We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business Hotel”
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Hyde Park
Ranked #460 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed there this September
Great Value for Money in the center of London - Breakfast included
Room was great and the Staff were very Friendly - Room service was really efficient
Breakfast - The best Hotel breakfast i have had in London

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this charming hotel in London near Hyde Park. Location is great, staff very friendly and the hotel is really nice. I enjoyed breakfast which was really nice and the hotel has areally good atmosphere.
However, we stayed in a large room which was spacious and comfortable, the problem was that it had a blind window and behind it was the air conditionning system. The noise was really loud and I had the feeling I was sleeping in the plane. Because of this I rated the hotel as average.

Room Tip: Dont stay in room 125
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulienCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Operations Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your balanced review of Thistle Hyde Park. I am glad the hotel’s staff, service, food, location and atmosphere met your expectation. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had due to the noise from the plant room. I am pleased to confirm we are looking into getting more soundproof glazing which should be in place in near future. I look forward to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was the first hotel on our Euro tour. Staff were very friendly and the position is excellent. Metro is 5 minute walk with a bus stop out the front. Hyde Park is opposite with Buckingham Palace a 25 minute walk through the park. Our room was very good and the breakfast was the perfect start to the days touring. Would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doc_45_MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Operations Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback and your positive comments regarding the staff and the indeed unbeatable location of Thistle Hyde Park. I am glad you the room and the breakfast was to your liking. I wish you a wonderful rest of your Euro trip.
Look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu Rathee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

my husband and i have just had a lovely 2 night stay stay in this small hotel. the location spot on. we had a room on the 4th floor small window overlooking the park. only problem at the moment the hotel is covered in scafolding while work is done. this was not a problem for us. our room large clean and comfy. i had booked a standard room at an amazing price and this was a free upgrade. we had breakfast in the price which was lovely the staff very attentive. a credit to this lovely hotel. in june i stopped at the hilton hyde park and this hotel suits our needs much better. i would stop here again .i have tried lots of london hotels and i prefer the smaller ones.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pottypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Operations Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Reviewer,
I am pleased to learn Thistle Hyde Park suited your expectations and preference of the location, size, food, service and price. The scaffolding is only temporary to give this beautiful hotel a little uplift and soon it will be revealed with a much neater appearance. I am glad it did not hamper you enjoying your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback. Wish you a belated Happy Birthday.
I look forward to welcome you soon.
Warm regards,
Sudhanshu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Booked to stay for 3 nights with 2 rooms on the top floor between the 4 of us. Rooms were good sizes and very clean. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and all the staff were extremely friendly and courteous with great customer service - even when they had to open our locked safe. The breakfast room was very bright with a veranda overlooking Hyde Park.
Across the road from the Park and 5 mins from a Central Line Tube station it is perfectly located.
Only tiny issues like the patched up decor and tired paintwork. In room 402 the sink was cracked and hastily repaired, but for all I know it happened the day before I arrived and they had not had time to replace. Finally the door keys seemed very temperamental often needing several attempts to unlock the doors, and needed replacing twice.
All in all a very enjoyable stay which comes highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank mattwaggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Operations Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Your thorough review of Thistle Hyde Park and appreciation of the team and service is highly valued. I am pleased to confirm we are in the process of replacing the cracked sink in mentioned room number, thanks to your feedback; also the touch of paint shall be done in the same room. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you’ve had with the door key being deactivated often. I can assure it’s not a regular issue. One thing which seems to deactivate the key’s magnetic coded strip is if kept with any electronic devices, mobiles, tablets etc. Overall, I am glad to learn you had a very enjoyable stay. I look forward to welcome you back.
Warm regards,
Sudhanshu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. The hotel is old but the room is big with 3 big window face to hyde park. Very quiet and comfortable. The underground is around 5 minutes walk distance. The best thing is the internet is free and super fast.There is also city bike near by very convenient for visitor.
We took heathrow express to paddtion station then took taxi to hotel it's just 10 ponds. The hotel restaurant even offer 24 hours service which is good for late night check in. We would love to come back and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Operations Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for taking time out to share your feedback. I am pleased to know you found Thistle Hyde Park's location suitable and the room quite and comfortable.
Since last year, Thistle’s London hotels are offering complimentary internet to all its guests and recently this fantastic service has been spread out to most of its 36 hotels in the UK that too at an upgraded speed of up to 100mbps.
I look forward to welcome you and your recommended friends in near future.
Warm regards,
Sudhanshu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We usually try to stay in apartment when we visit London but, having left booking this time to the last minute, we had no luck and so opted for a hotel. We wanted to stay close to Hyde Park and in the general Notting Hill / Bayswater area and were very glad to have found the Thistle Hyde Park.

We stayed for five nights in July and found the location to be ideal. Close to two tube stations, a bus stop out front and directly across the road from the Park, we couldn't have wanted for better. Our room overlooking the park was very tastefully furnished and most comfortable and, despite being on a busy road, was very quiet.

Breakfasts either in the dining room or on the front veranda were more than adequate, although the service was a little slow on some mornings. The Thistle Hyde Park may not be the cheapest London accommodation option, but that is to be expected given the standard of facilities and the location. All in all this was the ideal place to stay for a short London break.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clovis_dm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Operations Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I must agree the location of Thistle Hyde Park is unbeatable.
It’s a pleasure to learn you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding the breakfast service. I shall personally look in to it.
I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Sudhanshu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#311 of 1,077 in London
2,047 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#247 of 1,077 in London
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#184 of 1,077 in London
3,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hyde Park

Address: 90 - 92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#149 Family Hotel in London
#214 Romantic Hotel in London
#305 Luxury Hotel in London
#315 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £112 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Hyde Park dates from Victorian times, with a cosy, relaxed atmosphere reminiscent of a Pall Mall private-member's club. A refined, intimate building, it is a comfortable base from which to enjoy the nearby West End, Oxford Street and Mayfair. Within walking distance of Lancaster Gate and Bayswater Underground stations and a literal stone's throw from multiple bus stops, you'll find it easy to get from the hotel to wherever it is you wish to visit in central London. What's more, you have the luxury of two of London's finest public parks just across the road from the hotel entrance - perfect for a morning stroll, weekend picnic, or letting the kids run off all the excitement of a holiday in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hyde Park London
Thistle Hyde Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing