We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet luxury in the midst of busy London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Stafford London
Ranked #24 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet luxury in the midst of busy London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Had the most marvelous stay at the Stafford together with my sister last August.
The location: in the middle of the Mayfair district, in a quiet street behind the Ritz.Right next to Green Park, it's only a short 5-minute walk to the Buckingham Palace or Picadilly Square.
The room: We stayed in a beautiful room with a king size bed in the Mainhouse. Fluffy pillows (and pillow menu in case you had special requests), Molton Brown products, bathtub (with its own rubber ducky!). I just wished the mattress was a little harder, but that's probably a personal preference.
The breakfast: We pretty much sampled the entire breakfast menu during our 3-night stay at The Stafford and loved the quaint breakfast room. Particular favorites in no particular order included: fresh berries salad, the thick-sliced bacon&waffles, the eggs benedict...
The service: Outstanding. Everyone was extremely helpful and pleasant. from the waitstaff to the concierge through the receptionist. We arrived at 11PM and were able to check-in quickly. We were also able to change dinner reservations last minute, get tickets through the concierge, book transportation early morning, all without problem.
The price: We were lucky as my sister works for another Kempinski hotel and we got a staff rate, so I can't comment on the regular rates.

Overall, The Stafford made our short stay in London a memorable and most comfortable one. Would come back anytime if I had the chance and recommend to whomever wants to experience a little bit of quiet luxury in the middle of busy London!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmopolicious81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    148
    46
    16
    7
See reviews for
218
439
73
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I spent a week in London and stayed at The Stafford and all I can say is what a great hotel and what a great location. Everyone we encountered during our stay went out of their way to make us feel welcome, especially Rebecca at the reception desk. The room was not large but quite adequate and the bed was fantastic. There are several Underground Stations within close walking distance. Make sure to have at least one meal at the American Bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
300 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel is located next to Green Park and close to some of the best shopping and sight seeing in Europe. The Stafford was an institution, and the recent blend with Kempinski has brought with it a more updated feeling through some recent renovation. The American Bar is still the same fantastic bar. The rooms are great, the service is very good without feeling 100% on par with the best of London (Lanesborough, Berkeley). To be able to eat outside at this location at a 5 star hotel (in the summer) is almost one of a kind in London.

Room Tip: A mews room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gudleiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at The Stafford after we found out The Park Lane was in need of refurbishing, and we could not have been happier. The Stafford is a small hotel in The Mayfair District, adjacent to The Park Lane underground stop. You can walk right to the hotel through the park, without having to cross a street. It is very convenient to Buckingham Palace, right around the corner from The Ritz and a short walk to Piccadilly Circus. You can even walk to the theater in Leicester Square if you want. Service at the hotel is friendly and very efficient, and our room was well appointed and a decent size for Central London. Our room came with a very nice continental breakfast, which I highly recommend. There is a nice restaurant on the premises as well as a pub with an outdoor seating area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanibelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We treated ourselves to a night here on our 25th wedding anniversary and will definitely be back. This is how a top hotel should be run, the service is fantastic without being fawning and the room was marvellous and the bed amazingly comfortable. The location is brilliant but the hotel is tucked away - we had no noise issues. The bar is a great place to spend a few hours and there are nice nibbles that come with the drinks.

Room Tip: Room 100 had an outside terrace which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Amazing hotel and location. The food in the dining room was really good. The lounge and outdoor patio were gorgeous. It was walking distance from Buckingham Palace, Westminster, etc. It is within view of St. James Palace. It was also a short walk to Fortnum Mason, Dunhill and other nice shops. I would stay there again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Any of the junior suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartaCat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is a well managed property in a terrific and quiet location as highlighted by other contributors.

We stayed in one of the Master Suites which was very well appointed, high quality fixtures and fittings with good lighting and a real sense of space. Only minor fault was with the water pressure in the shower. Americans always complain about British plumbing and in this case, they would be right, a mere trickle and not too much by way of temperature variation. A fixable problem in a bathroom that is larger than many hotel rooms I have been in.

The American Bar is great and has a loyal clientele who seem to drift from lunch to evening quite effortlessly and food is good with competent bartenders - not mixologists, as they wear ties and have combed their hair.

What doesn't work is the restaurant, it lacks physical appeal occupying the centre of the hotel but looks more like a temporary installation, hence other than at breakfast, it is empty which must be dispiriting for the staff. Management needs to provide it with some independent identity and a reason to be there. The Capital Hotel managed this extremely well until they went off piste with their new and disastrous venture but that's another story.

Would highly recommend as I think the hotel offers pretty good value and despite being "chain" managed, has retained a lot of character and independence.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nowvoyager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#86 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#128 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#28 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#26 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,356 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#20 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stafford London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stafford London

Property: The Stafford London
Address: 16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stafford London 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stafford London is a leading five star hotel in London and defines all that is quintessentially British. Located in the historical neighbourhood of St James's, it is set in a discreet and prestigious location beside the Royal Green Park. Opened as a hotel in 1912 and rich in history since the 1700s, it offers luxurious rooms and dining with an award winning, personalised guest service. The famous American Bar with floor to ceiling memorabilia and 380-year-old wine cellars are a sight to behold. Make sure to ask for a tour of the cellars and the in-house museum; the wine cellars doubled as a bomb shelter during WWII. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stafford London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing