviews for
672
1,278
136
656
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, Surrey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

My husband and I were due to visit London on a Friday night in Marc, to celebrate a friend's birthday. We made a last minute decision to stay in a hotel as we felt too tired to rely on a taxi back to Surrey late at night. We found an excellent last minute price online for the Langham and booked it enthusiastically as we stay at the Langham in Hong Kong regularly on business and just love it (in fact the Langham Hong Kong is one of my all time favourite hotels).

We had booked our room online via a booking website at 7:00pm. We arrived at the hotel at around 9:00pm. The booking had unfortunately not reached the Langham system by this point. The receptionist was very apologetic but we assured him that there was nothing to worry about and that we could wait. It was suggested that we sit down with the concierge and give him some details of our booking. We did this and within 5 or 6 minutes the booking was created for us. The concierge was very polite and helpful in doing this.

The Langham itself was everything that we expected it to be. Elegant, charming and comfortable - just like the Langham Hong Kong - but instead it was contained in a historic building with stunning architecture. We found our room and were blown away by it's size. We concluded that we must have been upgraded (perhaps due to the delay in checking in). Wonderful! We made good use of the Artestian cocktail bar before going out. We had some absolutely delicious Moroccan style meze to set us up for the night.

So it all sounds excellent doesn't it? So why the 3 star rating? At around 3am we were woken suddenly by a blaring loud speaker above our bed. Some sort of test message for the speaker system was being transmitted and repeated 3 times. Our hearts were racing from being startled out of our deep sleeps. It took us both around 40 minutes to drift off again.

Now we are very reasonable, very understanding and very forgiving people. We were not angry about being woken. It was clearly an error or some sort of glitch with the loud speaker system - these things happen. We mentioned it on checkout so that tests could be done on the system, to prevent other guests being disturbed in the same way. The reaction that we got from the receptionist? "Erm.. okay. We'll look into it. Here is your bill, please note the charges from the bar".

NO eye contact and NO apology. Not even a simple "I'm very sorry to hear that". How hard is that to do? Manners cost nothing and though I am a very reasonable, understanding and forgiving person - I cannot abide bad manners. My husband and I looked at each other in surprise. The receptionist may have noticed our expression if he had looked at us. But he never did so we paid the bill and left without another word said.

We are so disappointed. We wanted to love this hotel and we wanted to make it our usual accommodation for stays in London (in the same way that it is in Hong Kong). But we feel that on principle, we will not be doing this. We have since stayed at the Intercontinental in Westminster and Park Lane. We cannot fault the manners of the staff there so will continue to use them for our London stays. Perhaps we will also consider switching the Intercontinental in Hong Kong for business trips.

I did send an email detailing our experience on the 22nd of March. There has been no response or acknowledgement of the email being received. We feel that we have allowed a reasonable amount of time for this so we are now leaving this review - with regret.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mslouisebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

This was a wedding anniversary present and we both thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Being the Easter Bank Holiday weekend we expected the hotel to be busy but checking in was a bit lengthy - we had to wait for our room so we went off to do a bit of shopping when we realised that we were not going to check in immediately. The staff were very sympathetic and maintained a very professional approach to the whole thing. As a result we were offered a bottle of wine in our room and a card which really made us feel good. The hotel amenities were also excellent - we were able to use the gym and spa. We did not dine in the hotel as we had planned to go out but breakfast in our room was very nice and presentation of the food and setting was excellent. I would wholly recommend this hotel and would definitely be looking to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is such a beautiful hotel, elegant, supmtuous and very special. The room we stayed in was on the 5th floor so good views of London! No noise at night (and I am a light sleeper), very comfortable room, bed, linen, pillows, dressing gowns, slippers, very clean and nicely decorated -classical bathroom with numerous accessories.

Although this did not spoil our stay it is worth mentioning that : Checking into our room was delayed by a few hours but we were given access to the private bar/lounge and refreshments. The hot water to our bathroom ran out on the first morning, this was fixed the same day and compensation was given.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsaclegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We spent two nights at the Langham with our kids, ages 14, 11, and 6, and had a terrific time. The hotel's location, rooms and service were all great. We especially enjoyed the Langham Club, where it was easy to stop in for a bite to eat or a drink in a calm and lovely spot -- a great respite from the hectic city.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would return to Langham. The hotel was so lovely, clean and plenty of space. Dining area and staff were great, food delicious. Location is perfect based in cetnre of London.
Shopping was great and relaxed in lovely lounge with nice bottle of wine and will return!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SensualCuisine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in this beautiful hotel. It even smells divine. We had afternoon tea, breakfast in 2 different restaurants and made full use of the amazing bar. The staff are superb, as good as claridges or the ritz - best in class. Unfortunately our time in the leisure facilities was marred by the behaviour if another couple who, to put it politely, appeared to be in the 'honeymoon phase' of their relationship and were keen to prove just how virile they were, to the assorted other guests, including a few kids who were hastily led away by their shocked grandmother!

Other than that, our stay was absolutely wonderful and I would love to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtqp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#52 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,378 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#18 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Marylebone
The Landmark London
The Landmark London
#48 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#55 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#75 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, London

Property: The Langham, London
Address: 1c Portland Place | Regent Street, London W1B 1JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in London
#25 Business Hotel in London
#33 Romantic Hotel in London
#36 Family Hotel in London
#44 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, London 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langham, London has been delighting guests with gracious hospitality since it opened in 1865. Exuding a timeless elegance, this London hotel offers impeccably luxurious surroundings on Regent Street, one of the city's premier locations close to many local attractions and popular shopping destinations. Guest will be delighted with Artesian, the World's Best Bar as voted for by Drinks International, Palm Court, famed as the birthplace of afternoon tea, and Roux at The Landau with menus created in collaboration with celebrity chefs Albert and Michel Roux. Complimentary to hotel guests, enjoy use of Chuan Spa featuring a state-of-the-art gymnasium and a 16 meter swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Langham, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, London Hotel London
Langham Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing