We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Stafford London
Ranked #27 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, CI
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Love this hotel. I have stayed here twice with my partner. We love it! Stayed over New Year last year in one of the suites you get via the courtyard and then again for my birthday this month. Its location is perfect with so many sights to see within walking distance. ( not to mention all the shopping opportunities!)

We have never eaten here though apart from breakfast which was divine. The eggs benedict were so delicious I have yet to have one as good.

The American bar is fab too and so many photographs and things to look at.

I would HIGHLY recommend staying here. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skabenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
I'm very glad to see a post from one of our repeat guests. Breakfast is indeed a highlight of any stay but next time, you really must try our new all day dining concept in The Lyttelton. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    154
    46
    19
    6
See reviews for
227
450
74
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

What a find. We booked through Superbreak and were not disappointed.
As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were made to feel special. We were shown around and were bowled over by the decor, cleanliness and atmosphere.
The room was spotless, when we arrived back from the theatre our bed has been turned down, our slippers put by the bed and a welcoming bottle of water left for us to enjoy. Breakfast was a wonderful silver service experience !
We will definately be back !!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I agree with you that it is the small details that make all the difference and hearing that it has made the difference to your stay is what motivates my team to work even harder. We all look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The hotel has changed a bit since it was taken over by new management in the last year or so. The dining room isn't stodgy -- that whole front area has been opened up, creating a nice, warm atmosphere and the food has improved. The American Bar seems busier and the rooms, especially in The Mews, are as roomy and comfortable as ever. A little of the can-do spirit lags in some of the newer (non-British) hires, which could pose a threat if allowed to grow (I was stunned to hear the word "no" uttered to a fairly reasonable request only to have a "yes" provided by a manager. But we still had a breakfast turned in fifteen minutes when we decided to change our departure, which we decided to do on the unsolicited advice of the concierge, just the kind of personal service that brought us back to the hotel. The atmosphere in the outside area could be improved by getting the St. James Hotel to do something about its vent system, which spews noise into the American Bar courtyard.

Room Tip: Go for The Mews
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kev1438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Thank you for your review. I am glad to see that overall you like the result of our recent refurbishment. I have noted your comments on the noise from the St. James's club and rest assured this is a point we are in discussion with them on and hopefully we will be able to find a suitable solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2011

It is dificult to describe the entire experience, but every thing was very very ok. The location, the service, the everything. I will be back

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seruiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We booked this hotel through a Travelzoo offer, but we didn't realise how good an offer it was until we arrived. The location of the hotel is hard to beat. St James's Place is a small quiet side road set next door to the Ritz and Green Park.
The reception staff were very friendly, showing us round the hotel facilities before taking us to our room.

The room was on the small side, but perfectly formed and spotlessly clean. The bed's were extremely comfortable and the air conditioning easy to control, as it is normally too hot in hotels. Two bottles of complimentary water are left in the room, which you don't get in every hotel. A nice touch. Only bad comment would be part of the housekeeping routine should be to check the Bose alarm clock setting ,as it went off at 6am, which I was not best pleased about as we were having a quiet weekend away without our children waking us up early.

After our shopping expedition we stopped in the hotel's Amercian bar for a drink. Again the service was great and the Sauvignon Blanc was chilled and delicious.

We had also taken up the Travelzoo offer for eating our dinner in the hotel's Lyttelton Restaurant. When we come to London for a weekend aways we normally eat at one of Gordon Ramsay's restaurants, so this was a change for us, but it was actually the best bit. Our food was delicious. The menu had a good selection of food. The service was attentive and the wine advice excellent. My only comment would be they need a desk just outside the restaurant to greet their customers and check their booking arrangements. At the moment you walk into the middle of the restaurant and stand there until a member of staff comes over and show you to your table.

Our offer included breakfast. The restaurant was alot busier, than the evening before and staff did not seem totally organised, but breakfast was delicious.

Overall I think there are few v small teething problems, but would certainly not stop me staying there again. Next time I will bring our children too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your views. I have passed your comments regarding the alarm clock to our Housekeeper and she is pleased to incorporate a quick check of this into her daily routine. Chef was also very pleased with your comments on his food and we are working hard to improve the service levels during the busy weekend breakfast period. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My wifw and I have just completed a weekend break in The Stafford and had a fantastic time. The location and service from the staff could not have been better from our check in to check out nothing was too much trouble.

It's like a home away from home (except with better toiletries).

We shall be back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briandandmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
I was very glad to hear that you felt at home here. Watch out for our new toiletries, soon we will be reinstating the quintessentially English Floris brand with a fragrance that is bespoke for The Stafford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, Berkshire
Level Contributor
130 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This Hotel is outstanding in every aspect. The service, food and quality of the rooms were faultless. My wife and I regularly go to London and stay over night after watching a show so having stayed in many similar graded hotels I can safely say that the Stafford Hotel was superior to them all. The bed was large and cozy (great nights sleep), the room was newly decorated with good fixtures and fittings and the TV was connnected to a Bose sound system all making for a great overnight stay. I will definitely be re-booking within the next six months and I have my fingers crossed that they can maintain the level of quality

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenhamParty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Thanks for your review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and will be back next time you are in London. We take great care in providing consistent standards so I will look forward to your feedback next time you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#89 of 1,067 in London
815 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#131 of 1,067 in London
1,423 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,067 in London
3,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,067 in London
1,392 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,067 in London
784 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#28 of 1,067 in London
3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stafford London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stafford London

Property: The Stafford London
Address: 16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stafford London 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of historic St James’s, and just minutes from London’s iconic landmarks and vibrant West End, The Stafford London is one of the finest luxury hotels in the Capital. Luxuriate in the stunning individually designed rooms and suites, dine in cool sophistication in The Game Bird and relax with a cocktail in the renowned American Bar. Our stylish rooms and suites are guaranteed to help you relax. The Main House, is a blend of Victorian grandeur and modern comfort, while the Carriage House offers a unique, countryside ambiance in the heart of London. The Mews Suites and Penthouse offer classic, contemporary elegance and the comfort and discretion of your own private residence at one of London’s most prestigious addresses. The Game Bird restaurant is a contemporary tale about relaxed dining at any time of the day. A place to eat, drink and socialise, the focus is on modern British comfort cooking executed with style and panache, all wrapped in a seductive ambience that oozes cool sophistication. For a more relaxed atmosphere, visit The American Bar, where every available wall and surface is crammed with an intriguing collection of artefacts, knick-knacks and signed celebrity photographs donated by patrons and guests over the years. Open daily from 8am, enjoy a casual breakfast or lunch or simply soak up the history and relax with one of our speciality cocktails. There is even a private cobbled courtyard so you can enjoy outdoor dining at any time of day. Experience unrivalled luxury in one of London’s most historic and quintessentially English five-star hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Stafford London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing