We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, London
Ranked #46 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

A lovely ambient of a traditional grand hotel with fresh and lovely smells all around. They have beautiful flower arrangements and cosy decor throughout. It was indeed extremely warm welcome right from the doorman till we settle comfortably in our room at 9am upon arriving from Kuala Lumpur that morning. Room was very clean and very comfortable with comfortable kingsize bed and luxurious bed linen.The bathroom was very clean and toiletries were from their own "Chuan Spa". Staff were all very charming, pleasant and helpful.

We enjoyed dinner at Roux at the Landau. Buffer breakfast was good and if its full they send us to Roux at the Landau for set breakfast which was equally good.

Location simply fantastic. Very convenient and central too. The busy Oxford Street and Regent Street were just a short walk away. Even Selfridges and Primark were within walking distance. Take the inner roads/streets to enjoy a different view and explore the area. Oxford Circus station is just abt 100 meters away. The black cab/taxi is ever available. Bus stops are also nearby.

Well done to all staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,434
    593
    160
    57
    33
See reviews for
670
1,274
135
656
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My son and I have just returned from an exteremely enjoyable stay. We visit London the same week every year and usually stay at the Saint Georges opposite. We have always wanted to try The Langham and this year we decided to give it a try as we were celebrating the end of my son's GCSEs and also him obtaining two organ scholarships for sixth form. We booked a family classic room and were delighted to be greeted with a small selection of cakes on arrival. We had afternoon tea on our second day which was excellent. Breakfast in both restaurants was of a high standard with The Palm Court having a more relaxed atmosphere.

I have just two slight negatives. I had requested a quiet room and although the room was very spacious and comfortable there was a constant mid level hum which seemed to come from above the lobby ceiling. We could only assume that it was some kind of extraction system which ran above our room. It most certainly wasn't anything to do with the room heating/ air conditioning as this was switch off. The boarding on the ceiling appeared very loose with a lot of gaps. I would have asked for a room change but by the time we'd realised the problem we had unpacked and settled in and did not want the hassle of moving. We also wanted a room overlooking All Souls Church which the one we had did
Also the bathroom extractor fan was on constantly and not linked to the light switch as is common practice so that made it very noisy which is far from ideal if you want to enjoy a relaxing bath.

All in all we would definitely return to the Langham although not to room 735.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Well, what can I say. The Langham hotel is the most luxurious hotel I've ever stopped in. My partner and I spent a long weekend in London and opted for the Portland Suite. It was amazing. Champagne, chocolates and flowers were waiting in the room for our arrival, the bathroom was marble with a nice sized bath and one door led to the lavatory and the other, a spacious, powerful shower room. The tap on one of the sinks was broken so I just used the other sink.

The lady on reception, Asta, was just lovely. Check-in was swift and our bags were delivered to our room within minutes. Check-out was too hassle-free and we were seen to immediately. The doormen were always friendly and happy to help.

With the suite we booked, we had access to the Langham lounge which offered a full range of breakfast choices in the morning, a light afternoon tea for lunch and my favourite part, the champagne, or many top shelf spirits and 'canapés' between 5:30pm and 8:30pm. They offer canapés but what you really get is a full evening meal, the lamb on our first evening was divine, a selection of cold meats, meze and canapés. The waiters/ waitresses were exceptional.

On Friday night music was being played in the bar until late and there were very noisy guests staying above us and after being woken at 5am and complaining, the noise stopped very quickly.
We dined in the Roux at the Landau on our second evening and chose the Chef's menu. One of the waiters did ask if we were aware of the price so we were a bit taken aback. However, the food and wine were delicious. We had five different courses and wines that complimented each other perfectly. The service was fantastic.

Overall, our stay was near perfect and with the funds we'd definitely return. To add, during my fantastic stay at The Langham, I spotted Nicole Sherzinger and had my picture taken with two stars from the film, The Raid.

Room Tip: If you do not sleep well with noise, ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kershia Kewi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

An extremely warm welcome at this traditional grand hotel, where we were able to check into our refurbished 'grand' room early. The hotel smells lovely with beautiful flower arrangements. Room fresh, clean and very comfortable, with very comfy bed and nice bed linen. Bathroom a little dated but very clean, but not an issue for us. Great lunch at Roux at the Landau, and equally good breakfast there too. Artesian Bar very buzzy with a wonderful atmosphere, expensive drinks, super service and nibbles.

Universally charming, helpful staff, good food and very comfortable accomodation in a convenient central location made for a very pleasant stay. Having experienced many London five stars, this was well up there with the best, and is clearly very well managed.

Room Tip: One in the refurbished wing. Our 'grand' room which is the same as a standard 'classic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaspari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed one night for a special treat. The receptionist was efficient, friendly and helpful. The classic room was a good size. When I sat on the bed I thought it was going to be too soft, but it was really comfy and I had a good nights sleep. The lighting was a bit subdued for me but that was only a minor thing. The room was spotless. The toiletries included two toothbrushes and mini toothpastes, shaving things, cotton buds and pads, sewing kit, shower cap, soap, large shampoo, conditioner, body milk and shower gel. You had a complimentary paper in the morning. There was a small dressing room/office space between the bedroom and large bathroom (our room was suitable for wheelchair access so it had a huge shower with a seat and rails etc). We had a lovely stay and look forward to staying again, but next time I would love to try their afternoon tea and and have a drink or two in the bar.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJandLJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at The Langham in June last year. The room was beautiful and the bed very comfortable. We stayed here three nights due to us sight seeing and going to see capital FM summer time ball.
A few bug bears:
Every time we re-entered the hotel the security on the steps stopped us and didn't seem to believe we had a room, until we dug our key out of our bags, and even then they were very suspicious. They looked and talked to us as if we couldn't possibly afford a room at this hotel, we may be in our early 20's but there is no need to be pompous.

The staff in the bar, which we believed to be 24 hours, tried to make us leave at 12am, but people were continuing to enter the bar. We couldn't understand why they were rushing us out, we weren't being loud or disruptive, or even drunk. We thought at the time perhaps they wanted us out because a "celebrity" wanted to come in. Still it was very frustrating.

Although this hotel is lovely, I don't think I would stay at this hotel again, it is too over priced, and unfortunately staff seem to be very snobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was back again at the Langham in June and have to say that it remains my favourite. Perfectly located for the West End and shops, great bar for the evenings and service is top class. late check-out was arranged in the blink of an eye. It merits its 5 star rating and I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#52 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,373 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#18 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Marylebone
The Landmark London
The Landmark London
#49 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#54 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#76 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, London

Property: The Langham, London
Address: 1c Portland Place | Regent Street, London W1B 1JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in London
#25 Business Hotel in London
#33 Romantic Hotel in London
#36 Family Hotel in London
#46 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, London 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langham, London has been delighting guests with gracious hospitality since it opened in 1865. Exuding a timeless elegance, this London hotel offers impeccably luxurious surroundings on Regent Street, one of the city's premier locations close to many local attractions and popular shopping destinations. Guest will be delighted with Artesian, the World's Best Bar as voted for by Drinks International, Palm Court, famed as the birthplace of afternoon tea, and Roux at The Landau with menus created in collaboration with celebrity chefs Albert and Michel Roux. Complimentary to hotel guests, enjoy use of Chuan Spa featuring a state-of-the-art gymnasium and a 16 meter swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Langham, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, London Hotel London
Langham Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing