We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place, great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Stafford London
Ranked #29 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Second time in London, i chose this hotel because it was luxurious and near picadilly circus. i couldn´t have made a better choice. the quality is superb, the staff are dedicated, helpful and kind to any request, and the whole place is just gorgeous. i would like to mention the great breakfast buffet (really great fruit!).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauriciuspuninhouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,172)
There are newer reviews for The Stafford London
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

The Stafford is very detail oriented and attentive. The staff are very professional and able to produce high quality standards with calm and decorum. The food is excellent and the service is perfect. The room is very good we had an upgrade to a suite which was most welcome after our last hotel... Highly recommended for those who favour traditional hospitality with flair.. Bit pricy though.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHP9477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Stafford Hotel is a beautiful hotel that prides itself on its outstanding service and hospitality. The hotel itself is a stately remodeled old city home for one of Britain's historic well-to-do families. The architectural elegance was maintained despite the need for upgrading and remodeling to meet the standards of a modern hotel. The location is ideal. If there is a fault with the comfort of the hotel, it is that the plumbing is still old and in some cases needs a little additional upgrade. Staff accommodated us without question and in reality, the problems are minor. The Concierge service was particularly excellent. It would be helpful to understand the tipping policy in advance, as the tip is added to the bill at the end of your stay.

Room Tip: The locale of our room was not an issue for us. Both rooms we stayed in were cozy, elegant and quiet...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SavannahStein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We've been to the Stafford many times but our last 5 day visit was the best one yet. As a result of booking through the "Small Hotels" program offered by American Express Platinum Travel Service we received a great room up grade as well as other benefits. The hotel has been refreshed since our last visit which added to the attractiveness overall. The American Bar is not to be missed and we didn't. We ha d drinks there each day and enjoyed the service and the clientele. Our upgraded room was a king and the bed was spectacularly comfortable. The amenities are first rate. The staff is incredibly welcoming, efficient and responsive. We cannot say one negative thing about this hotel. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Please note there is no pool or spa that I know of...I hit the ratings by mistake and couldn't e...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashford817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Stafford is tucked away in St James's Place but within a three minute walk from Green Park tube and Piccadilly and the sundry delights which central London has to offer. We stayed here for a long weekend and whilst much of that time was spent out of the hotel, the comfortable room offered a tranquil oasis to return to. As many others have remarked, the staff were friendly and helpful and the staff of the American Bar accommodated our gregarious group without batting an eye lid. The Stafford is to be recommended as a discreet hotel in a superb location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flipper20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here for 5 days during a trip with friends. It is a small charming hotel with a pleasant courtyard, a nice bar, and a good breakfast in the morning. Service was very pleasant, and everyone who worked here seemed friendly and helpful. It is very well located with just a short walk to the Green Park tube stop, and within easy walking distance of some wonderful small restaurants. Our room was in the hotel itself, and was small but comfortable. Our only complaint is that it was a terrible shower--the water pressure was so low that it took extra time just to wash my hair, and the temperature changed constantly and the only way to effectively manage this was to just step out of the water when it became either scalding or cold. This did not seem to vary with either the time of day or with toilets flushing. It happened every time we took showers. I thought perhaps it was because we were on the 6th floor (the top floor), but our friends on lower floors experienced the same issue. So just be aware when you get in the shower that it will be difficult to manage. Otherwise, really liked this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwright6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I booked a room through Amex Plat and got a good deal + perks that include an upgrade for a friend and myself and no difficulties in having them set up two twins instead of a king bed. We ate the Amex-included breakfast every morning, and it was plenty with yoghurt, cheese, fruit, croissants. The room, although tight in size, was fine, and the beds were extremely comfortable although the closet space was limited. The marble bathroom was pretty and included both a European tub and a separate tiny shower-- plenty of counter space and light. We didn't hear any noise at night.
Not only is the hotel quaint, pretty and quintessentially old English, but the location is superb. You are within easy walking distance of two different Underground lines or a 15 minute walk to Buckingham Palace or Parliament. The staff was attentive and helpful, and any requests or questions were addressed immediately. We visited the American Bar twice, but we were not wow-ed, although it appeared to be very popular with the cigar-smoking crowd. The fitness room was in a separate building and equipped with the basic essentials--we did have access to a larger gym down the street, but we didn't use that option.
I would definitely stay at the Stafford again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BbytthDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#100 of 1,072 in London
838 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,072 in London
4,075 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,072 in London
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,072 in London
814 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#133 of 1,072 in London
1,468 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#37 of 1,072 in London
3,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stafford London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stafford London

Address: 16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £298 - £700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stafford London 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of historic St James’s, and just minutes from London’s iconic landmarks and vibrant West End, The Stafford London is one of the finest luxury hotels in the Capital. Luxuriate in the stunning individually designed rooms and suites, dine in cool sophistication in The Game Bird and relax with a cocktail in the renowned American Bar. Our stylish rooms and suites are guaranteed to help you relax. The Main House, is a blend of Victorian grandeur and modern comfort, while the Carriage House offers a unique, countryside ambiance in the heart of London. The Mews Suites and Penthouse offer classic, contemporary elegance and the comfort and discretion of your own private residence at one of London’s most prestigious addresses. The Game Bird restaurant is a contemporary tale about relaxed dining at any time of the day. A place to eat, drink and socialise, the focus is on modern British comfort cooking executed with style and panache, all wrapped in a seductive ambience that oozes cool sophistication. For a more relaxed atmosphere, visit The American Bar, where every available wall and surface is crammed with an intriguing collection of artefacts, knick-knacks and signed celebrity photographs donated by patrons and guests over the years. Open daily from 8am, enjoy a casual breakfast or lunch or simply soak up the history and relax with one of our speciality cocktails. There is even a private cobbled courtyard so you can enjoy outdoor dining at any time of day. Experience unrivalled luxury in one of London’s most historic and quintessentially English five-star hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Stafford London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing