We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at your own peril”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Stafford London
Ranked #28 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The first room my adult son and I were given was dangerous as there were stairs leading up to a landing and a tiny bathroom. It was also too small to allow two adults to move around in comfortably. In the middle of the night, in the dark, I flew off the landing and bruised my shoulder and knees. Luckily, nothing was broken. So we were given a regular-sized room with no stairs and a regular-sized bathroom. At this hotel, the regular-sized room was considered an upgrade but in North America, this would have been a standard room.

Two days later, my son was sitting on the front stairs of this tiny hotel trying to make a long distance call to his girlfriend back home in Canada at one o'clock in the morning. Security at the hotel ordered him off the stairs in case patrons came in and out of the hotel. At that time, there was no one present but my son and he would have gladly moved if he had been in the way. The next day, the security man argued with me about his decision and no apology was given to my son.

If you choose this hotel, avoid choosing the breakfast as they charge $100 US for two persons each morning. Instead, we found a wonderful Italian cafe close by which sold fruit cups, juice, yoghurt, sandwiches and cappuccinos for less than $20 for two.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandiHill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotel, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear SandiHill H,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate you being our guest and I am truly concerned to hear about your experience during the visit. Please accept our sincere apologies. Rest assured we have taken your comments on board and I would like to get in touch to discuss this further with you, if you are able to send your contact details to my assistant on sarah.pendrigh@kempinski.com . I do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to enjoy a guest experience that truly reflects the service we provide.

Sincerely yours,

Christine Hodder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

We absolutely adored The Stafford. It is tucked away on a quiet street and just steps from the hustle and bustle of busy streets. We found the staff to be very warm and accommodating. Our room and bathroom were a bit small but were beautifully appointed. The bed was so comfortable that we found it hard to get up in the mornings. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast every morning and afternoon tea, as well. The American Bar is cozy and a great place to unwind at the end of the day with a small courtyard outside to enjoy when the weather is nice. It is a delightful hotel that invites you to relax...that is exactly what we want after a busy day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Patti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotel, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Patti G,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon!

Yours sincerely,

Christine Hodder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Was treated to a stay here by my husband. We were in awe of the beauty and level of service at this hotel. A real gem in the centre of London and a stones throw from harrods..
Would recommend to anyone

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank CazHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotel, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear CazHants,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to hear that you were delighted with the service provided. We hope to welcoming you back again one day soon!

Yours sincerely,

Christine Hodder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

If you're looking to be close to Buckingham Palace, some luxury shopping and Piccadilly Circle the location is perfect. The Stafford is in a quiet side street, almost hidden so the rooms are quiet (and it also take some time to get a taxi since they don't park around the corner or pass by). The hotel is in several old connected buildings that almost gives it a feeling of a B&B. If you like traditional and don't mind winding stairs and very squeaky wooden floors, you'll find this very charming. If you're into modern large rooms, this is not for you. The bathrooms are particularly small. The beds on the other hand are terrific. There's a nice court yard outside seating area - a great treat in the middle of the city. The restaurant is quite traditional and the bar offers standard bar food. The service was "understated". Very old fashioned everything. For this price I will go somewhere else the next time I'll be in London, not my style.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Busydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

It's in a great location if you have business in the StJames area. Rooms are small but this is the norm for London. Service is lacking. Check out took forever. Service at breakfast just plain bad. Bathroom was very small and water took a long time to heat up.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rtw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotel, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear rtw99,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate you being our guest and I am truly concerned to hear about the inconveniences experienced during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies. Your feedback is of great value to us and I do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to enjoy a guest experience that truly reflects the service we provide.

Your Sincerely,

Christine Hodder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Met an old friend for a light lunch at the Stafford , and what a wonderful experience it was , sat outside in the courtyard which is very pretty , and for central london very tranquil the three of us chose from the light bite menu I had the crab cakes which were very tasty and I think some of the best chips i have eaten, my wife had the Caesar chicken salad she said it was very good we .ordered wine by the glass it may have been better to have had a bottle . We were not rushed and sat there for three hours , the staff were charming and very attentive it was a very enjoyable afternoon, we will go back for a special occasion it was quite quite expensive but well worth the money

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a terrific stay in this Classic London hotel. The room was great ( we were in the mews rooms) and breakfast delicious. What really makes this place though is the people who look after you. Of particular note are Peter, a long standing member of the concierge team who is the personification of warmth and care and his team including James and Charlie. Nothing is too much trouble and delivery is done with style and old fashioned courtesy and style. The reception team too was warm, friendly and very accommodating. This has to be one of the best hotels around. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Rupert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,075 in London
4,116 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#81 of 1,075 in London
845 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#20 of 1,075 in London
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#134 of 1,075 in London
1,471 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,075 in London
820 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#31 of 1,075 in London
3,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stafford London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stafford London

Address: 16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £294 - £702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stafford London 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of historic St James’s, and just minutes from London’s iconic landmarks and vibrant West End, The Stafford London is one of the finest luxury hotels in the Capital. Luxuriate in the stunning individually designed rooms and suites, dine in cool sophistication in The Game Bird and relax with a cocktail in the renowned American Bar. Our stylish rooms and suites are guaranteed to help you relax. The Main House, is a blend of Victorian grandeur and modern comfort, while the Carriage House offers a unique, countryside ambiance in the heart of London. The Mews Suites and Penthouse offer classic, contemporary elegance and the comfort and discretion of your own private residence at one of London’s most prestigious addresses. The Game Bird restaurant is a contemporary tale about relaxed dining at any time of the day. A place to eat, drink and socialise, the focus is on modern British comfort cooking executed with style and panache, all wrapped in a seductive ambience that oozes cool sophistication. For a more relaxed atmosphere, visit The American Bar, where every available wall and surface is crammed with an intriguing collection of artefacts, knick-knacks and signed celebrity photographs donated by patrons and guests over the years. Open daily from 8am, enjoy a casual breakfast or lunch or simply soak up the history and relax with one of our speciality cocktails. There is even a private cobbled courtyard so you can enjoy outdoor dining at any time of day. Experience unrivalled luxury in one of London’s most historic and quintessentially English five-star hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stafford London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing