We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Thistle Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thistle Hyde Park
Ranked #365 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

London is rife with hotels touting a location in their name, which in reality are several dreary blocks away from the advertised location. This is not one of them, finally! I've often stayed in the Lancaster Gate area of London, due to its location both near Paddington and Hyde or Kensington Park. Being near this grand park gave children a place and space to run off the long flight and me a good, calm breath of fresh air mid-business trip. But there are so many disappointing hotels in the area.

Thistle Hyde Park is happily not one of them. It's a grand old hotel with high ceilings and enough ornament to keep Old World lovers happy, while offering updated and modern amenities. I was given a room for a single for a night -- the bed was a double and comfortable, the room immaculate and the dear old plumbing quite lovely. They have a warning that it may take a while for the hot water to get to the room owing to age, but indeed once it arrives it's a tub full and more. Value for money, superb. Location, great, being not only facing Hyde Park but a few steps away from Queensway Road, where one can wade through the multicultural offerings that only London offers. It's a lovely walk to Paddington and on the tube to get anywhere else. That is, unless you prefer to walk through the park to get where you wanted to go, as we did. Just lovely! Will return again! Staff trained to cater to bewildered tourists with great patience, I noticed.

A word on the scaffolding -- they're refinishing the lovely exterior and its grand balconies. It will soon be down; part of keeping an old hotel looking grand.

Room Tip: rooms facing the park are really lovely but a bit of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EShawMtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    375
    105
    44
    30
See reviews for
179
369
49
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were staying in London for 4 nights celebrating our silver wedding anniversary. Looking at the pictures on line we decided a standard double would e more than adequate however on arrival I was gutted! The bed was so small, the room was also really pokey and very hot. We went to see reception as I was so unhappy and the room was far too hot. The service we received was outstanding from this point forward until we checked out = every single member of staff we encountered was so helpful, polite, friendly etc.
We saw the duty manager Sam and he upgraded our room. The room was just perfect, the bathroom needed to be updated as it is a little tired but the exterior is being worked on currently.
The breakfasts were really good and the staff were exceptionally helpful.
Location was great too 2 tube stations very close but with a bus stop just outside the hotel too. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Room Tip: difficult as scaffolding was all around the hotel we were at the back so views werent great but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Usually stay at The Cumberland but due to the reviews on this site thought we would have a change.
4 Star but no door staff on arrival or help with luggage if required, really? Maybe if we had asked?
Booked two twin rooms.......... visited both, one was passable the other very tired and the bathroom needed some TLC. Room were clean but dated and somewhat stuffy. Advised not to open windows in the daytime due to external works being carried out................................
Hotel presently covered externally with scaffolding and blue netting which is an eyesore and seems to of been up for ages! We checked in on a Friday late lunchtime and no work was evident. Saying that I regularly go past and cant remember the last time I saw much activity?
Warm evening when we got back after midnight (advised to not leave windows open due to scaffolding) and air-con was completely useless, very noisy and simply had no grunt......looking at the vent grill within the room this hasn't seen a service or clean down in many a year, Due to this had a very uncomfortable nights sleep and checked out very early in the morning just to get some fresh air, had wanted a lie in as a weekend but room was much to warm. Looking back at it, like most of the hotel this place needs a real overhaul, everything mechanical from the air-con to the lift is slow and dated.
Not as convenient to Oxford Street as other hotels, good 25 minute walk to Marble Arch and with no porters or door staff you are left to your own devices to hail a taxi in the street. We were glad it wasn't raining.
Now a real gripe............booked room through lastminute,com, they said you need to get invoice and vat receipt directly from the hotel, hotel reception say you have to get it from lastminute!!!!! I still cant discover whose in the right all I know is I have no receipt or vat invoice?
If you pay more than £150 for a room here you've overspent!
Can't comment on breakfast as had checked out before service started.
Back to The Cumberland for us!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The friendliest staff I have ever encountered in a beautiful, small Victorian hotel. My thanks to Annmarie, Katrina and The wonderful operations manager. Rooms and breakfast are super. I loved having Hyde Park just across the road. I will never book another hotel in London again.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a junior suite or executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieMtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Three friends and I. were going on a cruise to the Baltic aboard the Royal Caribbean. We are all from the Pacific Northwest. After a long flight, we wanted to spend a few days in London before going on the cruise. Our travel agent found us a great hotel in London call the Thistle Hyde Park. As we live in a lush, green area, she know that we would not feel comfortable without the beautiful trees around us. Here we are in the middle of London with beautiful trees all around us. Transportation to downtown was close and convenient, food at the hotel was great, rooms were clean and the pricing for us was comparable to other lesser attractive venues.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fergi444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed there this September
Great Value for Money in the center of London - Breakfast included
Room was great and the Staff were very Friendly - Room service was really efficient
Breakfast - The best Hotel breakfast i have had in London

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this charming hotel in London near Hyde Park. Location is great, staff very friendly and the hotel is really nice. I enjoyed breakfast which was really nice and the hotel has areally good atmosphere.
However, we stayed in a large room which was spacious and comfortable, the problem was that it had a blind window and behind it was the air conditionning system. The noise was really loud and I had the feeling I was sleeping in the plane. Because of this I rated the hotel as average.

Room Tip: Dont stay in room 125
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulienCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhanshu R, Operations Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your balanced review of Thistle Hyde Park. I am glad the hotel’s staff, service, food, location and atmosphere met your expectation. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had due to the noise from the plant room. I am pleased to confirm we are looking into getting more soundproof glazing which should be in place in near future. I look forward to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards
Sudhanshu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#292 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#440 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#410 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#114 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hyde Park

Property: Thistle Hyde Park
Address: 90 - 92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#214 Romantic Hotel in London
#260 Luxury Hotel in London
#272 Family Hotel in London
#316 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Hyde Park dates from Victorian times, with a cosy, relaxed atmosphere reminiscent of a Pall Mall private-member's club. A refined, intimate building, it is a comfortable base from which to enjoy the nearby West End, Oxford Street and Mayfair. Within walking distance of Lancaster Gate and Bayswater Underground stations and a literal stone's throw from multiple bus stops, you'll find it easy to get from the hotel to wherever it is you wish to visit in central London. What's more, you have the luxury of two of London's finest public parks just across the road from the hotel entrance - perfect for a morning stroll, weekend picnic, or letting the kids run off all the excitement of a holiday in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Lastminute, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hyde Park London
Thistle Hyde Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing