We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in the World”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Stafford London
Ranked #24 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Pinner
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in the World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

My wife and I decided on a weekend trip to London to celebrate our 32nd Annivesary. We saw a review on the Stafford on a TV travel show and decided to try it. From the moment we arrived when Richard the manager said "welcome home" we felt this was something special. We were fortunate to be upgraded from a queen double to a king double.. The room was light and airy with plenty of cupboard and drawer space. The public rooms are beautiful especially the American Bar where we ate on more than 1 occasion over the 3 days. We asked Richard about the wine cellar where the American and Canadian officer sheltered in the blitz during Worls War II. He offered to take us down to view this 380 year old store. A museum has been set up with items of memorbilia which were extremely interesting. no sooner had we told the receptionist that we were celebrating, a cake appeared in out room. Even the bellman offered to walk us accross the road to show us the shortcut to Green PArk. They just seemed to want to go that extra mile. I will certainly go back when I next stay in London.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JONBAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    148
    46
    16
    7
See reviews for
218
439
73
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

Can't disagree with any of the glowing reviews elsewhere on the page. We were only in town for a weekend, so thought we'd treat ourselves; and the Stafford proved well worth it. Welcoming staff, extremely well-appointed room (especially after finding we'd received an unexpected upgrade) and brilliant location. Can't comment on the food, as we had dinner plans of our own on the Saturday, and had our Sunday breakfast round the corner at the Wolseley (also highly recommended). Something to look forward to next time!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopicalTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

The Stafford is a little gem tucked away In St. James' Place London. The hotel is old though it has been recently refurbished. The lobby and lounge are quite small though charming and the rooms are cozy, though it had LCD tv and high-speed internet. The restaurant/coffee shop served a nice breakfast and decent food. The staff are extremely friendly and were even went out of their way to help.

The down side is that because it is so tucked away, even London cabbies are unfamiliar with it! (luckily they have GPS). The hotel is just behind Green Park and is a 2 minute walk from Green Park Station and a 10 minute walk from Piccadilly Circus.

  • Liked — Lovely rooms and great staff, right next to Green Park tube station
  • Disliked — hard to find
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Zhayynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

Lovely traditional hotel, in a quiet but central location. Our room was very comfortable, though perhaps a bit on the small side, with a great bed and nice bathroom. Service is welcoming and very professional. Free internet and laptop use is a bonus.

The hotel is expensive, but worth it if you can afford it. We definitely would return if planning to stay in the St. James/ Green Park area.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2008

An outstanding hotel in every respect.

I had read on Trip Advisor how friendly the staff were and thought that some folk must be exaggerating a little bit. To my delight this accolade was right on the mark. I have never experienced such friendly, helpful and diligent hotel staff anywhere.

Our room was very good, the bed in particular was an excellent size. It was by no means a top of the range room but could not be faulted.

The bar was very good too and very well stocked -however, I must warn those on a tight budget, don't get too carried away as this is an expensive place to drink. That said, I had the best 'whiskey sour' I have ever had!

Definitely a hotel I would recommend for anyone who wants homely comfort and style in the centre of London's West End.

  • Liked — The quality of service and friendly staff
  • Disliked — I would have liked a slighter larger bathroom
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mister_C_Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2008

When I travel to London, its the Stafford or nothing. simply the best in location, atmosphere and SERVICE.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank hossra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2008

I have never written a review before even though I have stayed at some top 5 star hotels in London (Covent Garden etc). However, I have just spent a weekend at the Stafford to celebrate my 40th birthday with my husband and I can honestly say it was the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in. Our room (a suite in the mews) was beautiful and the service provided by all of the staff was exemplary on every level. When we arrived back at the hotel on the Saturday evening I commented to one of the concierge that my feet were aching and his reply was 'never mind you're home now' and that is exactly how the hotel feels-like your very own exclusive home in London. We are already planning our next trip and can't imagine going to any other hotel in London.

  • Liked — The standard of service/the quality of the accommodation
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 40JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#87 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#128 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#30 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,357 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#20 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stafford London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stafford London

Property: The Stafford London
Address: 16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stafford London 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stafford London is a leading five star hotel in London and defines all that is quintessentially British. Located in the historical neighbourhood of St James's, it is set in a discreet and prestigious location beside the Royal Green Park. Opened as a hotel in 1912 and rich in history since the 1700s, it offers luxurious rooms and dining with an award winning, personalised guest service. The famous American Bar with floor to ceiling memorabilia and 380-year-old wine cellars are a sight to behold. Make sure to ask for a tour of the cellars and the in-house museum; the wine cellars doubled as a bomb shelter during WWII. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Stafford London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing