We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique hotel invery convenient position” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stafford London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Stafford London
Ranked #22 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
330 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel invery convenient position”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a small traditional boutique hotel. The hotel is really very good, well maintained and very clean. Lots of staff. Attracts an older clientele. Food good but expensive. Hotel accommodation is also expensive. . Plumbing an ongoing negative issue. The rooms are very well appointed. Great position and location. Close to busy tube station. Concierge alwaysommewhat snobbish.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manunited45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    147
    46
    16
    6
See reviews for
210
435
71
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel over the Christmas period. The room was a little on the small side but adequate. Staff really friendly yet professional. I love that this hotel is a little secret hideaway in central London on a quiet street. The food though is fabulous. They have a new chef, and it's a vast improvement on the previous incumbent. Beautifully presented and top-end quality; I will be returning to dine when not staying in the hotel, for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel itself is nice with polite staff. But the rooms are tiny & overpriced. We had a room on the 6th floor with no view to speak of. The bathroom drains smelled terribly whenever taps were opened. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotel, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Chanch,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback and while we are delighted to hear your positive comments about the staff, we are sorry that you also had some disappointing comments to make. We very much appreciate you being our guest and I am truly concerned to hear about your experience during the visit. Please accept our sincere apologies. Rest assured we have taken your comments on board and I would like to get in touch to discuss this further with you, if you are able to send your contact details to my assistant on sarah.pendrigh@kempinski.com . I do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to enjoy a guest experience that truly reflects the service we provide.

Sincerely yours,

Christine Hodder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
180 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on business mid-week and found it to be a very good hotel right by St James' Park.

I didn't have too much interaction with the staff but what I did have was very good both at check-in and at breakfast (continental breakfast was fine but the choice wasn't astonishing) where the service was very good.

I also sat in the bar for a while which was pleasant and, again, service is very good although it was pretty pricey and it was very busy and I'm not sure whether the clientele were guests or just well-heeled locals - everyone seemed to be suited and booted.

I was also a little surprised at how many bar tables had 'reserved' signs on them. I didn't know people reserved tables in a hotel bar.

My room was excellent, decent size for a London room and well appointed - nothing I could complain about there.

The only thing that I can't comment on is the price as someone else picked up the tab for me but I suspect it's pricey based on where it is and that might be the only thing that might stop me staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Outstanding location but the intransigence and arrogance of the hotel management ruins it. Mostly obnoxious yanks stay at this hotel. Stay away. Rooms are tiny, food mediocre, service is lousy and way, way over priced

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank azeemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Azeemer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate you being our guest and I am truly concerned to hear about your experience during the visit. Please accept our sincere apologies. Rest assured we have taken your comments on board and I would like to get in touch to discuss this further with you, if you are able to send your contact details to my assistant on sarah.pendrigh@kempinski.com . I do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to enjoy a guest experience that truly reflects the service we provide.

Sincerely yours,

Christine Hodder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framlingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I can't fault this hotel (well only that they modernised the American bar so it lost its atmosphere. This bar has many memories for me.) I have been coming here for decades and it continues to be pure pleasure. It is small, superbly located, with personal attention from the staff and luxurious rooms (on the small side by international standards). I always have smoked haddock and poached egg for breakfast and this time was better than ever. I got a better room rate this time than the last occasion a couple of years back and for the standard of the hotel it really wasn't expensive. I was cautious about the "Kempinski" name which it has gained since I was last there but I needn't have worried.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here for the first time for four nights. We managed to find a price good price, wanted to try a different hotel and the reviews we read we're very positive.
We had a very pleasant and warm welcome, and during our stay the staff was very helpful and kind.
We were offered an upgrade from the kingsize room we reserved to the stable rooms and we were taken to room number 5, Copenhagen. The rooms in the yard were used as stables at the time and were converted into very nice specious hotel rooms. Our room was big and comfortable. It has high quality shampoo and soap etc. The room also has a complimentary mini bar with soft beverages.
We did experienced few issues at the room.
The rooms are in an open courtyard, were cars can access and close to the bar. This can be very noisy sometimes, during early morning (we were very annoyed by that...) and in the evenings.
The second issue was the heating in the room. We were staying at a very nice weather, I'm not sure how the air-condition would be able to keep the room warm when it is cold outside.
The third remark is that the wifi, although free, was poor and sometimes didn't work at all.
These issues aren't appropriate for a five star hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Avi911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#97 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#125 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#29 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#26 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,296 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stafford London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stafford London

Property: The Stafford London
Address: 16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stafford London 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stafford London is a leading five star hotel in London and defines all that is quintessentially British. Located in the historical neighbourhood of St James's, it is set in a discreet and prestigious location beside the Royal Green Park. Opened as a hotel in 1912 and rich in history since the 1700s, it offers luxurious rooms and dining with an award winning, personalised guest service. The famous American Bar with floor to ceiling memorabilia and 380-year-old wine cellars are a sight to behold. Make sure to ask for a tour of the cellars and the in-house museum; the wine cellars doubled as a bomb shelter during WWII. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Stafford London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing