We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogant Management, small Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Stafford London
Ranked #21 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Arrogant Management, small Rooms”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Outstanding location but the intransigence and arrogance of the hotel management ruins it. Mostly obnoxious yanks stay at this hotel. Stay away. Rooms are tiny, food mediocre, service is lousy and way, way over priced

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank azeemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Azeemer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate you being our guest and I am truly concerned to hear about your experience during the visit. Please accept our sincere apologies. Rest assured we have taken your comments on board and I would like to get in touch to discuss this further with you, if you are able to send your contact details to my assistant on sarah.pendrigh@kempinski.com . I do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to enjoy a guest experience that truly reflects the service we provide.

Sincerely yours,

Christine Hodder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    151
    46
    18
    6
See reviews for
221
444
74
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Framlingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I can't fault this hotel (well only that they modernised the American bar so it lost its atmosphere. This bar has many memories for me.) I have been coming here for decades and it continues to be pure pleasure. It is small, superbly located, with personal attention from the staff and luxurious rooms (on the small side by international standards). I always have smoked haddock and poached egg for breakfast and this time was better than ever. I got a better room rate this time than the last occasion a couple of years back and for the standard of the hotel it really wasn't expensive. I was cautious about the "Kempinski" name which it has gained since I was last there but I needn't have worried.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here for the first time for four nights. We managed to find a price good price, wanted to try a different hotel and the reviews we read we're very positive.
We had a very pleasant and warm welcome, and during our stay the staff was very helpful and kind.
We were offered an upgrade from the kingsize room we reserved to the stable rooms and we were taken to room number 5, Copenhagen. The rooms in the yard were used as stables at the time and were converted into very nice specious hotel rooms. Our room was big and comfortable. It has high quality shampoo and soap etc. The room also has a complimentary mini bar with soft beverages.
We did experienced few issues at the room.
The rooms are in an open courtyard, were cars can access and close to the bar. This can be very noisy sometimes, during early morning (we were very annoyed by that...) and in the evenings.
The second issue was the heating in the room. We were staying at a very nice weather, I'm not sure how the air-condition would be able to keep the room warm when it is cold outside.
The third remark is that the wifi, although free, was poor and sometimes didn't work at all.
These issues aren't appropriate for a five star hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Avi911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
117 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed at the Stafford November last year. It is very centrally situated amongst old histoic buildings not far from St James Palace and the Ritz London, as well as the Green Park stop on the Underground. You can easily access London by cab or subway, or walking, like we did. It is not far from the busyness of Piccadily and the Regent/Oxford shopping area. The check in was very courteous, and we got a nice small (by US standards) long room with 2 beds and a step up to the bathroom! We had to rearrange the furniture so we can open up our luggage! If you put the 2 beds together it will be what is standard in the US for a King bed. The bathroom is nice with marble floors and an old fashioned tub, and very small shower space. The hot water is a premium if there are a lot of people using it at the same time. Be careful! The towel rack pipes are heated so don't touch or hold on to it for support-they are hot! Many an ignorant American (like us) have been burnt because of it. The toiletries are wonderful and the rubber duckie is adorable and can be taken home for a souvenir. The hotel is old, so we still used old fashioned keys that you surrender to the front desk whenever you leave. The hotel's strict security is good, but discourages you to bring friends or have visitors over to drink or party. The walls are thin and the hallway is very narrow-you can stretch your arms and touch opposite walls at the same time. The restaurant downstairs leads another access to the pub then the street which is at the courtyard of other different historic buildings. The building is beautiful and old fashioned and the interiors are regal and formal, as it befits the history of the building and the area where it stands. It would be incongruous if the interiors were boutique or contemporary. So if going back in time to merry olde England is your cup of tea, this hotel with its decor and central location will suit you just fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichieSel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
212 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I spent three nights at the Stafford and I only have positive things to say. The hotel is small, sort of "hidden" from the chaotic, busy and noisy life that is London, but conveniently located from major shops, attractions, pubs, restaurants and public transportation. The staff were cordial and very professional. The room was very comfortable, clean with a modern bathroom. There were robes, slippers and hair dryer available in the room. Free internet available as well. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daba2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night and did not eat there so it is difficult to give a comprehensive review. I would say that the staff were knowledgable and helpful and someone always available to assist. Our main complaint was there was no hot water early evening when we were trying to get ready to go out...it was fine the next morning so whether the system was unable to cope....? Also be prepared to be awoken by your neighbour's door. The rooms appear to be very close together so someone exiting their room and not being careful with the door sends reverberations into your room.
That being said the room was very well appointed and the bed was really comfortable. Would definitely stay again if in that part of the city.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank scubanut62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hindhead, Surrey, Uk
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Top drawer service from everyone! We ate dinner in their restuarant, the food was exquisite with variety across the seasonal menu, beef carpaccio and rabbit Wellington topped of with the passion fruit parfait. Beautifully decorate throughout, not cheap but worth the money!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missnikkikrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#84 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#126 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#27 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#22 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stafford London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stafford London

Property: The Stafford London
Address: 16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stafford London 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of historic St James’s, and just minutes from London’s iconic landmarks and vibrant West End, The Stafford London is one of the finest luxury hotels in the Capital. Luxuriate in the stunning individually designed rooms and suites, dine in cool sophistication in The Game Bird and relax with a cocktail in the renowned American Bar. Our stylish rooms and suites are guaranteed to help you relax. The Main House, is a blend of Victorian grandeur and modern comfort, while the Carriage House offers a unique, countryside ambiance in the heart of London. The Mews Suites and Penthouse offer classic, contemporary elegance and the comfort and discretion of your own private residence at one of London’s most prestigious addresses. The Game Bird restaurant is a contemporary tale about relaxed dining at any time of the day. A place to eat, drink and socialise, the focus is on modern British comfort cooking executed with style and panache, all wrapped in a seductive ambience that oozes cool sophistication. For a more relaxed atmosphere, visit The American Bar, where every available wall and surface is crammed with an intriguing collection of artefacts, knick-knacks and signed celebrity photographs donated by patrons and guests over the years. Open daily from 8am, enjoy a casual breakfast or lunch or simply soak up the history and relax with one of our speciality cocktails. There is even a private cobbled courtyard so you can enjoy outdoor dining at any time of day. Experience unrivalled luxury in one of London’s most historic and quintessentially English five-star hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Stafford London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing