We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real birthday treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stafford London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Stafford London
Ranked #22 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgnorth Shropshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A real birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

What a find (and it does take some finding!!). Hidden away in a cul-de-sac in the St James area of London the hotel gives excellent access for theatres, restaurants and sightseeing but is in a lovely quiet location.
Better than this, it brings back all the olde worlde standards of service and quality that is now so difficult to find. Check in was a delight and included an offer to give us a guided tour of the hotrel before being shown to our room. Our room was super - quality furnishings and decoration, seperate dressing room, excellent marble bathroom and a really comfortable bed.
We had both dinner and breakfast at the hotel and several drinks in the bar. Service throughout was top quality and the food could not be faulted. One short session in the bar was after 5pm so one had to wear a jacket - a very nice touch,
We will certainly return. The hotel is part of the Kempinski chain.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
Thank you for choosing us for your birthday treat. We are all delighted that you enjoyed it and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    147
    46
    16
    6
See reviews for
210
435
71
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
andorra
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

I booked this Hotel through an agency and thought I had got a good rate but maybe the room might not be so big. I should not of worried ,as I was upgraded, furthermore I could smoke in it, nowdays this is a real plus. The room was a shear delight, spacious,quiet, well laid out, extremely restful. The breakfast was freshly made and afternoon tea so much we had to leave some. The staff in all departments are eager to please and nothing is to much trouble, its easy to see why as Stuart Procter, the General Manager is constantly at the forefront of the operation. Loved the bar and outside seating area in the mews, on a sunny evening I could not think of anywhere better in the West End of London to enjoy a drink of something. Thank you The Stafford.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forestAndorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
It was wonderful to meet you and thank you for selecting The Stafford. I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

I booked this hotel having read the glowing reviews about it on Tripadvisor. To be honest I wish I had read the 2 star reviews, before booking this hotel. I booked a special deal that included an upgrade to a Deluxe King.

I arrived by underground from Heathrow, after a 10 hour flight from Siberia. I met a colleague outside the hotel and entered to check in. It was obvious we were being looked at by the doorman, and was asked if he could help us. I said I was checking in and my colleague, who was not staying at the hotel sat down in the small sitting area near the door. The doorman never took his eyes off either of us. We did not look completely scruffy, but I was not in a suit. We both felt very uncomfortable. Not a great welcome.

I had to wait at the reception whilst the receptionist talked to another receptionist and then took a call whilst I stood there. There were apologies but it was not a good welcome. I was asked about my requests, including 2 newspapers. The hotel sends a guest request sheet to fill in, before arrival. I was given a brief tour of the hotel, but some vital things such as the internet connection in the lobby, breakfast serving times and gym were left out. I dropped my bags in the room, had a wash and left for the afternoon.

On my return with my colleague, we went to the bar but were refused entry as we were not wearing a jacket. I do not mind this at all, as I was informed in advance no jacket no entry, but we were not offered a drink in the room or lounge. We went out to a local supermarket and bought a bottle. After my friend had left I ran a bath. I noticed that the bath water had a lot of long black hairs floating on the surface. It was also obvious that the shower curtain did not smell very nice. I drained the bath, showered it down and rinsed the shower curtain. I was amazed that such a hotel could have a bathroom that was not cleaned properly. It was at this point that I noticed other things that were wrong. The side panel on the bath was falling off. There was red mildew on the grout around the bath. A strip of wood on the bath holding the panel was brown with stains. I look at the pair of scales under the sink and they were broken, glass cracked and one of the feet were missing. This is not what I had expected from such a prestigious hotel. I entered the bath and the soap holder fell off the wall. It had not been attached properly. In essence the bathroom had many maintenance issues, as you can see from the pictures.

I left the bathroom and then noticed that the carpet was filthy, behind the door was a large square patch of dirt and along the edges of the room, where the hoover could not reach was black.

Turn-down was just that, sheets turning down, no slippers or a chocolate. Once again I felt this was a minimal effort given the reputation of this hotel. The bed was a king but it was in fact two singles put together with a join in the middle.

In the morning no newspapers had been delivered. I had requested them and the receptionist had mentioned them, but non were delivered. I went to breakfast. During breakfast I was asked if everything was OK. I answered no and the waitress suggested I talk to the manager.

After breakfast I talked to the Resident Manager about the issues as detailed above. In all fairness he listened and wrote every concern down, but he answered some of my issues with an attitude that "This is The Stafford". Please do not get me wrong, he was very helpful but his attitude that this was The Stafford, was very slightly insulting. I know what I had seen and had some photographs to show what I was saying was the truth. I returned to my room and proceeded to look at every aspect of the room. I found a number of other issues. The headboard with full of bits of white fluff, it had not been cleaned properly for quite some time. The rod that should have been attached to the window was missing 2 screws. The window pane was filthy. The leather panel on the desk was curled upwards exposing the glue and wood. The skirting boards were chipped in many places exposing wood. There were plugs protruding from the walls by the curtains. Overall the room was not clean and there were a lot of maintenance issues.

I received a phone call from the Resident Manager, who informed me that the Hotel was refunding my money and if I would phone him, when I next wished to visit the hotel, he would make sure all would be OK.

I checked out of the room and asked to speak to the manager, Stuart Procter. I took my camera with me and showed him some photo's. I explained to him what the Resident Manager had said about it being "The Stafford" and had looked and found more problems. I was told that the room would be refurbished in 2011. We had a very pleasant chat and I was assured that he would personally ensure my next visit would be exceptional.

I have to conclude this review in this way. For me it is a puzzle how a room in such a condition, could be sold by such a hotel. It is very puzzling as it can only damage the reputation of the hotel. There were failures of housekeeping, maintenance and customer service in terms of the newspapers, bar and the welcome. Quite frankly this is the worst room I have seen in a five star establishment. In my opinion it should not have been sold, until all the issues had been resolved. If the matter had been left like that then my review would have given the hotel a rating of 1 star.

BUT

The story went on. Without any argument and without any problems, my money was refunded. The hotel manager listened to me and apologised for the failures. Too often nobody cares about the issues raised on check out. It would be a very easy thing to rubbish this hotel for the room and below average service, but at this hotel two managers tried to put things right. There was no arguing about the condition of the room or staff failures and I saw a PRO ACTIVE approach, money refunded and a complimentary stay at my convenience.

I could quite easily give this hotel a 1 star rating, but in all fairness I could not ask for much more from either manager, in finding a resolution to what had happened. This managerial approach is sadly lacking from so many London hotels.

I hope the room is cleaned and all the maintenance issues are rectified and a quality check system is put in place, to prevent this from happening again. I will be more than happy to give this hotel a higher rating if it deserves it, after my next stay.

I would recommend this hotel, so long as the issues that are outlined in this review, are dealt with correctly and I have faith they will be.

Thank you Mr Procter for your time on Thursday morning.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris_Cotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
It was a pleasure to meet you during your stay. I was sincerely sad to hear that you have never found a good Hotel room in London and rest assured that the refurbishment plan which I informed you about has been approved to ensure a continual investment in the property is undertaken so that all our rooms will be like the fabulous suites and deluxe king rooms at The Stafford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

Stayed for business on many occasions. Suggest you ask for the rooms in the Carriage House. The decor and architecture will make this a more rich experience. The service from all the staff is impeccable. Expect to be known by name if you are there more then a day. the American Bar in the hotel has mostly locals in the late afternoon, for a post work drink.
Minutes away from Hyde Park, and Royal Gardens. A short walk to Soho, and many shopping areas.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windsweptone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed our fabulous Carriage House and I look forward to seeing you home soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

Upon arrival we were slightly under whelmed by the reception area at the front of the hotel, perhaps needing a bit of an upgrade and some decoration plus some air conditioning. As you move deeper into the hotel there is a much grander feel about it than reception area would suggest. The bar is just fascinating we spent a good 25 minutes on Sunday morning just studying the incredible amount of memorabilia on the walls and ceiling.
We were pleasantly surprised to have been upgraded to a Mews room which was both large and beautifully furnished.
The cobbled courtyard seating area at the rear of the hotel was a fantastic place for a warm summer evening drink.
The hotel makes a huge play on its heritage and tradition and it provides an experience that is quite unlike any other we have had in London. You just get the feeling that if you were to ask why a thing was done in a particular way, the response would be because that is how we have always done it sir!!
Lovely staff, lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLGNewForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 6 July 2010
I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst we are a multinational hotel, we do pride ourselves on remaining quintessentially English and I'm very glad that you enjoyed this ascpect of our character. We look forward to welcoming you 'home' soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towcester
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

Having traveled extensively for both business & pleasure, I was somewhat surprised to find the room that we had at The Stafford fell well short of my expectations of a 5 star hotel. We booked though Last Minute.com & were offered a 5 star hotel in a "mystery location". We expected a discounted rate but not a "discounted room"!
The bathroom was uncomfortably small, with barely any room to move. The shower was totally inadequate - a shower-head over the bath in a very restricted space with a shower curtain that had to be fought off constantly (& we are both very slim!)
The bedroom, whilst adequate was rather dark & gloomy as it was situated on a low floor with a window that looked out onto a wall & therefore very little daylight.
On the plus side, we found all the staff to be very professional & helpful & the location is great but I'm afraid we would not choose to stay here again or recommend it to friends or colleagues.
Maybe Rm 123 is the only poor room & we were unfortunate to get this one, but we have had far superior rooms in other top hotels for the same price or less & were very disappointed! Ours was not a 5 star experience at all!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmithTowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 6 July 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I am saddened to hear that on this occassion we did not live up to your expectations and I would encourage you to contact my office next time you are in London so we may find a room for you that will better suit your needs. I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back and sending you away with happier memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

We booked this hotel as a mystery choice through Lastminute and what a stroke of luck! We stayed two nights in one of the Mews rooms which was way above our expectations a nice big room very comfortably furnished. The service was friendly but impeccable and the concierge staff were also excellent and helpful.The attention to detail was superb- including a free bowl of strawberries delivered to our room.The room service was good value and beautifully presented. It really did feel like home and we were very reluctant to leave. Our only regret was not having breakfast at the hotel but using the Wolsely restaurant around the corner which was overpriced and disappointing.We can't wait to go back and would not stay anywhere else in London.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayceeGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 6 July 2010
Thanks for sharing your experience with everyone. It is always a pleasure to see when people have enjoyed the upgrades that we are sometimes able to lavish on them. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#97 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#125 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#29 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#26 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,296 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stafford London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stafford London

Property: The Stafford London
Address: 16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stafford London 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stafford London is a leading five star hotel in London and defines all that is quintessentially British. Located in the historical neighbourhood of St James's, it is set in a discreet and prestigious location beside the Royal Green Park. Opened as a hotel in 1912 and rich in history since the 1700s, it offers luxurious rooms and dining with an award winning, personalised guest service. The famous American Bar with floor to ceiling memorabilia and 380-year-old wine cellars are a sight to behold. Make sure to ask for a tour of the cellars and the in-house museum; the wine cellars doubled as a bomb shelter during WWII. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Stafford London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing