We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real british hospitality you really feel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Stafford London
Ranked #28 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real british hospitality you really feel...”
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Real british hospitality you really feel at home and taken care at all times by the staff. The rooms are just fantastic. Internet was free, finally I find a hotel that's inteligent. Food was great especially at the American bar and the English breakfast was perfect real black pudding and great sausage. The location couldn't be better as you are in the middle of everything but with no noice from the city

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Womat2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 6 September 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings with others. I am glad to see that you felt at ease in our Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you 'home' soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    154
    47
    19
    7
See reviews for
233
456
75
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a three night stay at the Stafford booked through a Travelzoo deal £159 including full English breakfast and upgraded room. The hotel is a great little find situated behind the Ritz and so convenient to Green Park underground station. There is a shortcut which is only open until 10pm from Green Park to the hotel and it takes less than 5 minutes to the station.
The deal included an upgraded room which was delightful and was furnished with a king size bed, large bathroom with bath and separate shower, Bose radio/CD, Lowe TV, electric blinds/voiles, complementary water and newspapers (on request), slippers, dressing gowns, lots of toiletries etc etc. - little things which make a stay special. The inclusive breakfast was a delight. Great selection of fresh fruit juices, fresh fruit - we received a bowl of strawberries, blueberries, loganberries, raspberries and grapes followed by tasty bacon, sausages, eggs, mushrooms and, if you so desired, black puddings, kidneys, tomatoes etc. This was followed by a selection of pastries and delicious Welsh honey and jams. The breakfast was all waiter service - no queueing for lukewarm bacon and eggs from a bain marie!! One of the delights of our visit was a knock on the door - a member of staff brought us a bowl of fresh strawberries and a small box of excellent chocolates. This really made our stay so enjoyable - apart from In Cuba, we have never had a surprise like that before.
The downside - there are always downsides but nothing which would spoil our stay: there are no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms - this is something we always appreciate. I did mention this to a member of staff when asked about our stay and was told it had been commented on previously.
I would certainly recommend this hotel especially if you can obtain a good deal. There are cheaper deals around and we do tend to take more breaks as a result of deals but I think you would find it hard to beat this one.
Previous comments regarding staff not being helpful were just not applicable to our stay - ALL the staff were helpful and friendly and not a bit snooty which can be the case in some posher London hotels.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pedro3gb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 6 September 2010
I am delighted to hear that our special offer enticed you to try The Stafford and am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Not my favourite spot to spend the night in London; rather small suites and rooms, rather big bills.

Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
Thank you for providing us with your comments. The Stafford strives to remain in line with all other five star London properties with regards to pricing and I feel we offer excellent value for money. We differentiate our product by providing personal service in a relaxed yet professional manner. I hope we will have the oppotunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Stayed for one night with my wife and elder daughter. On arrival we were greeted warmly. My daughter initially thought it was a bit twee, not to her usual taste but after a while came round to it. She now raves about it and will not stay anywhere else in London. It is very well located being close to designer shops and yet is very secluded and peaceful at night. The staff were a delight, rooms were very clean and well appointed and breakfast amazing. Its not often, in even five star hotels, that breakast is served to table. The only thing which we felt a little tetchy about was being made to wear a jacket after five o'clock in the bar, but rules are rules no matter how silly. My wife has informed me that this will now be our base anytime we return to London.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boblav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Stafford experience and that your daughter is our new ambassador. I look forward to welcoming you 'home' soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presteigne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

My husband and I took my 80 year old disabled parents for a very special trip to London and stayed one night in this five star hotel. Even though I rang and emailed the hotel three times before our stay to try to make sure all went well, it was a disaster as soon as we walked in the door. The attitude of the staff was condescending and supercilious.
There was a catalogue of events that made our stay at the Stafford Hotel a nightmare especially for my elderly parents. For them on their very first trip to London ,it was exhausting and disappointing.
If you are thinking of staying at The Stafford just beware that it is not all it's cracked up to be.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bessiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
Sorry that you were disappointed in you stay with us. Rest assured this is not mine or my team's intentions and we generally get it right. I hope we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in The Stafford and to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Room was rather small and view limited to say the least when one considers it was a 5 star hotel (booked a special offer at a good price through a general site - was this a factor?). Everything else was wonderful - the ambience and the location. Felt spoilt. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Enjoyed the atmosphere in the American bar. Would love to visit again but would need to look for another special deal as it is beyond our usual budget. In a perfect world I'd upgrade and go there at every opportunity.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocbisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed the ambience and team here at The Stafford. We have 15 different room categories here and as you would expect they are priced mainly according to size and generally our special offers will apply to our smallest categories. Perhaps you will have the opportunity to upgrade to a larger category on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

What a wonderful place to stay. The staff are attentive & offer just the right level of personal service. This was my 2nd stay at the hotel - both suites we stayed in were individually designed (1 contemporary, & 1 traditional) , spotlessly clean, perfectly maintained, & looked gorgeous. I really appreciated the complimentary access to the Third Place - a fantastic gym & pool in the heart of the West End. The hotel's location is quiet & perfectly positioned for a short walk to Mayfair, Covent Garden, & the Theatres.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordHotelGM, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
Thank you for your comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed my team's service and that you appreciated The Third Space. More people should take up this option as it is a really great facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,068 in London
3,964 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#101 of 1,068 in London
823 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,068 in London
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#137 of 1,068 in London
1,430 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,068 in London
790 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#32 of 1,068 in London
3,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stafford London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stafford London

Property: The Stafford London
Address: 16-18 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stafford London 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of historic St James’s, and just minutes from London’s iconic landmarks and vibrant West End, The Stafford London is one of the finest luxury hotels in the Capital. Luxuriate in the stunning individually designed rooms and suites, dine in cool sophistication in The Game Bird and relax with a cocktail in the renowned American Bar. Our stylish rooms and suites are guaranteed to help you relax. The Main House, is a blend of Victorian grandeur and modern comfort, while the Carriage House offers a unique, countryside ambiance in the heart of London. The Mews Suites and Penthouse offer classic, contemporary elegance and the comfort and discretion of your own private residence at one of London’s most prestigious addresses. The Game Bird restaurant is a contemporary tale about relaxed dining at any time of the day. A place to eat, drink and socialise, the focus is on modern British comfort cooking executed with style and panache, all wrapped in a seductive ambience that oozes cool sophistication. For a more relaxed atmosphere, visit The American Bar, where every available wall and surface is crammed with an intriguing collection of artefacts, knick-knacks and signed celebrity photographs donated by patrons and guests over the years. Open daily from 8am, enjoy a casual breakfast or lunch or simply soak up the history and relax with one of our speciality cocktails. There is even a private cobbled courtyard so you can enjoy outdoor dining at any time of day. Experience unrivalled luxury in one of London’s most historic and quintessentially English five-star hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Stafford London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing