We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet an Elegant Oasis in St James”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Stafford London
Ranked #28 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quiet an Elegant Oasis in St James”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Stafford for two nights on business in December. What I really liked was the quiet but convenient location in Central London. The rooms are a little on the small side but are well appointed. Food is excellent and the staff helpful.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGuruMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    154
    47
    19
    7
See reviews for
233
456
75
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for three nights part of the family. The service in the hotel is excellent as it should be for a 5 star hotel. Very good concierge service. Location is excellent, you can't be close to everything, but trafalgar square, picadilly, hyde park and expensive shopping choices. House of parliament and westminster abbey are relatively close-by.
The thing that drops my review are the bathrooms. In both our rooms (different floors) it took a long time for hot water to come. And my father had to wait 20 minutes for hot water, which is unacceptable in a 5-star hotel. Granted it is probably due to the building being older and if many people shower at the same time there just isn't enough hot water to go around. Also the toilets flush was extremely weak, which at first didn't bother me. But after a couple of days it started to annoy me, since it couldn't flush down 1 piece of paper without flushing twice. Another small problem was the fact that we found old underwear in one of the rooms. It was slightly hidden as it was inside the closet at the back of the hat rack, but a room should be checked/cleaned thoroughly after each visitor. Otherwise the stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tepele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Tepele,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAvdvisor after your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate you being our guest and I am truly concerned to hear about the inconveniences experienced during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies. Rest assured we have taken all your points on board for immediate consideration as this was clearly not up to our usual The Stafford London by Kempinski standards. Your feedback is of great value to us and I do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to enjoy a guest experience that truly reflects the service we provide.

Your Sincerely,

Christine Hodder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havre de Grace, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I recently visited London and stayed Dec 28, 2013 - Jan 3, 2014 in the Stafford London by Kempinski, St. James Place, London, UK. The entire stay was delightful primarily due to the Stafford's staff. Their consideration, kindness and assistance was invaluable, especially since this was my first time there. From the registration process to check-out, all involved were pleasant, helpful and professional. All questions and requests we had were immediately addressed and answered much to our satisfaction. The dining room, lounge/bar, concierge, registration and housekeeping employees showed us the utmost respect and consideration, and we enjoyed many conversations that were both informative and pleasant. The entire visit with the Stafford was enjoyable and I look forward to again staying there.

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking the muse with morning sun and loved it. I could hear an interior fire door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramhall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Tucked away in the oasis of 1900s England is The Stafford. Only had breakfast this christmas which is a shame. Having stayed several times , i can confidently stay its one of the best in London. The worlds to big to say all of it. Fabulous staff, superb surroundings, exceptional location. Have a Gin and Tonic, read the walls in the American bar, its not footballers (though there are a few) and TOWIE. Its presidents and prime ministers. It is and has remained superb, as they say about Zermatt, "go here before you die".

Room Tip: Take a great credit card and beg
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is an amazing boutique hotel, within walking distance of major London attractions, it is small enough to be quaint and cozy but large enough to have great facilities but what makes this hotel stand out are the staff, truly wonderful. From the moment you arrive nothing is too much trouble and they go out of their way to help. 5 star luxury with a fab American bar.
Only very small niggle the cooked breakfast was not that great but the buffet breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Stayed on 5th floor looking over courtyard very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TT I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We booked last minute and were very happy we did. We visited London between Christmas and New Years and loved the city. The hotels location is super to access the underground or even walk to the Big Ben and London Eye! The breakfast in the hotel was yummy although very English style, with maybe a bit more variety needed. The staff was always very helpful and friendly. We really felt comfortable and cozy during our whole stay!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepsi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We booked quite late on a website so I did not know what to expect, just glad to get somewhere for New Years Eve. On arrival, the hotel looked charming and all the christmas decorations looked fab. The room had been ready from very early in the morning and my husband had dropped off our stuff. We had been upgraded to a suite on the 6th floor which was excellent, very smart furnishings and fittings with a small outside terrace. We polished off the complimentary champagne and then went down to have some lunch. The American Bar was very quaint and cosy and the staff here were excellent, very attentive bringing extra nibbles when we ran out and the food itself was very good. We returned to our room to get ready and enjoyed a hot shower and treading on the warm marble floors, a lovely touch. Our room was turned down at 6pm and there was water provided and free soft drinks. Also a coffee machine which I personally did not use but other reviews have said there wasnt any, maybe they are only in the suites!

I was sorry to leave and would highly recommend this place which isnt the cheapest but it is nice to treat yourself now and again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyBEssex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,068 in London
3,966 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#99 of 1,068 in London
823 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,068 in London
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#132 of 1,068 in London
1,434 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,068 in London
791 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#32 of 1,068 in London
3,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stafford London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stafford London

Property: The Stafford London
Address: 16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stafford London 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of historic St James’s, and just minutes from London’s iconic landmarks and vibrant West End, The Stafford London is one of the finest luxury hotels in the Capital. Luxuriate in the stunning individually designed rooms and suites, dine in cool sophistication in The Game Bird and relax with a cocktail in the renowned American Bar. Our stylish rooms and suites are guaranteed to help you relax. The Main House, is a blend of Victorian grandeur and modern comfort, while the Carriage House offers a unique, countryside ambiance in the heart of London. The Mews Suites and Penthouse offer classic, contemporary elegance and the comfort and discretion of your own private residence at one of London’s most prestigious addresses. The Game Bird restaurant is a contemporary tale about relaxed dining at any time of the day. A place to eat, drink and socialise, the focus is on modern British comfort cooking executed with style and panache, all wrapped in a seductive ambience that oozes cool sophistication. For a more relaxed atmosphere, visit The American Bar, where every available wall and surface is crammed with an intriguing collection of artefacts, knick-knacks and signed celebrity photographs donated by patrons and guests over the years. Open daily from 8am, enjoy a casual breakfast or lunch or simply soak up the history and relax with one of our speciality cocktails. There is even a private cobbled courtyard so you can enjoy outdoor dining at any time of day. Experience unrivalled luxury in one of London’s most historic and quintessentially English five-star hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Stafford London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing