We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, London
Ranked #41 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We spent 3 nights in club room and it was wonderful. Our flights to Vienna pre Christmas were cancelled because of snow, so Langham was a replacement treat. Service is extraordinary. The concierge was terrific, the club room a haven from the madding crowds, the food delicious and nothing was too much trouble. This is not a cheap option but I was happy to pay the bill because it was worth it - we had a really lovely stay!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flurry2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,478
    602
    160
    57
    33
See reviews for
682
1,296
137
668
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

How to describe the Langham London..? Perhaps as a well bread English woman; elegant, poised, yet somehow cold and aloof best does it.
The hotel is certainly beautiful, but the staff seem to exhibit an aloof demeanor that makes guests feel almost as though they are intruding.
We stayed in the Langham Club for 4 nights, yet each day the staff carried on as though they'd never seen us before. In Langham Clubs in Asia and the Pacific they recognise you and address you by name after just a few hours, perhaps the London hotel could learn from this.
Rooms are nice enough. Bathroom was cavernous with separate shower, bath, and toilet. The Club Lounge was just ok... A little on the small and pokie side.
Also bear in mind that the hotel is huge, you can get lost in the maze of long corridors.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbarberini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We returned to The Langham,after having a superb afternoon tea in the summer.This time we stayed and everything about our stay was perfect.The room was lovely,the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in.Festive afternoon tea was very special and breakfast in the restaurant equally good.Without exception the staff are friendly,efficient and unobtrussive.I have nothing bad to say about this hotel,we arrived on a snowy day and although I was really looking forward to seeing Lndon at Christmas,momentarily I wondered why I would actually want to step outside when I was in such a beautiful,enchanting and welcoming place!
If you want a treat don't hesitate.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohsoserene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

This is the 3rd time we have stayed here this year and, once again, cannot find fault with the hotel, except restaurant, (see separate review).

The staff are very helpful and courteous. It is well worth staying in a club room as you get access to the club lounge for breakfast, snacks and drinks and afternoon tea, which is very agreeable after a day of shopping.

Easily within walking distance of the major shopping areas or a short hop on a taxi to everywhere else.

We will definitely be back in 2011.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HcopterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Having been to the Palm Court here earlier in the year for afternoon tea, I decided to go for festive afternoon tea and then stay one night. It was a Christmas treat for my mum and dad.

We stayed in what is called the classic family room. It was fantastic - very, very spacious, spotlessly clean and warm (it was the weekend of all the snow). The beds were queen size and felt bigger than that - they were enormous!! And very comfortable. The standard of service matched the 5* hotel rating and indeed exceeded our expectations. The staff were so pleasant and frequently asked/checked everything in our room and the hotel generally was ok for us and if there was anything else they could do for us. It was a real treat to have our beds turned down in the evening - we felt very special!!

Breakfast was included in the price we paid and we had it in the Landau restaurant. The food was so good, beautifully prepared, cooked and served and there was plenty of choice. I had fresh (real) fruit juice, a beautiful exotic fruit salad, yoghurt with fruit compote, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, toast, dainty danish pastries and gallons of tea. Amazing - and the portions were huge. I was set up for the rest of the day. My parents had the same but had bacon and eggs instead of the salmon. They were equally as impressed with the catering.

Yes, this was a very special treat and not cheap but it was worth every penny and I will return one day when I want another pampering overnight stay. Many thanks to all the staff who provide all the services.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suisse
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Huge family-room with lots of windows, great beds, very nice and helpful staff, perfect location for shopping or sight-seeing.
Only negative points: Internet-access should be complimentary in such a high-level hotel. Room was a too cold, aircon was unable to heat suffciently

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vigouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2010

As expected, service and ambience were first class. However, although our room was well furnished and equipped, it was too small. Given the 5 star rating and the the five star tariff, the standard double room should be larger with two easy chairs rather than one. Our full english breakfast and the accompanying service were excellent but our plates were stone cold; a serious and very surprising error at this end of the market. The room size was the biggest disappointment and we will probably look elsewhere for our next visit to the West End.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simoncook5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#55 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,413 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#17 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Marylebone
The Landmark London
The Landmark London
#48 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#53 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#71 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, London

Property: The Langham, London
Address: 1c Portland Place | Regent Street, London W1B 1JA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in London
#25 Business Hotel in London
#33 Romantic Hotel in London
#36 Family Hotel in London
#41 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, London 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langham, London has been delighting guests with gracious hospitality since it opened in 1865. Exuding a timeless elegance, this London hotel offers impeccably luxurious surroundings on Regent Street, one of the city's premier locations close to many local attractions and popular shopping destinations. Guest will be delighted with Artesian, the World's Best Bar as voted for by Drinks International, Palm Court, famed as the birthplace of afternoon tea, and Roux at The Landau with menus created in collaboration with celebrity chefs Albert and Michel Roux. Complimentary to hotel guests, enjoy use of Chuan Spa featuring a state-of-the-art gymnasium and a 16 meter swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Langham, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, London Hotel London
Langham Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing