We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thistle Hyde Park
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Columbia(London)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Kent Hotel(London)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (961)
Filter reviews
961 results
Traveller rating
356
399
119
47
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
399
119
47
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshyde parkbayswater roadhot waterjunior suitekensington gardenswinter wonderlandcentral linelovely hotelair conmarble archfourth floorminute walkbus stoplarge bathroomnice sizetube stationlondon hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
527 - 532 of 961 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed at the Thistle Hyde Park when we went to London to attend an event. It was our Wedding Anniversary, and the hotel added some lovely extras for us, with a great room and a complimentary bottle of wine.

Had read a couple of reviews that said the hotel looked a bit tired, but I thought it was presented beautifully, with no sign of wear and tear around the edges.

The staff were all really friendly and helpful, it was definitely service with a smile. Breakfast was excellent, with a good choice.

There is scaffolding at the front of the hotel at the moment, but it did not affect our enjoyment at all. Work is restricted to daytime when most guests are out of the hotel anyway.

Would definitely recommend this hotel if you like traditional style and great service

Room Tip: If you want to overlook the park you'll need to be on at least the third floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

From the greeting when I arrived to the helpful assistance on departure, this hotel ticks every box. The service was first class - where are those miserable hotel employees everyone talks about in London? - they're at other hotels, not at The Thistle!
The room was excellent - quite large for London, very nicely furnished, very clean, bathroom was perfect. The public rooms were beautifully decorated - the dining room and bar are lovely. Breakfast was full-on with everything you could wish for. Truly, I can say that this is one of the best hotels I've stayed at in a long time - and great value for money considering the location is brilliant - right opposite Hyde Park and a block from the tube station, Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaineKiama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We booked a junior suite for 3 nights on a deal via booking.com the weekend of Proms in the Park and the Radio 2 festival in a day, early September. I think it was about £500 room only which for 3 nights in a suite seemed very reasonable.
When we arrived realised that the front of the hotel was covered with scaffolding so the view of Hyde Park was mostly obstructed... hence the deal! Still we hardly spent any time in the room as we had a busy music loaded weekend planned.

The previous Thistle hotels I'd stayed in have been quite big and corporate looking, this one however is small and the building has kept the original features which makes it nicer, in my opinion. The reception area is very small however an when there are a lot of people checking in or out there isn't much space for guests or staff.

Our suite was lovely, plenty of room, with additional seating area. The rooms are well equipped with all the usual things you would expect in a 4* hotel and we had robes and slippers as well. What was really nice (I ate a fair bit of junk food that weekend) was the bowl of fresh fruit left for us, not just boring oranges and apples but plums as well.

We did have to wait a while for hot water to reach the bathroom, the plumbing is quite old.

The bed was really comfy and the room service, which we used on the Sunday night at about 11pm was very efficient.

As it was my husbands birthday that weekend, I emailed the hotel a few days before and asked if they could do something nice for him. I know that corporate chains are often restricted in what they can do for guests, rules and regulations etc.., but they gave us vouchers for a complimentary drink at the bar when we checked in and also left a bottle of wine and a card in the room on the Saturday, which was much appreciated.

We had lunch on the Friday in the bar area, the waitress / bar tender called Danielle was lovely, she took the time to chat to us when she wasn't serving and throughout the weekend when she saw us checked how we were getting on. Lunch was very good, food arrived quickly and both meals meet our expectations.

We had breakfast on Sunday morning... chaotic to say the least. Food coming out in dribs and drabs meant long queues at the buffet and the need to make 2 or 3 trips to get a full English, like a food relay!! It was very busy as the hotel was full but for the price you'd expect better.

Location is excellent, short walk to the tube and many bars, restaurants and cafes in the area and plenty of shopping.

For events in Hyde Park this makes an excellent base, we were about 3 mins walk from gates straight into the park and our friends and family met us in the hotel bar beforehand. I would be happy to use this hotel again for a trip to this area of London.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PorkpieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We have now stayed in this hotel 3 times and we shall always choose to stay here when we visit London for a few days' break, as we try to do each year. It is conveniently situated opposite Hyde Park and it is a straight 20 minute walk to Marble Arch and Oxford Street! Thistle Hyde Park is not too big so it has a personal touch and you are not 'lost' amongst a huge crowd of anonymous people staying there. The hotel is comfortably furnished and the staff are all very pleasant and very helpful. The bar area is spacious with comfortable settees and chairs; the menu is cosmopolitan and the food is freshly served and well presented. The actual restaurant, again, is not too big and the overall feeling is of a personal, friendly and efficient service with plenty to choose from to suit all palates. The bedrooms are well furnished, clean and well equipped as are the ensuites. A lovely hotel; no negatives at all.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The staff at the hotel was really nice and accommodating. They upgraded our room due to availability which was awesome. Our room was a a great size with a really comfortable bed. The hotel is in walking distance to a bunch of tube stops and bus stops that will get you anywhere you want to go. A lot of tour bus' also stop nearby which makes sightseeing really easy. Only complaint was that the building is old so the infrastructure isn't great, our heat in our room didn't work so we had to use space heaters provided by the hotel and the hot water took a long time to get going. Other than that it was a great stay, and considering costs of other hotels in London this is a good value.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jamison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews